We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Minimal Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Matham

Save Saved
You added Riad Matham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Matham
2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
San Gimignano, Italy
1 review
“Riad Minimal Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Riad Matham...booked a suite for 5 days and boy was I surprised !

Thierry ( the owner of the Riad ) picked me up at the taxi drop off which he arranged ( I would otherwise never have found it on my own ) and guided me to his beautifully restored Riad...

Riad Matham is a oasis in the Medina - from outside the Riad's walls you can smell the amazing rose incense, which believe me is extremely welcoming !

To describe the Riad in a couple of words: welcoming, relaxed atmosphere, minimal design with some beautifully traditional detailing, friendly staff, fairly priced dinner, free wifi ( reception should be expanded a little, but this is just a minor con ) and most of all, amazing 360 degrees views from the rooftop tower terras !!!

If you are looking for a contemporary, yet connected to its traditional Maroccan roots, Riad experience, book at Riad Matham, trust me !

Jens P

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
128
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

On the basis of previous excellent reviews we booked and stayed at Riad Matham for 4 nights in July 2013 - we were not disappointed in any respect and really had a most marvellous experience from the outset.

Without exception the owner Thierry and his staff (Fatima 1 and 2!) proved to be sincerely welcoming, helpful and professional. They demonstrated a genuine understanding of excellent customer service.

We used the airport transfer service arranged by Thierry and this went without any problem. We were personally greeted by Thierry at the pre-arranged drop off point who guided us through the labyrinth of walkways to the Riad. It is difficult to know how the Riad could be found by a new visitor without this valuable help, therefore it is a recommended option.

The view of the front door belies how beautifully the Riad has been renovated, furnished and decorated. The courtyard, with central plunge pool is delightful and the rooms have been finished to a similar standard. Our room on the first floor was clean, spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom and separate shower. We found the accommodation extremely comfortable in all respects.

The breakfast provided as part of the room rate is fresh and well presented, as are the optional evening meals.

Location wise the Riad is perfectly situated for visiting the many Souks and main square. All are within a short walk of 10 minutes maximum. An excellent location therefore to experience a flavour of the excitement that is Marrakech.

Our short holiday proved to very enjoyable and we felt that Thierry is providing an excellent service which is extremely good value for money. We therefore have no hesitation in recommending Riad Matham to others.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are recommended (for extra light) but all seem to be finished to the same high sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a very cool spot. Very stylish, comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated, with great attention to detail. A great location within walking distance to the main square and other sights, and very very quiet. A great service from the owner and his staff, which included arranging airport transfers and an excellent dinner on site. Breakfast was also delicious. Would return in a heartbeat. Thanks Thierry!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Runton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Me and my fiance had a great 2 day stay at this cool, laid back riad. After struggling to find the riad initially (it's not a very big sign and it's down very small, maze like streets) we were expertly greeted by Khaled and a pot of mint tea and some delicious pastries. We were given a map to show where the riad is situated and of attractions nearby (Fondouk restaurant which was excellent)

Our room in the riad was stylishly decorated and very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious and served around the beautiful plunge pool. The rooftop terrace was brilliant for sun bathing and early evening relaxing and sun set watching.

All in all, a terrific stay in a beautiful riad in the heart of the medina. We recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic 5 day stay.

Rooms: All rooms are stunning, varies in size but all very comfortable looking. The Merinade suite had an incredible rainforest shower head with wonderful pressure.

The whole place is super stylish, not to mention this riad is wonderfully maintained. So so clean!

The people here are super helpful and genuine! The food here was also far better than the restaurants nearby or in the supertouristy recommended stalls found at the Jemma.

It's also an easy walk to the Jemma.

Tips/etc:

Absolute must - book a transfer to the riad. You will not find it on your own.

Be sure to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper (morning prayers).

Wifi will not work with Apple products in the upstairs rooms.

Room Tip: Do upstairs for better natural light and quietness, or downstairs for much stronger wifi connection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Owner Thierry created a stylish and peaceful oasis in the north of the Medina, with one of the highest rooftop views to the Koutoubia mosque. This is a new riad decorated in very good taste: luxurious but subtle, surprising and comforting. Close to main attractions as the Medersa Ben Youssef and the Musée de la Photographie (a must-visit). Thierry's staff is very friendly, and the meals they serve are delicious. Rooms are new, bright and airy, beds comfortable, shower pressure perfect. I felt very much at home at this Riad and gladly recommend it to anyone visiting this beautiful town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are situated around the central court, with natural light in the bathrooms (a rare sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Only stopped here for one night on arriving in Marrakech, as we were heading to the coast. From the initial booking to leaving the Riad Matham everything was wonderful. From being contacted to have pick up arranged from the airport, being greeted by the friendly staff, welcomed in to impeccable accommodation which was decorated well and most importantly clean and tidy. It was a shame we could only stay one night at the Riad Matham, and I would certainly look stay again if returning to Marrakech, as well as strongly recommending to friends and family.

Thanks Thierry

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Matham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Matham

Address: 2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matham Riad is an old mansion of the sixteenth century located in the historic district of the medina of Marrakech, close to the souks and the main museums of the city and 8 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna.Discover terrace and climb the tower you can admire certainly the most beautiful view of the medina and the calls of the muezzin at duskYou will also enjoy our Moroccan cuisine.Riad Matham offers body treatments and relaxation with its traditional hammam and swimming pool where you can relax on the way to walk in the souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Matham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Matham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.