We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very strange experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Perroquet Bleu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad le Perroquet Bleu to your Saves list
Riad le Perroquet Bleu
86 Aarst El Baraka, Bab Ghemat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #386 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very strange experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a gorgeous property that would be an amazing place to stay if only the management provided just a tiny bit of information. Instead, we felt very uncomfortable, as we were given absolutely NO information about the services. Want dinner? Sorry, you have to make a reservation the day before - not an issue if anyone had told us. Want to know what is for dinner and how much it costs? Too bad. Can you get laundry done? Roam around and find a worker, hand them your clothes and hope they come back sometime. Of course, no idea on the price. Want a bottle of wine? Your choice of Rose or Red (except when they run out) - again no idea what the wine is or how much. We felt like we were in a Saturday Nite Live skit. Thank god for Abdul who tried very hard to be helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadShama, Gérant at Riad le Perroquet Bleu, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments on TRIP ADVISOR.

On your arrival around 5 to 6 P.M, you have ordered a dinner for the evening and you said to the waiter you really enjoyed it
On the second day, there was a misunderstanding with the guide of the agency with which you have booked. He said you were dining at the riad, which was not the case.
So, we prepared your complete meal and we do not charge it to you ( starters, main meal, desserts).


Then, on the last day, at the very last minute in the evening, you wanted to have a dinner, we need to prepare in advance, at least we have to be advised on the morning for the same evening.

Last thing is the laundry service: we do not offer this service, that’s why we did not have a price list.

The waiter did’nt presents you the price list of the drinks and we do apologize for this.

Best Regards,

Anissa, Director Riad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    23
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I consider myself to be fairly well travelled. I don't mind the odd cob web or lack of hot water, But I can honestly say I have never been spoken to in such a rude, accusing manner as I have by the manager of this Riad.

Numerous slight niggles that could have been overlooked: not replying to our emails prior to travel, eventually doing so but without answering all the queries (not many!). Failing to show us around upon arrival despite saying she would the next day. Not providing us with basic information about our stay.

So what caused the manager to come knocking at our door at 11.30pm shouting and accusing us of not paying or intending to leave without paying? A misunderstanding on her behalf, maybe if she had paid attention she would have remembered we were leaving the next day at 5pm not 5am, with every intention of paying.

So benefit of the doubt she got the time wrong & might have been concerned, rather than politely ask, lacking in any customer service skills, she thought it fine to shout and accuse. My friend tried her best to calmly try and find out the problem, the manager wasn't interested, preferring to carry on shouting at us. Also accusing us of not paying the airport transfer, we had paid the driver, it turns out he said he we said it was a tip. Moaning for paying the airport transfer in euros despite the email telling us the price in euros.

This terrible experience will be my lasting memory of the Riad. I urge caution when thinking of staying here, given how rude this woman was. The Riad itself is nice enough, clean. A worker there, Abdul was so very friendly and went out his way to help us, the manager could learn a lot from him.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadShama, Responsable commercial at Riad le Perroquet Bleu, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
We are so sorry for all these misunderstandings ..
Indeed, we usually have our own driver, whose French is nearly fluent and few english basics. Unfortunately, he was off, so we had to take a company with a driver we didn’t know so well,
and that knew only french basics, and no english. That ‘s why, when you gave him money, he naturally thought it was a tip.
We appologize for that, of course.
Concerning the manager, indeed, she had others informations that lead her to this error of time departure, and I apologize again.

Best Regards
Béatrice TIPP
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Perroquet Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Perroquet Bleu

Address: 86 Aarst El Baraka, Bab Ghemat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad le Perroquet Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Perroquet Bleu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.