We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but unreliable, mismanaged riad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Venezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Venezia to your Saves list
Riad Venezia
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No23 Derb Kabir Hay Ben Saleh, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #635 of 1,136 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location but unreliable, mismanaged riad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked 4 nights at this riad and looked forward to staying there given the glowing reviews, great location and really cheap rooms. Unfortunately, our experience was not a positive one. The triple room we booked turned out to be very dark, stuffy and cramped. The aircon worked somewhat but wifi did not (and was unreliable even in the common room downstairs). Having stayed at other fantastic riads throughout Morocco, we were not impressed, but only decided to change accomodations after the first night when one of us got seriously ill. Cancelling and paying for our stay turned out to be a fiasco, and took over 4 or 5 hours of our time over 2 days and many phone calls to various "managers" of the riad who gave us contradicting information (ex: the phone number currently listed on the website belongs to an individual who identified himself as manager and provided us with payment instructions. Those instructions were contradicted by Riad Venezia staff who came the next day to get us at our new riad to settle our payment, claiming the man we spoke to no longer worked at Riad Venezia ... But yet his contact info is still listed everywhere.) Overall, we were dismayed at the mismanagement at this riad. The staff are indeed friendly, but we did not feel that we could trust them or rely on their help. Another couple also walked out shortly before us and complained that they received false information and were not happy with their stay. On the surface everything seems fine at Riad Venezia, but if by bad luck something goes wrong during your trip, the staff are ill-prepared to be of any assistance. There are many other authentic, cheap riads in Marrakech that have more experience and better management. For the remainder of our stay in Marrakech we switched to Riad Coq Berbere, and were delighted from the first moment we walked in.

Room Tip: The triple room is by far the worst of the bunch. If you do decide to stay at Riad Venezia, only tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napoli
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are all amazing! They are very comfortable and cosy, and they are designed in authentic moroccan style! Breakfast is good, you won't have continental breakfast but it is good as well. It is 5 minutes walking from Djemaa el Fna, you will just have to be guided the first time, then it'll be easy to find it! It is located in an alley in which you can easily chat and make friends with moroccan families and children :) last but not least, the staff is awesome! You'll feel home! have a nice stay ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Riad Venezia was an amazing place. Very well situated with great atmosphere...the best was the staff though. Very friendly, helping and chatty:) After our trip around Morocco we went back to this Riad just to leave bags for few hours and they were just glad to see us again. Definite recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludbreg, Croatia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It really is beautiful and cozy. We had a great stay in this riad and we'll never forget how beautiful it was to be there. It has that special charm that makes you wish you are there again. The staff is just perfect and they made us feel like home. They were very helpful, nice and they will help you with anything you need. The riad is very close tho the square and it has a beautiful terrace where you can have breakfast or watch beautiful stars on Marrakech sky in the evening. Hope we'll go back to Marrakech very soon and we'll definitly stay in Riad Venezia again :)))))

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is what you expect a Moroccan riad to look like!!!!!! Rich in color, adorned with lovely exotic accessories! Just perfect. It was so cozy & comfortable that it really begins fo feel like home & is an incredibe escape from the constant movement & noise of the surrounding medina. I wish i had more pics to share. The riad is 3 stories (maybe 4) and has four beautifully decorated rooms. Private bathrooms, all Moroccan in every detail. There is a lovely rooftop terrace for you to relax & lounge on while looking into the sky & hearing music/noise of the medina in privacy. Just incredible. The owners are exquisite as well & attentive to detail and focused on elevating the enjoyment of their magnificent city. As a solo female traveler, I felt very safe here & in good hands. They can organize tours also. And...of course...breakfast every morning. Price is a bargain too! I've stayed in many lovely places but this riad gave me a wonderful feeling every time i stepped inside. I found alot of hospitality in Marrakech & ppl eager to make you me feel welcome. This riad is top on that list!!! :) The place i will stay on every Marrakech return & will advise others to also!!

Go to Morocco & enjoy!!! I miss it terribly already :( But will be going back next year!! :)

Jamie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, Uk
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I went to see this Riad while in Marrakech recently and i was impressed.
lovely and cosy and very close to the main El Fna Square.
the terrace looks almost like a piece cut from a beach, and it is very charming.
the manager is charming and will do his best to make your stay something to be remembered for many years to come.
also, to look forward is the trips and excursions they organised. excellent
can't wait to go there again!!
i was forgetting... the views from the upper terrace are gorgeous!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#397 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#125 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#216 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
#234 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Riad Venise
#649 of 1,136 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Venezia

Address: No23 Derb Kabir Hay Ben Saleh, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 1,136 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.