We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home away from home in Marrakech! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Imilchil

Save Saved
You added Riad Imilchil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Imilchil
Jnane Ben Chagra Souiqa 32, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 1,055 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Your home away from home in Marrakech! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a fabulous holiday in Marrakech, and stayed for 5 nights at Riad Imilchil. The owner/manager Muhammed said to us that treat this as your home in Marrakech, and his words rang true in every sense of the word! It's a calm, little oasis that affords you a relaxed retreat from the hustle bustle of the souks. Fairly basic amenities but immaculately clean and tastefuly decorated rooms. The breakfast was home-cooked and delicious with fresh breads, always served with a big smile! I couldn't praise the team of Muhammed, Nadia, Farah, and Hakima high enough - no request was ever too much from directions to tips on shopping to packing tapes! Seeing our enthusiasm for tagines, Muhammed even organised a tagine cooking masterclass one evening with a live demonstration from Farah, and all the other occupants quickly joined in too! :) It's a bit tricky to find, but what isn't in Marrakech! The neighbourhood might look a little run down, but very safe and hardly any noise. Highly recommend that you book a taxi from the airport organised by Imilchil, you really don't want to get lost in the maze of tiny little lanes on day one! Overall, top marks - the phrase "home away from home" takes a new meaning at Riad Imilchil! Thanks guys!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after we had to move from our previous riad chosen by our tour company as it was so noisy. We really wished we had been put into this one in the first place. The standard of the decor and rooms is wonderful - everything is clean and works and fixed straight! which is not always the case for the riads we stayed in across Morocco.
It is a new riad but in a lovely traditional style. The location is great. Breakfast was lovely and the owner really kind and friendly. A must stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just got back from Marrakech and stayed 2 nights in this Riad. Mohammed made sure I knew my way around the Medina and the staff was very friendly. One evening I walked into the Riad with the evening prayers surprised at how loud they were but as soon as I closed the door, the noise dropped to almost nothing. The plunge pool on the 1st floor was refreshing and I spent an entire afternoon on the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The riad was absolutely beautiful with traditional-style decor, great service and friendly atmosphere. There was a slight mix up with our airport pick-up when we arrived, but once at the riad it couldn't have gone more smoothly. Nadia and Hassan are fantastic hosts and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed for a week and they even did our laundry!! The breakfasts were plentiful, as was the mint tea, and we also had dinner at the riad one evening. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to any other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Highly recommend the riad because we - a group of 7 -very much enjoyed its home-like atmosphere. We had wonderful rooms with an outstanding breakfast and much peppermint tea anytime we asked for it. Staff was very helpful with our luggage, while we left for our trek and returned for more sightseeing in Marrakesh.

Room Tip: My friend and I enjoyed the upper room the best. Great place for relaxing day or eving is the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently visited Marrakech with my mum who wasn't used to travelling to places like Morocco. My only requirement when asking my tour operator, On The Go Tours, was that I wanted to stay in a traditional Riad and make mum feel safe and secure!
This was certainly accomplished!

Riad Imilchil was an absolute treasure in all the chaos that can be overwhelming in Marrakech!
We were greeted by Hassan (who is incredibly friendly) with fresh mint tea and then shown to our room. We were lucky enough to have been given the suite on the top floor and it was just perfect! There were so many special features in the room, from the light fittings to the actual shower / bath and all the 'extras' like rose petals on the bed and bath, the fresh fruit and nut platter and the bottled water. All were gratefully received after a day of travelling or exploring.

The Riah itself is clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. There are intricate Morrocan decorations all throughout from spectacular light fittings to the old books in the dining area and the ornate doors.

Breakfast was different each morning and was freshly baked and squeezed! On one particular night the owner knocked on our door and asked if we would like to watch the sunset on the terrace with some tea! We took him up on his offer and spent a pleasant couple of hours on the terrace indeed watching the sun set in great company. The terrace has a great view of the Atlas Mountains and the buildings surrounding.

The riad is fairly new, but seems to be well established. It is in a great location with a short walk to the main square. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys here, they really took care of my mum and I and I would definitely recommend this property and indeed stay here again. They really made our first trip to Marrakech complete and special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It is a very nice riad, the decoration is beautiful and everything is very new. Hassan and Mohammed, from the service in the hotel, are very helpful, dedicated and friendly.
It is 10-15 minutes far from Jemaa el-Fnaa but the walk there is very nice and pleasant. The breakfast is simple but good, and I think is amazing that there are no fix hours for having breakfast (I think this is similar in all riads). Ether you go at 7.00 or 12.00, Hassan will be ready to give you breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Imilchil

Address: Jnane Ben Chagra Souiqa 32, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,055 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Riad Imilchil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Imilchil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.