We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dar El Walidin Chez Jamjami Monssif

Dar El Walidin Chez Jamjami Monssif
Riad Laarous | Rue Sidi Abdelaziz No 4, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 603 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“What a let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Well after 3 days of delicious food, we decided to try this restaurant for two reasons: trip advisor said it was the #15 restaurant in Marrakesh (city guide) and it was about a five minute walk from our Riad. Unfortunately it wasn’t anything it promised to be. We will start with the good because there isn’t much. The staff was very friendly. Now lets talk about the food. It was average at best. Everything seemed to be pan-fried and we heard a microwave going at one point. The vegetables were cold and the rice wasn’t worth eating. The steak was literally inedible. When the waiter asked why my husband was not eating it my husband said it was tough and didn’t taste good and the waiter actually said that it was really something for children to gnaw on. One of the best things about Moroccan cuisine is the flame-broiled aspect of much of the preparation and to be honest this food is missing the soul that so many other restaurants had. For the people saying this was the best meal they had, I feel bad for them as there is so much great food in the city and this most certainly isn’t it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of the best in the Souk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Lot of the touristy souk restaurants are very average. This place was good. Very pleasant owner and staff with good food reasonably priced and pleasant atmosphere.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great family run restaurant in the north section of the Souk. Best value for money in the Medina outside of the square. Very friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent typical family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved this restaurant, it was a great taste of real Moroccan food and family run. The harira was the best we had in Morocco and they did a tasty lamb tagine with beautiful meat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ate at this lovely restaurant twice during our stay in Morocco.

The restaurant is situated in Riad Laarous, nestled in among a narrow main street of shops shops and more shops :-)

The entrance is lit up with candles and a colourful front door which enticed us in. We were greeted by a man in dress, who guided us up the stairs and into the most inviting little Moroccan gem. Its not a big place, but enough to seat maybe 20. Big comfy couches with pillows at the back, authentic decor and Moroccan music to really make you feel like you have arrived in this amazing city.

The menu is not extensive, but none of the reasonably priced restaruants in Morooco are. I went for the veg tagine the first time and it was lovely. The second time I had the chicken shish with Moroccan Salad which was fantastic. Followed by Mint Tea and Patiserries.

The service was most excellent, nothing we asked for was too much trouble and the man who served us was calm, friendly and relaxed.

I highly recommend this restaurant, the food was great, service fantastic and we really felt like we had stumbled upon a real peice of Morrocco.

Thanks everyone at Dar El for making our dinner outings so special!

Charlene and Helen
Dec 2013

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar El Walidin Chez Jamjami Monssif also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar El Walidin Chez Jamjami Monssif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar El Walidin Chez Jamjami Monssif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.