We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing way to start 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al-Bushra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Al-Bushra to your Saves list
Riad Al-Bushra
14 Derb Snan | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing way to start 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This Riad has been beautifully restored and offers a tranquil base from which to explore the amazing Unesco World Heritage Site of Marrakech old town, and a retreat to return to after a days exploration. When the senses need a rest, the roof terrace of Riad Al Bushra is the ideal location to watch the sun set. The Riad offers amazing cooked breakfasts and a traditional Morrocan Feast can be arranged by appointment, which I thoroughly recommend: the most amazing food. Our hosts were available to meet any need and to offer guidance and arranged a trip to the coastal town of Essouira for us, which offered further insight into Morrocan life.
Small private pockets are available throughout the Riad, where you can read, catch up with e-mails or just relax, without feeling you have to limit yourself to your room. However should you choose to relax in your room these are the height of comfort too. We will certainly return to Riad Al Bushra again and recommend anyone heading to Marrakech check it out too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to provide a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Riad and found it comfortable. We have found that everyone who goes to Essaouira enjoys the experience and based on your feedback we now recommend this easy day trip to our guests. Once again, thank you for choosing us and taking the time to provide feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were wowed by the sumptuous surroundings and attention to detail of the recent restoration of Riad al Bushra by its English owners. Daily cooked breakfast was a real treat along with a varied selection of local breads and pastries and gallons of freshly brewed coffee.

Our hosts were on hand to provide local information and helped us book a trip to the seaside town of Essaouira which is well worth the day out of Marrakech. We also took advantage of the opportunity to have a home cooked Moroccan meal prepared for us by a member of the Riad staff which was a wonderful experience.

Our thanks to the Riad al Bushra team for making our first impression of Morocco such a favourable one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank your for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and agree that Essaouira is a great place to visit. We will continue to recommend this to our guests. Thank you.

Our cook also thanks you for your comments and appreciates the positive feedback. The meal (feast) takes a whole day to prepare and we are all extremely pleased it proves to be worthwhile. Thank you.

Thank you for your visit. We enjoyed hosting you and your friends and hopefully we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Marrakech was for 7 nights over the 2013 New Year and staying in Riad Al Bushra was definitely the right choice.

Firstly the location is superb - minutes from the big square and the Lakspur Gate and we were able to explore the old city on foot.
The riad has been beautifully restored and the attention to detail in the classic Moroccan decorative paintwork and plasterwork is breathtaking. Each room is distinctive, luxurious and comfortable and the en suites combine modern efficiency with classic Moroccan colours and furnishings.

Our hosts prepared marvellous breakfasts of freshly prepared fruit juices, fruit salad, a cooked course which varied daily (highlights included an egg tagine), baskets of pastries and cafetieres of good coffee. We enjoyed these in leisure on the glorious roof terrace, which also has a shaded area with traditional sofas, where I enjoyed birdsong and peace as I read in the afternoons after returning from sightseeing.

A massage was booked in house from a Moroccan and a trip to the fishing port and seaside town of Essouira was also arranged for us so we were able to relax and didn't have to negotiate these for ourselves.

Our visit began and ended with the attention to detail which was the hallmark of our stay, being transported between the airport and riad efficiently and with a warm welcome and farewell.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that our Riad met your expectations and that you enjoyed Morocco. It was a pleasure hosting you and your friends. We appreciated the late breakfasts, it gave us a later start, but more importantly it enabled us to serve you on the roof terrace which makes all the difference. We are delighted you enjoyed the breakfast egg tagine and the fresh pastries.

