We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Kasbah de l'Ourika

La Kasbah de l'Ourika
Rte de l'Ourika , KM 45, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
0661.43.98.89
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #295 of 586 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing view and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This place is the perfect combination. Everyone asks you to eat at Le Vallee in Ourika but we found Kasbah to be a gem. Very interesting architecture on the inside and the views are gorgeous of the snow capped mountains if you sit on the terrace for a meal. The cuisine is Berber which is local to the area and I am told tastes better than in Marrakech. being vegetarian options were limited but they did a great job with the food for us.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“bland and boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

unfortunetly we stopped at this place for lunch and I regretted that we had done so. There is only a set menu with very little choice and I would say this is the worst place I have eaten in during my stay. The only thing going it is the view which is magnificent. The crockery is chipped the glass where is marked and I was given warm water. Avoid this place and wait till you get back to Marrakesh or just stop for a coffee.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A rip-off avoid at all costs!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We were on a trip to the ourika valley and our minibus stopped here for lunch. The entry to the restaurant is quite impressive but don't be fooled! The toilets are barely functioning and disgusting. We were only given a set menu at 150 dhn, the soup was clearly not homemade, the bread was not fresh at all and the skewers and chips arrived cold.
The service was appalling and we were in the restaurant for almost 2hours despite the restaurant being almost empty. If you're on a tour and you stop at this place, ask to be taken somewhere else!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent food and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The views from the dining terraces were unbelievable. The food was fresh from their gardens; bio maybe. Service quick and polite.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great views, Great Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

During our journey through Morocco, my wife and I visited the beautiful Ourika Valley and stopped at La Kasbah de L’Ourika. This restaurant has a number of offerings which looked delicious. We just had mint tea which we enjoyed on the terrace which had great views of the Ourika Valley. This is a great place to stop for a light snack as well as the always refreshing Moroccan mint tea.

I must note that this restaurant also has very clean restrooms which can be very precious when traveling through Morocco!

There are a relatively long flight of stairs, but the walk will be worth it for the view and you can enjoy your light meal and tea before venturing further into this beautiful valley.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Kasbah de l'Ourika also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Ourika, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Kasbah de l'Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Kasbah de l'Ourika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.