We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the Souk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar El Walidin, Chez Jamjami Monssif

Dar El Walidin, Chez Jamjami Monssif
Riad Laarous | Rue Sidi Abdelaziz No 4, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 567 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Restaurant details
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“One of the best in the Souk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Lot of the touristy souk restaurants are very average. This place was good. Very pleasant owner and staff with good food reasonably priced and pleasant atmosphere.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great family run restaurant in the north section of the Souk. Best value for money in the Medina outside of the square. Very friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent typical family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved this restaurant, it was a great taste of real Moroccan food and family run. The harira was the best we had in Morocco and they did a tasty lamb tagine with beautiful meat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ate at this lovely restaurant twice during our stay in Morocco.

The restaurant is situated in Riad Laarous, nestled in among a narrow main street of shops shops and more shops :-)

The entrance is lit up with candles and a colourful front door which enticed us in. We were greeted by a man in dress, who guided us up the stairs and into the most inviting little Moroccan gem. Its not a big place, but enough to seat maybe 20. Big comfy couches with pillows at the back, authentic decor and Moroccan music to really make you feel like you have arrived in this amazing city.

The menu is not extensive, but none of the reasonably priced restaruants in Morooco are. I went for the veg tagine the first time and it was lovely. The second time I had the chicken shish with Moroccan Salad which was fantastic. Followed by Mint Tea and Patiserries.

The service was most excellent, nothing we asked for was too much trouble and the man who served us was calm, friendly and relaxed.

I highly recommend this restaurant, the food was great, service fantastic and we really felt like we had stumbled upon a real peice of Morrocco.

Thanks everyone at Dar El for making our dinner outings so special!

Charlene and Helen
Dec 2013

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent value and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This small family style restaurant is characterized by good traditional Moroccan food and a friendly and cosy atmosphere. Prices are very reasonable, most main courses around 50-60 dirham. You can eat in a lounge style area surrounded by colourfull cussions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Dar El Walidin, Chez Jamjami Monssif also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar El Walidin, Chez Jamjami Monssif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar El Walidin, Chez Jamjami Monssif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.