We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection: tranquil setting and great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Matham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Matham to your Saves list
Riad Matham
2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Perfection: tranquil setting and great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We visited Marrakech again in February and I was curious to try out Riad Matham, which had been newly opened in December 2012. The riad was excellent - newly refurbished and tastefully decorated. The owner is charming and his staff very friendly. The roof terrace was a great place to chill out with uninterrupted views of the Atlas Mountains. On the two occasions that we “dined in”, dinner at the riad was delicious, prepared by the in-house chef. I am dreaming of a calm oasis...and looking forward to returning to Riad Matham soon.

A suggestion: For a hassle free arrival, take the taxi transfer offered, as the riad is tucked away down a small side street, 2 minutes walk from the taxi drop off point, but can be a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
80
193
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent three days in that riad. The bed was really comfort and the room clean and spacious. The breakfast was served in the courtyard (3 different kind of bread, jam, fresh orange and banana juice, fruitsalad and coffee).
There was a terrace, where you could relax and enjoy the view. It was well decorated (manimalistic style) and I couldn't stop taking photos.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
It was only a 10-minute walk to the Jemaa Al-Fna.
You may find it difficult to discover the riad -especially the first day- but the owner will give you a map.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondragón, España
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had the good fortune to have found, chosen and stayed at this fantastic Riad. we were a group of three; a friend, my wife and myself. We booked the Suite Merinide and the Chambre Alaouite,both beautifully decorated with exquisite taste and style, as indeed was the entire
Riad. We couldn't stop taking photos. I must also mention that the beds were extremely comfortable. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful place to chill out and watch the beautiful sunsets.
Breakfast, served in the courtyard is a real treat and gets you ready for a hard day haggling in the Souks which are minutes away. I would also highly recommend dining at the Riad, the food rivals the best restaurants in Marrakech and is very reasonably priced.Try the Tourag white
wine with your meal.Thierry and his staff are excellent, charming and most helpful.
So if you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere in beautiful surroundings with superb service at a reasonable price The Riad Matham can't be beaten.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Central Marrakech is very busy with people continuously after your attention whether in the markets or the central square or restaurants or tour guides and so on, so the riad was the perfect haven to return to after being out and about. From the outside the beauty of the Riad cannot be seen but as soon as you enter through the wooden door you enter into a beautifully white washed courtyard with beautiful architecht. We used the hotels airport transfers and would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay here. You receive a very personal treatment from Theirry and his team (Fathima 1 and Fathima 2 and the lovely cook!) all the way from the beginning of the trip with Thierry greeting you at the taxi and taking you on a short walk to the Riad. The rooms are clean and light and spacious. The shower was lovely. You can have breakfast either served in the courtyard or in your rooms, the team are extremely accommodating (I even got a couple of items ironed). There are lots of great things to say about this Riad from the lovely people, the lovely rooms, the fantastic location (8 minutes walk from the square, a couple of minutes walk from the souqs and the lovely little street food stalls which was the best food in Marrakech). I would definitely recommend this Riad if you are looking to experience the flavour of Marrakech in the central area.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had one night in Marrakech before embarking on a tour across the mountains and desert and chose Riad Matham. It was an excellent decision!

The Riad was newly opened and was absolutely beautiful. We had a room off the courtyard and it was stunning. There was also a fantastic roof terrace which,sadly, we didn't have time to take advantage of in our short stay, with views across Marrakech and the Atlas mountains. The location is excellent, close to Jema El Fna square and the souks.

Thierry and the rest of the team at Riad Matham were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful.

We were sorry that our visit was so short but we will not hesitate to book there again if we visit Marrakech again. An excellent experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I travelled by myself to Marrakech (note: I am a woman) exciting to know the city but concerned about where to stay.... Searching for places, I found wonderful revews of Riad Matham. To be honest, every comment was so good, as well the pictures, I've not believed at first sight. As any other place called had not been called my attention, I booked Matham. Now, I do endorse each good revew.
The place is simply gorgeous, comfortable, clean, well decorated and the food is so tasty and prepared for a high qualified and passionate cook.
There was a taxi driver in the airport At my arrival, who drove me up to a meeting point not far from the Riad. In few minutes, a person from the Riad showed up to help with my luggage and drove me through the way into the Riad.
Easy location and walking distance of major attractions at Medina.
First time in a trip I feel like at home. Hope everyone enjoys as much as I did!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Think about this. Marrakech is a place of joy and fascination. This is spiced up by an energetic vibe that the city explicits with many sounds and noise. The experience at Riad Matham has been amazing. The riad itself is a traditional maroccan house, dislocated on several floors, as you'll be able to see several in all marrakech. What characterized this riad is:
- a mixture of colors that transmit peace: white walls and refinely decorated wooden details
- a minimalistic style that be therefore perfect after a full immersion in the hectic marrakech
- a unique hospitality offered by the owner and its team
They have been great, as host and guides around the secrets that the city has to offer and the right ways to behave in a totally different culture.
Couldn't suggest a better option. And the fact that it's been recently opened makes it even better as the whole structure is really new.

Room Tip: Ask if they have available rooms at the first floor, they get more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#9 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Riad Berbere
Le Riad Berbere
#119 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#17 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#40 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Matham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Matham

Address: 2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matham Riad is an old mansion of the sixteenth century located in the historic district of the medina of Marrakech, close to the souks and the main museums of the city and 8 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna.Discover terrace and climb the tower you can admire certainly the most beautiful view of the medina and the calls of the muezzin at duskYou will also enjoy our Moroccan cuisine.Riad Matham offers body treatments and relaxation with its traditional hammam and swimming pool where you can relax on the way to walk in the souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Matham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Matham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.