We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad, great people, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio de las Especias

Save Saved
You added Palacio de las Especias to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palacio de las Especias
Sidi Bouamar 35, Quartier Riad Larrousse, Medina, Marrakech, Marrakech 20000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great riad, great people, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A supernice experiance, lovely riad, beautifully decorated, small and cosy.
Great service from Muhamed during the day who served us breakfast and made us feel so welcome on our first visit in Marrakech, a very friendly soul who made us feel right at home.
Special thanks also to Driss who took such good care of us, helped meet our every need and pointed out places to go and the likes. He even spared his private time in leading us on the right track when we were lost in the souks at night :). A great man who we really connected with and who worked very hard to make our holiday a real pleasure. We will miss the riad, the city and Muhamed and Driss and we hope to meet with you again if and when we come back.
Thanks for a great holiday
Maria and Markus Stuxgren
Sweden

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Palacio de las Especias, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello Maria & Markus

Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion with us.

We are glad that we have made you feel good in the our Riad Palacio de las Especias.

Driss and Mohamed are happy to read your lovely review.

Hope to see you back in the future.

Happy New year 2014!!!

Best Regards

Jose & Higinio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
142
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time there. The restaurant was so good we only dined out once and the Moroccan bath was perfect right after dinner. Friendly service, they sort out anything you need if you want something for your room or you want to plan a day trip and it's the perfect place to come back and relax after a long day out.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Palacio de las Especias, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Sebastian.

Thanks a lot for sharing your review with TripaDvisor community.

We are happy to read your fantastic opinion about Palacio de las Especias our staff will be happy if you feel like home.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back another time.

Best Regards from Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Very tastefully finished riad, the courtyard and the roof particularly lovely. Service was friendly, location - great, breakfast - tasty. No complaints from this customer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Palacio de las Especias, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Aaron
Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion with us and the TripAdvisor users, While reading your review, we have the feeling that you have really enjoyed being in Marrakech and in our place.
Thanks for choosing Palacio de las Especias and for your fantastic review.
Hope to see you back one day. Thanks a lot once again and Best Regards from Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our second Riad in Marrakech and they couldn't have been more different. Our first was dark and dramatic and this one light and elegant. Our room on the ground floor was very sweet and beautifully decorated as was the whole Riad. Lovely linens and towels and the best shower ever. Breakfast was delicious and the courses just kept coming - a bit confusing as to what was coming when as we found ourselves eating the sweet before all the savouries had arrived. Best orange juice. Sadly didn't have a chance to experience cocktails on the beautiful terrace but did have mint tea there before we left for the airport. The whole Riad is beautifully and artistically decorated and the staff quietly efficient, helpful and friendly. All in all a fabulous last night in Marrakech and we will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and although very lovely may be a little public if the Riad is full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Palacio de las Especias, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello Kristina.
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We're excited.
We are happy to read that everything was perfect and that yourexperience with us was nice.
If you decide to return to Marrakech, we will very happy to see you again in Palacio de las Especias.
We send you warm greetings from the whole team.
Thank you for the confidence & thanks for enjoying our riad.
Best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We highly rate this riad. We stayed there for one night and arrived late after a relatively long and tiring flight with our 3 year old daughter. From the moment we arrived we felt so comfortable and relaxed. The staff were so friendly and hospitable and even prepared a delicious dinner for us at 11pm as they realised we hadn't eaten. Our room on the first floor was beautiful and my daughter felt like a princess. Breakfast was also delicious. Overall we were so happy and would like to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Palacio de las Especias, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your great review.
We are happy that your experience at our riad was so good.
We like to read that you liked Palacio de las Especias and our service.
Thank you for choosing us for your vacation.
If you return to Marrakech we love coming to your presence at the hotel.
Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Palacio de las Especias celebrating my wife birthday!
Everything was wonderful! The Riad was beautiful renovated with an exquisite taste. Breakfast was delicious everyday, and the staff very friendly, attentive and helpful for everything that we needed.
We enjoyed a special traditional dinner the first night, and the food was very good. Also, we had tea at the fantastic terrace a couple of time.
Our room was in the main floor next to the patio and small pool.
We had a great time. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Palacio de las Especias, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias a ti sebipla
Nos ha gustado mucho tu estupendo comentario, nuestro objetivo es que nuestros clientes lo pasen genial en nuestro riad más aun cuando se trata de ocasiones especiales como fue el aniversario de tu esposa.
Queremos darte las gracias por tu amabilidad y por habernos elegido para tus vacaciones.
Te mandamos un afectuoso y cariñoso saludo esperando volver a verte en palacio de las Especias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here just for a night. From the moment I got their warm and welcoming reservation e-mail I knew I was going to a nice riad. And I wasn't wrong! Our room (Bab Agnaou) was just fantastic: super clean, spacious, a highly classy bathroom and furnished with impeccable taste. I especially fell in love with the scent of the soap. It has a very cute terasse as well -although we didn't get to spend much time there as it was really hot in the daytime-. Nice souvenir jewelery are being sold right next to the reception desk. The breakfast is overall satisfying with freshly squeezed orange juice and Moroccan sweets. Maybe an improvement is needed for the tea. (You only have Lipton tea bags.) The staff are efficient, kind and friendly.
The only minor inconveniences: The WiFi connection was not the best. And we would like to have the choice to pay by credit card.
On our departure day, we left the riad thinking that our prearranged taxi was there. However, the clocks were moved back one hour for Ramadan, and clearly the nice guy at the reception desk did not know about that. My father and our family friend, both over 50, did not really enjoy waiting under the boiling sun for 15-20 minutes. Fortunately, they made up for it by treating us to mint tea and fruit juices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Palacio de las Especias, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much to share your opinion with Trip Advisor’s followers

