We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Matham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Matham to your Saves list
Riad Matham
2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stylish and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

On the basis of previous excellent reviews we booked and stayed at Riad Matham for 4 nights in July 2013 - we were not disappointed in any respect and really had a most marvellous experience from the outset.

Without exception the owner Thierry and his staff (Fatima 1 and 2!) proved to be sincerely welcoming, helpful and professional. They demonstrated a genuine understanding of excellent customer service.

We used the airport transfer service arranged by Thierry and this went without any problem. We were personally greeted by Thierry at the pre-arranged drop off point who guided us through the labyrinth of walkways to the Riad. It is difficult to know how the Riad could be found by a new visitor without this valuable help, therefore it is a recommended option.

The view of the front door belies how beautifully the Riad has been renovated, furnished and decorated. The courtyard, with central plunge pool is delightful and the rooms have been finished to a similar standard. Our room on the first floor was clean, spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom and separate shower. We found the accommodation extremely comfortable in all respects.

The breakfast provided as part of the room rate is fresh and well presented, as are the optional evening meals.

Location wise the Riad is perfectly situated for visiting the many Souks and main square. All are within a short walk of 10 minutes maximum. An excellent location therefore to experience a flavour of the excitement that is Marrakech.

Our short holiday proved to very enjoyable and we felt that Thierry is providing an excellent service which is extremely good value for money. We therefore have no hesitation in recommending Riad Matham to others.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are recommended (for extra light) but all seem to be finished to the same high sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfans38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a very cool spot. Very stylish, comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated, with great attention to detail. A great location within walking distance to the main square and other sights, and very very quiet. A great service from the owner and his staff, which included arranging airport transfers and an excellent dinner on site. Breakfast was also delicious. Would return in a heartbeat. Thanks Thierry!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Runton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Me and my fiance had a great 2 day stay at this cool, laid back riad. After struggling to find the riad initially (it's not a very big sign and it's down very small, maze like streets) we were expertly greeted by Khaled and a pot of mint tea and some delicious pastries. We were given a map to show where the riad is situated and of attractions nearby (Fondouk restaurant which was excellent)

Our room in the riad was stylishly decorated and very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious and served around the beautiful plunge pool. The rooftop terrace was brilliant for sun bathing and early evening relaxing and sun set watching.

All in all, a terrific stay in a beautiful riad in the heart of the medina. We recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Cass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic 5 day stay.

Rooms: All rooms are stunning, varies in size but all very comfortable looking. The Merinade suite had an incredible rainforest shower head with wonderful pressure.

The whole place is super stylish, not to mention this riad is wonderfully maintained. So so clean!

The people here are super helpful and genuine! The food here was also far better than the restaurants nearby or in the supertouristy recommended stalls found at the Jemma.

It's also an easy walk to the Jemma.

Tips/etc:

Absolute must - book a transfer to the riad. You will not find it on your own.

Be sure to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper (morning prayers).

Wifi will not work with Apple products in the upstairs rooms.

Room Tip: Do upstairs for better natural light and quietness, or downstairs for much stronger wifi connection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Owner Thierry created a stylish and peaceful oasis in the north of the Medina, with one of the highest rooftop views to the Koutoubia mosque. This is a new riad decorated in very good taste: luxurious but subtle, surprising and comforting. Close to main attractions as the Medersa Ben Youssef and the Musée de la Photographie (a must-visit). Thierry's staff is very friendly, and the meals they serve are delicious. Rooms are new, bright and airy, beds comfortable, shower pressure perfect. I felt very much at home at this Riad and gladly recommend it to anyone visiting this beautiful town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are situated around the central court, with natural light in the bathrooms (a rare sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisVHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Only stopped here for one night on arriving in Marrakech, as we were heading to the coast. From the initial booking to leaving the Riad Matham everything was wonderful. From being contacted to have pick up arranged from the airport, being greeted by the friendly staff, welcomed in to impeccable accommodation which was decorated well and most importantly clean and tidy. It was a shame we could only stay one night at the Riad Matham, and I would certainly look stay again if returning to Marrakech, as well as strongly recommending to friends and family.

Thanks Thierry

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved this Riad - probably our favourite in Morocco! Thierry is a real artist and we really loved what he had done with the Riad - it was like staying at an Art gallery - so much to see!

The rooms were huge, decor was perfect, breakfast was fabulous, and the two Fatimas were lovely. Just gutted we only had one night there and couldn't stay longer!

Great value for money. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Riad Berbere
Le Riad Berbere
#82 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#1 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#2 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Matham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Matham

Address: 2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matham Riad is an old mansion of the sixteenth century located in the historic district of the medina of Marrakech, close to the souks and the main museums of the city and 8 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna.Discover terrace and climb the tower you can admire certainly the most beautiful view of the medina and the calls of the muezzin at duskYou will also enjoy our Moroccan cuisine.Riad Matham offers body treatments and relaxation with its traditional hammam and swimming pool where you can relax on the way to walk in the souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Matham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#