We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center

The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center
Angle rues Allal ben Ahmad et Ibn Sina, Quartier Gueliz | The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Eastern European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Hull
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best meal in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

So glad that we looked up this place on Trip Advisor because we would have hated to have missed it. We can honestly say that the two lunches that we ate there were the best meals that we had in Marrakech and that includes the supposedly haute cuisine restaurants. They change the menu daily so you know that all is freshly cooked for you and there is someone on hand to translate for you if you do not understand the language. The cost, too, is extremely reasonable, in fact we thought it was under priced but maybe that works better for them. If it is extremely hot, and it was this week, eat inside where the air conditioning is, sheer bliss. Thank you to everyone involved in this worthwhile venture, it was superb.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, volunteer at The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We're so happy that you enjoyed your meal with us, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    10
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic! My favourite place in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

2 friends and I participated in the cookery course at the centre, and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The women were all very friendly and helpful. We cooked a chicken tagine, and a vegetarian tagine, which both tasted amazing, (due to the women not us!!!). The restaurant is easy to find, and when we got there the setting and the gardens were so tasteful. The Moroccan decor was beautiful and also very trendy. We returned to the restaurant the week later, and we received the same excellent service and amazing food. It is by far my favourite restaurant in Marrakech, and its so well priced, and all for a fantastic cause. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the Marrakech area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, volunteer at The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We're grateful for your support and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular visit, charming people. Will definitely be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I emailed to book a cookery class before leaving for Morocco.

We had a wonderful time at this inspirational centre. First we were shown to an immaculate little bathroom to wash our hands in preparation for our class, and given aprons to protect our clothing. First of all we were shown how to prepare a traditional lemon chicken tangine. The very charming manager Hassan allowed us to guess at the ingredients presented to us - proud to say we achieved a 10/10 between us! We were then shown how the initial preparation of the chicken was done and instructed on cooking time, method etc.

Once the chicken was simmering we were invited to try our hands at making the tissue-thin filo pastry used in the various Moroccan delicacies. This is done on a very hot wheel using a wet pastry mix. I declined to try this due to a very wimpish attitude towards burns, but my husband had a go and was very surprised at how difficult it was to achieve the incredibly thin layers required.

We were then welcomed into the kitchen to attempt a couple of different wrapping techniques using the aforementioned filo - both managing to wrap passable cigar and triangle shaped pastries with different fillings. The girls showing us the ropes were charming and showed great humour and patience with us, and the manager did a wonderful job of translating comments and advice - even taking charge of my camera and photographing the experience for us.

After this we were shown to a table and brought water and mint tea while waiting for our very own tangine to finish cooking. As we waited a volunteer came out to us to explain the inner workings and aims of the centre, which was extremely interesting and helpful. We also got to play with two of the centre's resident cats!

Our tangine was by far and away the best meal we had while in Morocco - beautifully seasoned and spiced, served with olives and fresh flatbreads. The manager even popped out to advise us on how to eat the tangine "Moroccan Style" without cutlery; using the bread to scoop up the wonderfully tender chicken and delicious sauce.

The entire experience cost 125 dirhams apiece - approx £14 total. An absolute steal for a wonderful meal and fantastic experience - with the added knowledge that the money paid was going to help women in need. A brilliant part of our holiday. We would recommend the centre to anyone and we will definitely be visiting again next trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, volunteer at The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for making Amal part of your holiday - we're so grateful for your support. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best meal in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Oh my.......what a fabulous meal and drinks. This would be my favourite meal in Marrakesh so far. It was not too difficult to find, we walked from the new shopping centre (Carre Eden) & went out the back entrance up the street.

The lemon juice with mint was the perfect drink on a hot day. It was so refreshing and tasty. The entree was chicken and vegetables in pastry.......amazing. I could have stopped there and be satisfied but we had a mains of chicken and vegetables too. Also nice but the entree was the standout for me.

The manager was lovely and checked with us regularly that we were happy with everything. The ladies serving were polite despite being a little shy. The price was great and if we had more days I am sure we would return everyday for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, volunteer at The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your support and your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Went here for lunch
Food was out of this world very nice a well presented met the man behind it and he was one of the nicest people I have ever met on holiday. He told use what the charity dose and there goal so definitely worth a visit.
Would I recommend this place yes it's about 5km from the Jemma El fna and costs 20-30 drm to get there so not much.its in the new bit not far from Starbucks.
Our bill came to 180drm for 2 starters 2 main dishes 2 orange juices and 2 bottles of water very good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imane-janati, Public Relations Manager at The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for coming! We're so happy that you enjoyed your meal, and we thank you for supporting our cause. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.