We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Swaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Swaka to your Saves list
Riad Swaka
53 Derb Ragragui, Riad zitoun Jdid | Palais Bahia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Riad is on a quiet little street yet still close to the central square that you are close to all the hustle and bustle of the city life. Our room was lovely and clean and decorated in traditional Moroccan style. All of the staff were very accomodating and there was nothing that wasn't too much trouble for them. The owner Walter even took us to a couple of his favourite shops so that we could get the best quality gifts. His wife also cooked us the most amazing traditional Moroccan meal. We will definitely be going again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, there are only a few rooms and the Riad is quiet enough that any room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walter F, Propriétaire at Riad Swaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
hello Katie

it is that you're amazing!

We wish you lots of good things.
If you return to Marrakech our house is always open for you

good luck

Faty and Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We looked at 15 or so Riads in Marrakech medina and Swaka was by far the most beautifully renovated. Rooms are larger than most Riads and are comfortably furnished with lovely decor. All have been recently restored. Area is super quiet (no motorbikes!). Fatima and Walter are a friendly couple who treat staff and guests like family. Charming stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walter F, Propriétaire at Riad Swaka, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello
Were the people who make the nice Riad!
It is true that the Riad is in a quiet neighborhood at the same time very close to the souks.
thank you again for your compréhention (tickets to Essaouira)
Big hello Fati who thank you for the compliments of her decor!
à bientot in Marrakech
fati and walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Walter and Fatty, as well as their staff, showed us a great Moroccan welcome from the moment we entered their peaceful Riad. Always willing to answer all of our needs, they even took from their personal time to bring us shopping for mosaic tables which are manufactured on the outskirts of the city. Great times, great people, an easy choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Swaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Swaka

Address: 53 Derb Ragragui, Riad zitoun Jdid | Palais Bahia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD SWAKA is at the heart of the medina of Marrakech, easily accessible by taxi, in the lively RIAD ZITOUN JDID, backed by the gardens of the Palais Bahia, a few steps from the fabulous JEMAA el-Fna and traditional decor.After an experience with another Riad, we now have our own home and we will continue in the same spirit: You are above all "guests"Marrakech is a city full of surprises and we love to share.Swaka Riad is in the tradition of guest houses: Home and wellbeing.On arrival you will be greeted personally around a mint tea and traditional pastries. We are available to answer your questions and help you discover authentic Marrakech. All staff will be at your disposal to make your stay more enjoyable.You will discover the Riad and spaces for relaxation, the pool to cool off after the excitement of the souks, the terrace with its sun loungers and whirlpool, its comfortable sofas and pergola, where you take breakfast and dinner without forget for the relaxation lounges, reading or daydreaming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Swaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Swaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.