We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al-Bushra

Save Saved
You added Riad Al-Bushra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Al-Bushra
14 Derb Snan | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

From start to finish our trip was amazing, I really didn't want to come home. Gary made us feel so welcome when we arrived, the transferred he arranged was really helpful and as soon as we set foot in Riad Al Bushra we were made to feel at home. The Riad was absolutely beautiful, our room incredible and the roof terrace breath taking! whether you want to relax in the sunshine, chill out in the lounge area or cool down in the plunge pool Riad Bushra has it all. The attention to detail was outstanding from the softest towel robes to the luxurious bed linen there is literally nothing I would change. Its location was perfect as only a short distance from all the souks and some great restaurants yet once inside it felt like a million miles away as it was so peaceful. Staying with Gary and Steve made our trip to Marrakech better than I could have imagined and I cant wait to go back, this time I'll remember my hair dryer, not that it mattered as Riad Al Bushra even provided that as well as sun hats and a shopping bag!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. Thank you for the specific observations that you have made. We tried hard to source good quality linen and we are delighted that these met your expectations. It was great to host you and we look forward to you returning in the future. Don't forget Easyjet now fly from Bristol twice a week so hopefully that will make it all easier. Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Visiting Marrakech for the first time was always going to be a little daunting. With the constant haranguing and "hello's" from practically every souk (shop) you walk past, Riad Al Bushra was an oasis amongst the chaos of the fantastic medina.
Owners and hosts Gary and Steve were unbelievably helpful, friendly and attentive to all guests every need. From emails, to arranging trips, to getting you to/from the airport or the gate right down to making sure guests had their favourite shows to watch they were there to help. The breakfasts are UNBELIEVABLE. Pastries, bread, yoghurt, juice, fruit and tea greets you every morning on the rooftop where you can fuel up for the day ahead. Gary will look after anything you need, with a pot of hot tea available whenever required. We've stayed at plenty of 5 star (stale/same same) hotels before and this place leaves them all for dead as far as service/comfort/helpfulness/value for money etc is concerned.
The Riad itself is beautifully appointed and tastefully decorated. Each room has a theme. We were lucky enough to stay in the blue room. Absolutely beautiful. The bed is super comfortable and the rain shower had us totally relaxed at the end of a hard days shopping.
The location of the riad is perfect, only a five minute stroll to Jmaa el'Fnaa and the craziness of the snake charmer's, orange juice stalls, prize fighters, drummers, monkey handlers, food stalls and more. And even less time to get to the beginning of the souks.
We were asked if there was anything that we would change, or needed fixing and again as per a previous reviewer mentioned, it was a resounding no... If I were to return to Marrakech, Riad Al Bushra would definitely be getting another visit. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are both blown away by the comments you have made. You are well travelled and have visited 42 countries and hundreds of cities so the comparisons you make are very meaningful and we genuinely appreciate the time you have taken to create your amazing and detailed review.

Should you decide to return in the future (there is still stuff in the souks needing a good home) we would welcome the opportunity to host you again. Once again, a big thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Where do I start. Before I'd even set foot in the country the help I received from Gary on the trips we wanted to do was invaluable. With his in-depth knowledge and help we were able to book the perfect days out (the horse riding especially if you are keen).

When we actually arrived it's not often you feel so welcome and so relaxed in such a short space of time. Gary ensured that everything we needed was taken care of, and made us feel at home as soon as we walked in. The riad itself is beautifully decorated and perfectly located a stones throw away from all the action of the souqs. Yet despite this you feel a million miles away from the hustle and bustle when you venture onto the roof terrace to relax, as it's just so peaceful. Having a sumptuous breakfast up there each morning started everyday in the best possible manner.

This was our first trip to Morocco and definitely won't be our last. Whilst we normally like to stay different places, Riad al Bushra is certainly somewhere we will be returning to thanks to the work of the wonderful hosts.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the riad. You were our first guests to try the horse riding and we are especially pleased this worked out well for you. It was a pleasure to host you both and you will be very welcome when you return in the future. A big thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Riad Al-Bushra is a beautifully restored peaceful riad. It is in an excellent location, situated in the northern medina in the heart of the souk action. The hosts made us feel very welcome and were always on hand to give advice about where to go, what to see, how to get about (invaluable if it is your first time in Marrakech). Nothing was too much trouble and the inclusive breakfast was generous and delicious! Would definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that everything was to your liking and that we got the advice right. It is always difficult advising guests and really appreciate the feedback. Thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A wonderful riad with wonderful hosts! The riad's location could not be better , near all the souks and restaurants in the medina but also once on the roof top terrace it is unbelievably peaceful. The owner, Gary, will ensure you have a wonderful time and can not do enough for you. We stayed in the twin room which was spacious and beautifully decorated in an authentic Moroccan style, as is the whole villa. The villa is stunning and we loved sun bathing on the terrace as well as eating our filling and scrumptious breakfast up there. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. We now want to come back and rent the whole villa !

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the riad to be in a great location. Gary thanks you for your kind words about his hosting. In the meantime we look forward to you returning and hiring the whole riad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

An amazing Riad situated in the Medina. The Riad is faultless and our host Gary was extremely welcoming and helpful! With his knowledge and help our sightseeing and excursions made our trip. I would recommend Riad Al-Bushra to anyone for the location, decor and overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and thank you for recommending us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

At the end of our stay we were asked is there anything we could improve on and my answer was an emphatic no. Riad al Bushra was faultless, the riad is beautiful, rooms were luxurious and our hosts Steve and Gary could not have done more to make us feel at home and truly welcomed. Nothing was too much trouble from the moment we arrived until we left left. Exquisite place to stay in this exotic city. The combination was perfect. Helen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and also liked Marrakech. It is indeed an exotic city. We try to promote a relaxed atmosphere in the Riad and we are glad that you felt at home. Hopefully we will see you back at Riad Al-Bushra in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al-Bushra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al-Bushra

Address: 14 Derb Snan | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO world heritage Medina of Marrakech and less than 5 minutes from the main square Riad Al Bushra is English owned and offers excellent accommodation, a high standard and friendly service at a reasonable price. We believe we offer the very best value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Al-Bushra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al-Bushra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.