We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad close to Jemaa el-Fnaa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Riad Azukar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Riad Azukar to your Saves list
Palais Riad Azukar
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   84 Derb Lala Chacha Douar Graouwa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #544 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great riad close to Jemaa el-Fnaa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We actually tried to book 3 nights at Riad Dar Najat and as they were fully booked the first night they booked us into Riad Azukar which is just 10 metres away. We paid 50 euros for the night and were pleasantly surprised. They actually have a better pool than Riad Dar Najat. The staff were really friendly and our room was large and clean. The riad had everything we needed and is only a 5 minute walk from the main square (Jemma el-Fnaa). Our room did not have a tv though - if that is important for you. Would recommend this to other travellers and is a good option as you can probably get rooms here much cheaper than other popular riads in this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palais Azukar V, Propriétaire at Palais Riad Azukar, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de faire un joli texte ,nous espérons vous revoir plus longtemps
merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    43
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Elegant, comfortable, quiet, tastefully furnished by 2 lovely French people, Carole and Patrice who had to suffer my French! But whom I would consider friends too. Nothing too much trouble, from getting a taxi at a fixed price (advisable to know what you are paying before you get in one), to visit Majorelle gdns, to advice on where to eat and more..I went with my daughter and we shared the wedding suite, which although we shared a big double bed there was a chez langue which had we asked could of been made up. Air con efficient, everything clean. Breakfast served on the well furnished roof terrace. Staff friendly and helpful. The plung pool was the main reason we plumped for this Riad and well worth it too, v good for cooling off in after the hard streets of Marrakech. I would certainly go here again, we booked our last 2 nights here out of a week,but extended it to 3 and were glad we did. Only 1 point of slight confusion, they work in euros, but I was paying in dirhams, I would of found it clearer if the whole bill was dirhams rather than trying to work it all out. I would definitely go there again - a wonderful relaxing experience

Room Tip: If by spa you mean the plunge pool, then this was perhaps the main reason we picked this Riad. I we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palais Azukar V, Propriétaire at Palais Riad Azukar, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
merci beaucoup pour toutes les éloges sur notre établissement aux plaisir de vous revoir
bises à toutes les deux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocksund
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This place seems nice at a first glance, however the owner is obviously only trying to make money and exploit poor beauty workers. We were 4 friends staying at a very nice riad nearby and with tired feet we dropped by to get a pedicure. We were told to book an appointment for 350 dirhams each and this would include "a unique spa experience for at least one hour". When we arrived 3 hrs later we were first seated in the common area and also told-"you might as well sit her all of you". The place was a short sofa with a brick wall as back rest (!). When we protested the owner said "why do you make a fuss, this is good enough!". After protests we were shown into a large room with 6 beds. Three of us got towels and and three beauty workers started a hectic pedicure. The fourth person of us did not get any attention (3 is not equal to 4) and when we called the owner he said that "too bad, one person is sick, you will have too share these 3. In one hour." When I complained he was rude and shouted "you can go when you please". Which I wish i did. Instead we witnessed 3 poor workers working their sweat out to do "relaxing pedicure" running betwwen us, damaging nails, terrible/short masssage, using the same towel with skin rests on to another person etc. If you have need of exploiting people/sharing other people´s debris-go here. If you want to put this bad idea to a stop- DO NOT.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierryMarrakech, Responsable réception at Palais Riad Azukar, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
We sincerely apologize for not being able to satisfy you.
Indeed, we were at the time of your visit, short staffed, one of our estheticians was off duty. Of course we could not refuse her leave due to the basic right of any employee at rest guaranteed by his employment contract.
We also want to draw your attention to some inconsistency in your statement:
you accuse us of "slavery" and have yet to finish taking your care and have tried to negotiate a discount before leaving without leaving a tip! Something goes wrong? No?
Know that you still will always be welcome in our establishment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We only went there for the spa and that was great ! 2 hours of pleasure with Hammam, Body scrub and Massage. To select which massage you are going to have, they make you smell different perfumes. The one you prefer matches a specific massage.
The staff is very professional and nice.
The cosmetics products are very soft and smell so good !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Awesome little riad tucked away on a side street, 8 mins walk to Djamaa El Fna Square.

