We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Matham

Save Saved
You added Riad Matham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Matham
2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic 5 day stay.

Rooms: All rooms are stunning, varies in size but all very comfortable looking. The Merinade suite had an incredible rainforest shower head with wonderful pressure.

The whole place is super stylish, not to mention this riad is wonderfully maintained. So so clean!

The people here are super helpful and genuine! The food here was also far better than the restaurants nearby or in the supertouristy recommended stalls found at the Jemma.

It's also an easy walk to the Jemma.

Tips/etc:

Absolute must - book a transfer to the riad. You will not find it on your own.

Be sure to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper (morning prayers).

Wifi will not work with Apple products in the upstairs rooms.

Room Tip: Do upstairs for better natural light and quietness, or downstairs for much stronger wifi connection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
129
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Owner Thierry created a stylish and peaceful oasis in the north of the Medina, with one of the highest rooftop views to the Koutoubia mosque. This is a new riad decorated in very good taste: luxurious but subtle, surprising and comforting. Close to main attractions as the Medersa Ben Youssef and the Musée de la Photographie (a must-visit). Thierry's staff is very friendly, and the meals they serve are delicious. Rooms are new, bright and airy, beds comfortable, shower pressure perfect. I felt very much at home at this Riad and gladly recommend it to anyone visiting this beautiful town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are situated around the central court, with natural light in the bathrooms (a rare sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Only stopped here for one night on arriving in Marrakech, as we were heading to the coast. From the initial booking to leaving the Riad Matham everything was wonderful. From being contacted to have pick up arranged from the airport, being greeted by the friendly staff, welcomed in to impeccable accommodation which was decorated well and most importantly clean and tidy. It was a shame we could only stay one night at the Riad Matham, and I would certainly look stay again if returning to Marrakech, as well as strongly recommending to friends and family.

Thanks Thierry

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved this Riad - probably our favourite in Morocco! Thierry is a real artist and we really loved what he had done with the Riad - it was like staying at an Art gallery - so much to see!

The rooms were huge, decor was perfect, breakfast was fabulous, and the two Fatimas were lovely. Just gutted we only had one night there and couldn't stay longer!

Great value for money. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We visited Marrakech again in February and I was curious to try out Riad Matham, which had been newly opened in December 2012. The riad was excellent - newly refurbished and tastefully decorated. The owner is charming and his staff very friendly. The roof terrace was a great place to chill out with uninterrupted views of the Atlas Mountains. On the two occasions that we “dined in”, dinner at the riad was delicious, prepared by the in-house chef. I am dreaming of a calm oasis...and looking forward to returning to Riad Matham soon.

A suggestion: For a hassle free arrival, take the taxi transfer offered, as the riad is tucked away down a small side street, 2 minutes walk from the taxi drop off point, but can be a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent three days in that riad. The bed was really comfort and the room clean and spacious. The breakfast was served in the courtyard (3 different kind of bread, jam, fresh orange and banana juice, fruitsalad and coffee).
There was a terrace, where you could relax and enjoy the view. It was well decorated (manimalistic style) and I couldn't stop taking photos.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
It was only a 10-minute walk to the Jemaa Al-Fna.
You may find it difficult to discover the riad -especially the first day- but the owner will give you a map.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondragón, España
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had the good fortune to have found, chosen and stayed at this fantastic Riad. we were a group of three; a friend, my wife and myself. We booked the Suite Merinide and the Chambre Alaouite,both beautifully decorated with exquisite taste and style, as indeed was the entire
Riad. We couldn't stop taking photos. I must also mention that the beds were extremely comfortable. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful place to chill out and watch the beautiful sunsets.
Breakfast, served in the courtyard is a real treat and gets you ready for a hard day haggling in the Souks which are minutes away. I would also highly recommend dining at the Riad, the food rivals the best restaurants in Marrakech and is very reasonably priced.Try the Tourag white
wine with your meal.Thierry and his staff are excellent, charming and most helpful.
So if you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere in beautiful surroundings with superb service at a reasonable price The Riad Matham can't be beaten.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Matham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Matham

Address: 2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matham Riad is an old mansion of the sixteenth century located in the historic district of the medina of Marrakech, close to the souks and the main museums of the city and 8 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna.Discover terrace and climb the tower you can admire certainly the most beautiful view of the medina and the calls of the muezzin at duskYou will also enjoy our Moroccan cuisine.Riad Matham offers body treatments and relaxation with its traditional hammam and swimming pool where you can relax on the way to walk in the souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Matham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Matham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.