We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and excellent hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Youssoufi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Youssoufi to your Saves list
Riad El Youssoufi
188 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukkala | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #60 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and excellent hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Riad towards the end of our two week trip across Morocco. We drove in from the desert, and had crossed the High Atlas following a freak snowstorm--the roads were barely cleared, so it was one lane in many spots and traffic had to take turns. We arrived much later than expected and just wiped out. Julien, the owner, gave driving directions to a very nice guy trying to help us, who we followed in our car from one of the medina gates to a different one Julien was waiting for us and walked us to the Riad. Then, he took us to a great African restaurant for dinner. Everyone we met in Morocco was really friendly and helpful--but this was really over and above!

Julien also gave good advice and directions to highlight different parts of the city and the medina.

The Riad is beautiful; it is refurbished and has a really great balance of old, original features and modern design elements. We were there during a freak cold spell, but it was still pleasant to sit on the roof terrace with a blanket. I imagine in warmer weather it is even better.

Breakfast was also a good balance of traditional breads, homemade yogurt (the best we had) and French crepes and French pastries.

There are signs posted for some of the neighboring Riads, and there are some other landmarks like the Henna Cafe and a small Mosque, so finding your way back to El Youssoufi isn't hard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
86
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We loved everything about our stay in Riad El Youssoufi. Julien and the staff are kind and helpfull people. The rooms are cosy and romantic. The whole place has an amazing atmosphere and it couldn't be located better. The breakfast is also very good. We hope to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I can not say it's just wonderful. Julien and his team are fantastic and I feel really good in this riad. What I really like was that this Riad is not so dark, but bright and cheerful with fresh flowers. The roof terrace is a small paradise and the rooms were very great. Especially the rooms upstairs in the middle of the glass door. The breakfast was perfect and you have a really good holiday feeling. I have made ​​the right decision. There are about 5 minutes walk to Riyadh but that's no problem. I'm sad that we only had one day there. If I get sometime back to Marrakech I will Riad again besuchen.Danke Julien for the hospitality, I am the way, the Thai with the aunt;-)

Room Tip: I can not say it's just wonderful. Julien and his team are fantastic and I feel really good in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

El Youssefi is a beautifully restored riad with trees two stories high.

Julien is a warm and wonderful host and answered our million questions.

We stayed in the first floor room. It was clean and offered comfort for our stay in Marrakech.

Breakfast was great with lots of fruit and home made crepes and bread.

We can't wait to come back!!

The location is perfect once we familiarized ourselves with where we were-not right in the crazy middle but a pleasant walk to the souks.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Julien and his team were very welcoming and did everything they could to answer our questions and wishes. The Riad is well located and very peaceful. However, be aware that the Nacre bedroom, on the ground floor, is smaller than expected and can be a bit noisy, as it's right next to the breakfast room, but all you need is quiet guests and you'll be fine. The swimming pool is actually a small basin but really refreshing after walking all day long under the heat of Marrakech! We haven't tried to have dinner there but it's a good reason for us to go back. We really enjoyed our stay in Marrakech and recommend Riad El Youssoufi to anyone who would like to visit this beautiful city!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs (all except for Nacre) may be less noisy and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This completely renovated original Marrakesh home is a wonderful place to get a full Morrocan experience. It's location on the edge of the Medina, the crowded old city, satisfied my desire to wander in the narrow allyways of this famous area, with little chance of actually getting lost. Once within the heavy studded door the sounds and bustle of the city fell away, replaced by quiet light jazz and the splash of a fountain. The courtyard, open to the sky, lets in light and air, while the thick stone walls hold out the noise and heat. The interior is beautifully and tastefully decorated in an authentic Morrocan fashion, simple and elegant.

Julien, proprietor of the house, is the consummate host. He always welcomed us in his perfect English when we entered, asking about our day, constantly ready with advice and suggestions for places to go and things to see. Relaxed and informal, he was concerned with our wealfare and worked to make our stay satisfying.

I find it hard to imagine another lodging that could have been anywhere near as satisying.

(Note there is no fitness center or spa, but the review form does not allow "not applicable".)

Room Tip: Each room is unique, and they all open onto the central courtyard. Stairs are narrow and steep, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Echoing previous comments Riad El Youssouffi is in the ideal location (depending on your purpose of visiting Marrakech). It is firmly within the heart of Medina for those looking to absorb the true Marrakech, yet is not directly by the rather intense and tiring souks. As with the vast majority of Riads, the immediate surroundings may appear slightly daunting to the first time visitor; however, El Youssouffi is located in a safe and friendly partly of town.

The Riad itself is a centre of calm amongst the frenetic chaos of the city. Rooms are simply decorated, but with real character and charm. Most importantly everything is kept clean, the beds are comfy and the rooms are almost silent at night.

Thank you Julian and your team for your hospitality and advice; an enjoyable and eye opening experience was had. If I may make a suggestion; why not stock up on more of a variety of good quality (and reasonably priced) wine for your future guests to enjoy. Your roof top terrace is the ideal place to glug it, and you don’t have much competition!

Thanks Again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#34 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#19 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Tayib
Riad Dar Tayib
#91 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chafia
Riad Chafia
#37 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Youssoufi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Youssoufi

Address: 188 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukkala | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad el YoussoufiIn one of the most beautiful districts of the historic Medina district Bab Doukkala Riad el Youssoufi stands in a peaceful and magic surrounding near the prestigious Palais du Pacha-Dar el Glaoui. It njoys an ideal location, easily accessible by car. 5 minutes from Jemaa el Fna, and the souks, our riad is a perfect point of departure for visiting the Medina or walking in the town.Superbly restored with full respect Morrocan tradition using zelliges and tadelakt. Crossing a luxuriant patio, with banana and orange trees a superb jasmine and a pool with a fountain, you come to the spacious open lounge-dining-room: lunches and dinners are served and in winter, breakfast.The comfortable lounge which opens into the patio and the pool will be lovely and relaxing places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Riad El Youssoufi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Youssoufi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.