I booked this online and am happy I did. At first we had a room for 4, but 2 of the beds were like sleeping on concrete. As soon as we mentioned it to Thierry the manager, he put 2 of us in another double room, for no additional cost.

Rooms are clean, but seem to have a small ant problem. Not an issue for us, but our travel companions were not impressed. We also had a bad sewage smell coming from the drainpipe in the shower, but this was remidied by keeping the plug hole covered when not showering. Seems to be a recurring issue in Marrakech, so we weren't suprised by this.

Lovely rooftop terrace with dining tables/chairs, loungers and couches. Fabric coverings are becoming faded with the sun, but it is still a nice place to go and soak up the sun, enjoy breakfast (included) or other meals which you can pre-order.

Upon arrival, we were offered mint tea and homemade biscuits, up on the terrace. Thierry was not there but had left a note for us and instructions to have the riad staff call if there were any issues - which there weren't.

Soaker pool on the main level was freezing as it is unheated and we were there in November. However, a quick dunk, run upstairs to the terrace and bake in the Moroccan sun...bliss!

All staff were very polite and did everything they could for you. Some have English better than others, but no one was afraid to try! Thierry was great and provided us with a map of the local area and instuctions on how to walk to get where we wanted, all of which was accuarte and detailed. He also booked an evening out for us at Fantasia and got taxis for us when required.

We would definately stay here again! Thanks Thierry!!!

Room Tip: Have Thierry book a taxi for you to get here....a lot of the drivers have no clue where it is. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed a week here in early October. This is a quiet and friendly place very centrally located.

To pick up on some of the points raised earlier, avoid the baggage kid like to plague or you will pay 8 quid for a hundred yard walk.

Don't expect a hotel - this is a riad staffed by a few very nice housekeeping staff, who will try to understand your school French and help you. The owner is very nice and helpful and will give you some great advice.

The weather in October was superb but we understood that this was a bit unusual for the time of year when it can start getting cool.

Avoid the kids who will tell you that the way you are going is closed and try to get money from guiding you the wrong way. Also avoid the "do you recognise me - I am a waiter in your hotel !" ploy. Otherwise there is limited hassle and you will have a good time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Two friends and I stayed here on our first visit to Marrakesh (and Morocco). Set within the old city walls and 5 only minutes walk from the main Medina square this place is a great haven of peace and quiet after a day of exploring the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are basic but perfectly clean and comfortable, our toilet and shower room was clean and modern feeling, the room had air con in it also which is such a savior after being out in the heat all day.

The Riad itself felt light and airy, there is a cold plunge pool in the center of it which is great to wallow in to cool down after a day of wandering. Lots of space on the roof terrace and lots of comfortable seating for lounging around on. There were a few people staying there when we were there, but everyone was very quiet, the peacefulness was great. I'd imagine this place with drunken students in it might be a bit of a headache.

The staff were very friendly and I didn't get the feeling that they were being friendly for the sake of it like you get in lots of places. They all were genuinely very warm and approachable. Thierry the manager was great also, friendly and helpful; he can arrange trips for you to do. You can buy water, drinks and food in the Riad also.

I wouldn't think twice about staying here again or recommending it to my friends and family. Very happy I stayed here! :-)

Just to note, it does help (as with all of Morocco) if you can speak a little French (if not Arabic to start with).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#27 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#198 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Riad Azukar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Riad Azukar

Address: 84 Derb Lala Chacha Douar Graouwa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palais Riad Azukar 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD Modern and trendy design is no more for elites!!!Azukar is the place for those in quest of discoveries and curiosities Located very close to the frantic Djemaa el Fnaa square, in a peaceful neighborhood; Riad Azukar has 8 rooms en suite with air conditioning, WIFI and Ipod Stations.Azukar also has living rooms, dining rooms, a bar and a swimming pool.Azukar has just been opened and offers excellent customer services such as restaurant, laundry, concierge, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palais Riad Azukar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Riad Azukar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.