We passed your comments onto our masseur and she is delighted that you enjoyed the experience. Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having stayed in Marrakech several times before, we had high hopes of another delightful break in the sunshine, but the Riad Al-Bushra exceeded all our expectations and proved our most delightful experience yet of this uniquely-Moroccan holiday time. After an exciting, though hot and dustry, day enjoying the delights of tMarrakech, it is hard to describe the sense of peace and relaxation that hits you as you get 'home' to the beauty of the Al-Bushra. The English owners of the hotel, Steve and Gary, have created a haven of tranquillity in the heart of the bustle of the Medina in this ancient City. Not only are the rooms sumptous, tasteful and luxurious, but the roof terrace provides the perfect sun trap for topping up tans with some late winter sunshine, and the hospitality and friendliness of the hotel makes you feel more like an honoured house guest than a paying visitor. Bets of all was Steve and Gary's willingness to share their intimate knowledge of the wider city. Their restaurant suggestions proved invaluable and gave us some of the best meals we have ever enjoyed here - matched only by the Al-Buhra's own exotic evening feast that they provided for us on our first night in the riad. Good food, spotlessly clean and beautiful surroundings, and welcoming English hosts. What's not to like? Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room and could not have been happier, but other rooms we saw looked equally de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we compare favourably with the other trips you have made to Marrakech. We notice you found the Riad peaceful and relaxing. We chose this area of the Medina as it does offer a more relaxed feel within a busy city and we are glad this was a success for you. Thank you for chosing Riad Al-Bushra. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My first visit to Marrakech and a English hosted Riad. I was stunned by the fabulous decoration in 'blue room' we stayed in at the Raid and the courtyard, salon and balcony seating areas too. I emailed them on a few occasions before my visit and they arranged the transfers to and from the airport, baggage delivery & collection (there are no cars to the front door which was down a 'film set street'). The scrumptious breakfast was eaten on the Riad roof, which was no trouble for them to serve and at a time that suited too! They also arranged and sorted out a balloon flight trip for me & partner prior to our arrival. We also took up the offer of a traditional meal at an extra (bargain) cost one of the nights - which could have fed plenty more, an absolute treat!
I would highly recommend this Riad, with the owners finding nothing too impossible to sort out for you and generous with their knowledge and time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a real pleasure to be able to host you and your partner and we are pleased you enjoyed the Riad and also Marrakech. The photos from your balloon trip were great and we will certainly be recommending it to future guests. Fatiha was also thrilled that you enjoyed her meal. Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Do you want a fantastic holiday in the heart of exotic Marrakech? Go to the newly opened Riad Al-Bushra.
As you step into Al Bushra you are greeted by a beautiful and sympathetically restored riad and delightful hosts.
Each room in the riad is decorated in traditional style with carved ceilings, sumptuous fabrics and colourful paintwork and tiles. Luxuries include fine bedding, fluffy dressing gowns and classy toiletries. There is a small plunge pool for cooling off during the summer days and a fabulous roof terrace for that early evening drink, with views of the Altas mountains visible across the roof tops.
Breakfast includes local breads, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, tea and even a Moroccan fry-up!! The riad is very close to all the sights and an easy walk to the main square. Your hosts are happy to organise trips and excursions and for the first timer, the guided souk tour was a must.
I love Marrakech and would definitely return to the Al Bushra - it was fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and the kind words expressed. The cooked breakfast , Moroccan style, was a "first" for us and we are delighted that you enjoyed it. We are glad you enjoyed your whole stay and look forward to seeing you again at Riad Al-Bushra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We came as part of a group of 10 for the weekend and could not ask for anything more. What a beautiful riad, with each room decorated in different vibrant lively colours,in-keeping with Marrakech. The service was excellent and the owners could not do enough for us during our stay. We had a fabulous Moroccan dinner the night we arrived and breakfast on the roof terrace during our stay. The room rates are very reasonable in comparison with some other riads nearby. I would highly recommend coming to spend some time in this lovely riad - you will come away feeling very refreshed and relaxed. The owners went out of their way to make our stay a very memorable occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLennox, Owner at Riad Al-Bushra, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and the facilities in the Riad. Hopefully we have got it about right. We value all our feedback, thank you. Hopefully we will see you back at Riad Al-Bushra soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al-Bushra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al-Bushra

Address: 14 Derb Snan | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO world heritage Medina of Marrakech and less than 5 minutes from the main square Riad Al Bushra is English owned and offers excellent accommodation, a high standard and friendly service at a reasonable price. We believe we offer the very best value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Al-Bushra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al-Bushra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.