We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal I Had in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center

The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center
Angle rues Allal ben Ahmad et Ibn Sina, Quartier Gueliz | The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-46896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Eastern European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Rye Brook, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Meal I Had in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Amal was by far the best restaurant I visited during my six weeks in Marrakech. The food is absolutely delicious (I recommend the fish tagine) and Amal served the best traditional cuisine I ever had in a restaurant during my stay. The ambiance is great, with outdoor seating and lovely decor within, and the women working there are the epitome of Moroccan hospitality. Its location provides a great chance to see the city outside of the medina, and it's within walking distance of a lot of great shopping in Gueliz. Amal is also a great find because it serves a really important cause. The restaurant is actually non-profit and employs and trains disadvantaged women and mothers in the restaurant business, giving both them and their families a better life. The restaurant even provides services to these women such as lessons in literacy and at one point eye exams. And, the meals are at a VERY good price! All in all, Amal is definitely worth a visit in Marrakech- great food, wonderful staff, and inspiring cause-- I can't recommend it enough!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    73
    9
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have a standing lunch with some girlfriends every Thursday. The menu is limited but the food is excellent. This is the place to go to eat the kind of Moroccan food you would find in someone's home instead of "restaurant" food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

went to many restaurants around Marrakesh, but Amal was the only one that had genuine Moroccan cuisine. you know their cooking is genuine home cooked Moroccan food when you see it . better yet, the food is incredible here and the purpose of the center is for such an amazing and inspirational cause. Amal provides jobs for women who cannot be employed due to certain circumstances/ family issues and teaches women how to become independent and many skills. if you're looking for a true taste of Moroccan food, this is the place to be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Set in a really, really lovely little house a few blocks from the main commercial strip of Marrakech, the Amal Center is a true hidden gem. It serves authentic Moroccan food in a beautiful Moroccan style salon (they also have patio seating!), and perhaps more importantly, it serves a great cause. The center is staffed by women in need from all over Morocco, and it provides them not only with job training and income, but also with literacy classes and other resources for them and their families. Having eaten the food, I would never have guessed it was cooked by anything other than professional chefs, and having spoken and volunteered with the center's founder and some of the women who work there, I can see that it really is a non-profit that's making a difference.

So next time you're in Marrakech, do something to give back to the amazing people of Morocco—and get a delicious, authentic meal while you're at it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat Moroccan food in Marrakesh...by FAR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Not much more to say than the title. I eat couscous here almost every Friday and it's wonderful. The goal of the restaurant is to provide a place for underprivileged Moroccan woman to work and learn the art of cooking. And the Amal Center does just that. The food is truly home-cooked Moroccan fare and price is VERY reasonable. The ladies are still learning how to host and serve, which could turn some people off who are looking for a traditional restaurant dining experience, but the setting is simple, peaceful and truly pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amal Moroccan Restaurant and Women's Training Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.