We are glad to know that everything in Palacio de las Especias deserves your expectations and our RIAD looks excellent in advanced.

We try very hard in achieving our guests’ expectations and the quality of all our services. It is great to know the warmth while writing makes you feel you would like our Riad very much as we infer by reading your remarks as general speaking you like everything in our hotel, the room, bath, the quality of our amenities, the terrace (which we regret you could not enjoy a lot as you only stayed one night), our exquisite breakfast and the boutique you really liked.

We are confused and unhappy due to your final valuation as you describe as NORMAL as you previously describe as very good. We take care all the details to maintain our quality standard over the average of the Riads and we expect our guests’ valuation was at least VERY GOOD. You said that in Breakfast you could only take Lipton Tea. One of our strengths is Breakfast as it is one of the few Riads which offers a complete buffet breakfast with tea, cereal, yoghurt, fresh bakes pastries, milk, Typical Moroccan pastries and fresh fruit available all day long. We also provide table service with Moroccan tea, coffee, orange juice, fresh baked croissant, jam and two Moroccan specialities homemade which change everyday to avoid the plain continental breakfast. We also offer scramble, boiled, fried eggs so we really think that it could be improved but it is quite good as it is. We take care of your remark and we will try to offer different brands.

It is rare you suffered problems with WIFI because we have recently improved the connection to get good signal even in the terrace.

Moroccan telecommunications are not the best of the world as only one company offers the service so there is no way. Riads are old palace and some of them are built with wide walls so WIFI is not as good as it is in other places.

It is true your remark according with the payment by credit card. We started six months ago our path as a hotel so we are dealing with the bank to get credit card payment accomplished. As nowadays we cannot offer this service we take special care to inform our potential clients of this issue to avoid misunderstandings we inform by mail, in our webpage, we remark it in confirmation and our staff takes special attention on this in the invoices.

We want to thank you have chosen us and we trust you will choose us again of you come back to Marrakech. Happy summer

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio de las Especias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de las Especias

Address: Sidi Bouamar 35, Quartier Riad Larrousse, Medina, Marrakech, Marrakech 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palacio de las Especias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio de las Especias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.