We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views of the mountains and how people live.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trekking Morocco Mountains - Private Day Tours

Trekking Morocco Mountains - Private Day Tours
Douar Imlil Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 697-516389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 520 Activities in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and experience the splendor of Morocco for yourself. We will take you to the greatest & most beautiful areas in Morocco Type: Walking Tours, One Day Camel Trek or Excusrion, Desert Expeditions Activities: Walking, Hiking, Mountain biking, Mountaineering, Deset Expeditions, Other Activities
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing views of the mountains and how people live.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Said accompanied myself and my fiancé on this day trip to the mountains. He picked us up from our hotel in a private car which was very comfortable. He then explained to us in great detail about what we were going to do and see whilst going to the mountains. Once we got to the mountains to do the tour we had another private tour guide to tour are us round. WHAT an experience!There was sun, forest and mountains! Absolutely stunning. There was some small stalls which the local people had set up to sell small pieces of jewellery and pottery. After our trek which lasted and hour and 20 mins we went to have authentic Moroccan food on a roof terrace over looking the mountains.
Said then took us to a local Berber family house where we could see how they live. We then stopped at a few stalls to buy some bits and Said was happy to stop. If you do this tour you must ask for Said! He is very helpful, professional and friendly. He will go out of his way to make your holiday special. We will be going back to Morocco and will be 100% asking for Said.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great hiking guide!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you want to go trekking near Marrakech, Abdou from Morocco Mountains is your man. He helped us craft an itinerary and was an excellent guide - he's in great shape, and if you want to climb Toubkal or do something extreme, he'd be great. Or, if you want to do a walk in the park, like we ended up doing, he's good at coming up with adjusted itineraries on the fly. He knows the area very well and can tell you a lot about the local culture.

Most of the tourists that we saw without guides were typically asking for directions or haggling with price-gouging taxi drivers, so I'd recommend taking a guide if you have the option, or at least prearranging your transport there and back.

We initially started out with ambitious plans to do a three day trek, but before we left we decided to scale it back to two days to allow us more time in Marrakech. That was a mistake. We had a blast and wish we had spent more time in the mountains.

When we also had to scale back our ambitions due to stomach ailments and colds, Abdou adjusted quickly and even went out of his way to arrange a special tea to help with the stomach problems. Abdou's English was okay, though we had a few misunderstandings about the itinerary - ultimately they weren't a problem though.

We stayed in a lovely home that was far more than I expected for a hiking trip. Abdou suggested that we bring sleeping bags, but when we told him we couldn't, he said he'd take care of it. Unfortunately, the sheets we were provided were pretty gross, so if you can, bring your own sleeping bag or at least a sleeping sheet. But the place was warm in the winter, the beds were comfortable, and we even had hot, running water! The food we were served throughout our trip was exceptional - among the best we had during our entire stay in Morocco.

We ended our hiking with a stop to ride some camels near Rha Moulay Ibrahim and to take a scenic drive back via the Kik Plateau. Driving through the Kik Plateau was unexciting and we wished we had sipped that, but the camels were wonderful - very gentle and the scenery for our ride was lovely!

Overall, I highly recommend hiking with Abdou, regardless of your hiking level, but especially if you need someone tough to keep up with you.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic family day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We didn't have the best weather for our day trip, but we had an amazing time! My sister got her dream of riding a camel, and we were pleasantly surprised with some beautiful snow in the mountains. Abdou and the driver were very helpful and playful, throwing snowballs at my brother! He was an excellent guide and clearly loved showing his country to us. We had traditional mint tea by a much-needed open fire, and a beautiful home-made lunch overlooking the valley. Listening to the call to prayer in the snowy mountains was undescribable. Highly recommend this company.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Camel Ride & Mountain Trekking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went on a day trip, myself my husband and our 2 sons in their 20's. It was a fantastic experience, we rode camels through the juniper forests then were driven to the gorgeous village of Imlil nestled in the High Atlas Mountains. The views are spectacular and Abdou our guide was friendly and knowledgeable as he lives in the Berber village, we went to his house had some of the best authentic Berber food of our whole holiday, (also the best mint tea). After a relaxing stay at his house we trekked around the mountain. Abdou is open and flexible to be guided by your individual requirements and happy to adapt the trip to your individual needs. We enjoyed all aspects of our day and had an unforgettable experience. We would highly recommend Trekking Morocco Mountains to anyone who is looking for a unique experience of the High Atlas Mountains.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb day in Atlas Mountains.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Wonderful experience. Highly professional guide. Myself and friend were picked up from The Rhiad on time and driven to the mountains, where friendly Berber guides were waiting with good natured well cared for mules. Abdou and driver stayed with us up the mountain track and then on for lunch in a garden with a fantastic view.
The whole trip was tailor made for our needs.
Absolutely superb.- Mules are amazing with their stability on tiny tracks.
PS My friend had no expereience of mules or camels in the past, and Abdou was there to make her feel safe and at ease
Thank you everyone.
Ollie Madge.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trekking Morocco Mountains - Private Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 

Been to Trekking Morocco Mountains - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trekking Morocco Mountains - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.