We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different - but in a positive way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Matham

Save Saved
You added Riad Matham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Matham
2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Different - but in a positive way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Riad was exceptionally clean and not at all my usual experienceof design and settings, but nor was Marrakesh. The Riad was very welcoming and with the natural design for Marakesh centre, but its location, like the area is hidden down one of hundreds of alley ways,one wrong turn and you can easily be lost! It takes a couple of days to get your bearings at least 80%.
The host was most informative and available to answer possible questions (in French), the breakfast and service complimented the cuisine of Marrakesh. The authentic design of the building was filled with a high roof terrace that gave 360 degree sights of the city and the pool although tiny was available to take off the citiy's heat, whilst looking through the building to the sky.
A couple of things we asked for where were just given then added to the bill at the end, however all the extra little requests we made were available and honoured.

Room Tip: Ground floor, as you can step outside your room to your already set breakfast table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
129
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiria, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Riad Matham for is perfect, decoration, kidness of employes, location (close to medersa ben youssef and museum of marrakech), 100% clean, very good breakfeast !
I had prepare one surprise for my wife (dinner) and Thierry the owner was great, had prepare for us one dancing (with great Fati) and a fabolous dinner cooking by Khadija fabolous to, very good energy in that riad really.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Riad Matham for 5 nights from 19/9 to 24/9. We arranged pickup from the airport which is highly recommended since it will be next to impossible to find the riad on your own. It was definitely a culture shock when pulling up to the taxi queue by Foundouk. There were so many people and street vendors. Once inside the riad, there was nothing but peace and quiet. We were welcomed with mint tea and were in love with how beautiful the entire place looked. The artwork is very tasteful and the view from the terrace is simply amazing. Our room (Almoravide) was very spacious and I, personally, loved the old doors.

Fatima was extremely helpful and always catered to our needs. She even went out on her own to buy my girlfriend Argan oil and spices. At night, she also served as good company as we had shisha and wine. Btw, there was never a shortage of beer and wine which is convenient if you fancy a night in.The help at the riad, including Fatima, only spoke French. Luckily, we ran into a nice German couple (Jutta and Thomas) who knew a bit of French and translated for us. We even booked an excursion with Jutta and Thomas through our riad to Essaouira. That trip was truly memorable as we rented out quads for the mini-dunes, rode camels, and visited the souks.

As for breakfast, don't expect an English fry-up each morning. The breakfast consisted of toast, bread, crepes, jam, grapes, and coffee/orange juice. After the 3rd breakfast, we were dying for eggs and sausage.

The main issue I had during our stay at Riad Matham was Khalid. He was the only person who spoke English; Thierry was gone on holiday to Italy for basically our entire stay. Khalid was hardly ever there and he would have been a good resource for information if he was present. When asking him to make dinner reservations over the phone for us, he really looked disinterested. When asking for the bill for our stay, he was very unprofessional in his bookkeeping and had to cancel multiple charges because he had to add on additional expenses (shisha/excursion/etc) that he forgot to account for. This took an incredible long time and we ultimately missed our Supratour coach to Agadir because of it.

In summary, Riad Matham is a great place to stay within the Medina. It is next to Foundouk Restaurant, Maison de Photography, Ali Ben Youssef, and only a 10-minute walk to the square. Service is impeccable and we always felt welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Riad Matham was incredible. It was a little slice of paradise in Marrakech. Thierry is very warm and hospitable. He emails you directly and offers you transportation and a hot meal. I would definitely recommend taking him up on his offer to bring you to the hotel. It is quite hard to find even when you use a local taxi driver.

The Riad is in a great location- very near to the souks. Despite being in the heart of the medina, it is peaceful and quiet inside. It is simple and elegant and felt like a home away from home. There are a lot of shared spaces (the roof, gardens, sitting rooms) where you can just relax and use the internet, talk with friends and other guests.

I would definitely stay here again when I return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were absolutely thrilled by finding this gem of a hotel! The photographs on the web looked amazing and when we arrived it exceeded our expectations. It is an extremely comfortable and luxurious riad; being very stylishly and thoughtfully decorated - I would describe it as understated elegance.
Thierry and his team are extremely welcoming; very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful.The breakfasts and the evening meal are to be recommended, and catering for the vegetarians in our family was not a problem.
The riad is immaculately clean and very peaceful. Location wise it is good, being a short walk from Jamaal El-Fna and the markets.
We stayed at Riad Matham for 3 nights at the start of our Moroccan holiday and for one night at the end. Our party consistent of my husband and I and our 3 children 18 - 21 years of age, and we all agree that it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated slightly differently, but all appeared to be equally comfortable and lux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you are looking for a place to relax, exceptional hospitality, and authentic Moroccan cuisine, you need to book a few nights at the Riad Matham.  We found this little gem on the internet and it clearly exceeded our expectations.  A riad with traditional elements of Moroccan design, meshed with the conveniences of contemporary architecture will provide you with a very comfortable place to stay in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.  

From the moment we arrived, Thierry (the owner) and his staff were more than helpful and really made our stay so memorable.  Thierry helped us with orienting ourselves within the medina, arranging airport transfers and walked us directly out of the medina to meet our driver.  He was always accessible and extremely helpful when we needed assistance.  We strongly recommend eating in at Riad Matham, the food is spectacular!  The ladies are fantastic chefs and always have a smile on their faces.

The riad itself is located in a fantastic spot within the medina, close to shopping and the central square.  The décor and atmosphere of Riad Matham is outstanding; clean, new, relaxing, and inviting.  If you do book a room at Riad Matham, treat yourself to a suite.  Our suite was absolutely fantastic…spacious, clean, and extremely comfortable.  To end our travels in Morocco, we were so glad to have chosen Riad Matham.

Room Tip: treat yourself to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aabenraa, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Riad was a little hard to find when we first got there, but the owner Thierry personally showed us how to get there, and we quickly found out that it was situated perfectly, right next to the souks (perfect for shopping) and not far from the Jamaal El-Fna place. The Riad was decorated very tasteful and very authentic and modern Moroccan. The staff were incredibly sweet, friendly and helpful (despite them not speaking that much english), and their cooking was great! The breakfast included traditional Moroccan pancakes and breads, and the few evening meals we had there were also traditional and some of the best food we had in Marrakech.
The Riad had a very relaxing atmosphere, and in the Moroccan summer-heat, it was just amazing to have a little pool to dip in. The rooftop had an amazing view, and sitting there in the evening was just amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Bar/Lounge, Rom...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#13 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#16 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#27 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#14 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Family-friendly...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#2 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Room Service, R...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Riad Princesse du desert
Riad Princesse du desert
#15 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Matham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Matham

Address: 2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matham Riad is an old mansion of the sixteenth century located in the historic district of the medina of Marrakech, close to the souks and the main museums of the city and 8 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna.Discover terrace and climb the tower you can admire certainly the most beautiful view of the medina and the calls of the muezzin at duskYou will also enjoy our Moroccan cuisine.Riad Matham offers body treatments and relaxation with its traditional hammam and swimming pool where you can relax on the way to walk in the souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Matham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Matham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.