We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Tidy just off the beaten track!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Riad Azukar

Save Saved
You added Palais Riad Azukar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palais Riad Azukar
84 Derb Lala Chacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #433 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Clean & Tidy just off the beaten track!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We arrived to a very wet Marrakech and were collected by the arranged transfer by the hotel for 20Euros. I would recommend it as this place is not the easiest to find if you were to take a local bus or pay for a taxi yourself.
On arrival the manager Thierry was not there, he had gone for the day and so we were told to sit down and given tea by one for the staff whos english was very limited. We were shown to our room which was lovely, spotlessly clean. Although there is no local (with as key) on the door I thought we would feel more worried about it but after a day or two soon settled into the fact that it was rather a safe little spot to be in. The safety deposit box is in the wardrobe but it is not bolted in and can be picked up with your worldly possesions in!
The breakfasts are great, freshly squeezed orange juice, home made omelettes and cakes and some fresh fruit.
We didnt have the best weather whilst we were there so one day were really stuck in the riad. The rain was monsoon style! The ipod docking station was not in our room as advertised so we had no music to listen too on that nor a TV to watch. The small dipping pool looked more like a pond, it didn't look very clean or safe to be in, and infact on our last day someone had put too much chemical in the pool and it was foaming and our eyes and throats were burning, They had to empty the pool it was that bad!
The roof terrace is delightful, the loungers are comfortable and you can even get the wifi up on the roof!
Having visited Marrakech 3 times now, this Riad is not ideally situated for someone who might feel a but apprehensive about a walk along some dark alleys in the evening back from the square. At one point we were quiet intimidated by young men shouting at us and swearing at us on route to the square. A taxi to the main square is not an option really.
This Riad is in a good location if your happy to walk about for places like Bahia and Badi place, Djemma El Fna square, Royal Palais etc.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
40
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011 via mobile

Lovely place, stylish, good location and fabulous breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

i found this place on a Riads dedicated website. It looked really colourful, quaint and clean.

They provided an airport transfer service. We were dropped off at a little square, which unaware at the time, is a two minute walk from the Riad. We had a bit of an unfortunate encounter with a man who picked up and carried our suitcases in a trolley. We had been advised by the transfer driver to give him 20 dirham. We only had 100 and the suitcase man insisted on keeping 80. Not a good start.

The Hotel Manager Thierry is brilliant. A really friendly guy and gives the best advice, be it food, amusement or general tips. The Staff in general are really friendly always willing to help.

The Riad itself is very pretty. Lots of colours and a little splash pool downstairs. The room we had was a quadruple and was clean. The only issue we had with the room was the smell coming from the toilet. We are unsure as to whether this is general sewer stink or if it was specifically this Riad. Either way, it was easily remedied by closing the door.

All the linen was clean and the rooms were cleaned daily. There wasnt a lock on the room door so we presumed this was a given as it was a locked Riad. The Breakfast was lovely. Always had an option of fruit, cakes and bread. You could choose between coffee, tea and orange juice, all in all...a lot of choice.

The Roof Terrace is lovely and music is always playing. The staff are always on hand if you want to have a drink or two.

Its a 10/15 walk to Djemaa el Fna. Reasonably close.

I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Really friendly and helpful manager/owner, rest of staff have limited English but try. Riad is attractive, splash pool lit by candles in evenings to create good ambience. Rooms are quite small and basic but clean. Breakfast is also quite basic but fresh. Centrally located so easy to walk to most sights but quantity of motorcycles and pollution in streets getting to centre really quite an issue. Makes Riad even more of a welcome haven but makes you reluctant to go out at times! Could be quicker at getting rooms ready for new guests and cleaning rooms.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Myself, my husband, son and son's girlfriend stayed at Riad Azukar for 4 nights last week. We have nothing but praise for the location, accommodation and help from staff.

Thierry the manager arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and driven to the riad - something i would recommend. It was only a 5 minute walk into Jmaa al Fnna and at no time did we feel unsafe. The airconditioning and pool were a godsend considering the 49 degree temperatures we experienced - it was great to be able to cool off after a few hours of hard bargaining in the square - and then go back for more! Rooms were spotless and the breakfast , although simple, filled us up until lunchtime.

We enjoyed our stay at Riad Azukar and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Avoca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We recently stayed 4 nights in Riad Azukar.. Thierry and his staff made us feel welcome from the very beginning, bending over backwards to accomodate our needs. The Riad is a wonderful place to escape the hustle and bustle of the main square..the pool is refreshing and relaxing - and certainly a necessity in the heat!

I would definitely recommend this to any of my friends, or anyone looking to travel to Marrakech..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We found our stay here very pleasent . The location is very good: just 5-10 minutes walking to the Jamaa Fna (Main square), but still very quiet.
We did enjoy the roofterrace for afternoon sunbathing. Breakfast was ok. Staff was brilliant; always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Riad Azukar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Riad Azukar

Address: 84 Derb Lala Chacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD Modern and trendy design is no more for elites!!!Azukar is the place for those in quest of discoveries and curiosities Located very close to the frantic Djemaa el Fnaa square, in a peaceful neighborhood; Riad Azukar has 8 rooms en suite with air conditioning, WIFI and Ipod Stations.Azukar also has living rooms, dining rooms, a bar and a swimming pool.Azukar has just been opened and offers excellent customer services such as restaurant, laundry, concierge, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palais Riad Azukar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Riad Azukar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.