We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class in every department!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Riad Azukar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Riad Azukar to your Saves list
Palais Riad Azukar
84 Derb Lala Chacha Douar Graouwa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #514 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Class in every department!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife & I enjoyed a 4 night stay at Azukar. A little awkward to find but only because the Taxi driver pointed us in the wrong direction off the Square!! Staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful, they really couldn't do enough, even walking us to the Djemma El-Fnaa on our first morning to help us find our bearings. The Djemaa El-Fnaa & the Souks were nice & close (5 to 10 min walk) yet far enough that it is peaceful & quiet in the evenings. The Riad was well looked after & all in all we would definitely recommend & stay again if visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    37
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

When the taxi first pulled up to the location, we were a little worried if we were in the right place. The riad is located on a little side road off the advertised address but once you step inside, it's well worth the initial confusion! Staff are very friendly and accommodating, though you'd probably need some French knowledge to have meaningful conversations.
The small pool in the foyer helps to create a calm and soothing atmosphere. Roof top terrace is also another lovely place to relax, either at breakfast or during the day. The Riad is located close enough to Djemma-el-Fnaa to easily walk there everyday (which we did!) but far enough to not be disturbed by nighttime outings.
The riad, locals and general area are all lovely. Definitely hope to visit again!

Room Tip: Ensure you check the shower. We had a problem with one of ours having a funny smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Lovely riad, niice staff. However is v difficult to find your bearings in relation to Djemma-el-Fnaa. We were dropped off in a taxi from the airport and were followed by a young bloke who was apparently guiding us 50m to where the Riad was, even though there was a sign and we didn't ask him for help. He then refused the $1 tip saying 'this is nothing', telling us he expected at least $5. Wasn't a great way to arrive.
Riad could do with giving guests a clear, easy-to-follow map from Riad to the Djemma-el-Fnaa. Each time we left we needed to ask people for help and directions ( really v labrynthine ) which ultimately led to them complaining about however much we ended paying them ($2). This made us dependent on goodwill/ bad temper of localsto get about and put us off staying in the medina again. The next time we went back we stayed in Djemma-el-Fnaa and had a much better experience.
Easily remedied by map given to hotel guests to aviod disorientation/ gettting into altercations with locals on the street..

Room Tip: Rooms first floor are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palais Azukar V, Propriétaire at Palais Riad Azukar, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
In each room, you have a plan with a cross Medina Riad
Too bad your comment is not on the house.

In each room, you have a plan with a cross Medina Riad
Too bad your comment is not on the house.
Why do not you asked the team which is for you avoid problems!!
Amine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hard to find, it isn't on the street as advertised but if you turn left at Moulay Idriss you find it. Great location. Stayed a night through Groupon offer. Stunning décor and lots of art. Had dinner on the roof terrace which was lovely, food good and very relaxing. Room was interestingly decorated but bathroom cleanliness wasn't great and plumbing not the best.
Breakfast was pancakes, buns, croissants, fresh and enjoyable.
Haman was nice the next day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This place may be tricky to find when you first arrive but it is worth the effort. The Riad is beautiful, clean and quiet. All the staff are really helpful and kind, although most speak French only. The breakfasts are simple but the roof terrace is delightful. We would certainly stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We actually tried to book 3 nights at Riad Dar Najat and as they were fully booked the first night they booked us into Riad Azukar which is just 10 metres away. We paid 50 euros for the night and were pleasantly surprised. They actually have a better pool than Riad Dar Najat. The staff were really friendly and our room was large and clean. The riad had everything we needed and is only a 5 minute walk from the main square (Jemma el-Fnaa). Our room did not have a tv though - if that is important for you. Would recommend this to other travellers and is a good option as you can probably get rooms here much cheaper than other popular riads in this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palais Azukar V, Propriétaire at Palais Riad Azukar, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de faire un joli texte ,nous espérons vous revoir plus longtemps
merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Elegant, comfortable, quiet, tastefully furnished by 2 lovely French people, Carole and Patrice who had to suffer my French! But whom I would consider friends too. Nothing too much trouble, from getting a taxi at a fixed price (advisable to know what you are paying before you get in one), to visit Majorelle gdns, to advice on where to eat and more..I went with my daughter and we shared the wedding suite, which although we shared a big double bed there was a chez langue which had we asked could of been made up. Air con efficient, everything clean. Breakfast served on the well furnished roof terrace. Staff friendly and helpful. The plung pool was the main reason we plumped for this Riad and well worth it too, v good for cooling off in after the hard streets of Marrakech. I would certainly go here again, we booked our last 2 nights here out of a week,but extended it to 3 and were glad we did. Only 1 point of slight confusion, they work in euros, but I was paying in dirhams, I would of found it clearer if the whole bill was dirhams rather than trying to work it all out. I would definitely go there again - a wonderful relaxing experience

Room Tip: If by spa you mean the plunge pool, then this was perhaps the main reason we picked this Riad. I we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palais Azukar V, Propriétaire at Palais Riad Azukar, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
merci beaucoup pour toutes les éloges sur notre établissement aux plaisir de vous revoir
bises à toutes les deux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Riad Azukar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Riad Azukar

Address: 84 Derb Lala Chacha Douar Graouwa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD Modern and trendy design is no more for elites!!!Azukar is the place for those in quest of discoveries and curiosities Located very close to the frantic Djemaa el Fnaa square, in a peaceful neighborhood; Riad Azukar has 8 rooms en suite with air conditioning, WIFI and Ipod Stations.Azukar also has living rooms, dining rooms, a bar and a swimming pool.Azukar has just been opened and offers excellent customer services such as restaurant, laundry, concierge, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palais Riad Azukar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Riad Azukar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.