We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing riad in the heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Youssoufi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad El Youssoufi to your Saves list
Riad El Youssoufi
188 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukkala | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #81 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Amazing riad in the heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We loved everything about our stay in Riad El Youssoufi. Julien and the staff are kind and helpfull people. The rooms are cosy and romantic. The whole place has an amazing atmosphere and it couldn't be located better. The breakfast is also very good. We hope to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
68
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hanau
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I can not say it's just wonderful. Julien and his team are fantastic and I feel really good in this riad. What I really like was that this Riad is not so dark, but bright and cheerful with fresh flowers. The roof terrace is a small paradise and the rooms were very great. Especially the rooms upstairs in the middle of the glass door. The breakfast was perfect and you have a really good holiday feeling. I have made ​​the right decision. There are about 5 minutes walk to Riyadh but that's no problem. I'm sad that we only had one day there. If I get sometime back to Marrakech I will Riad again besuchen.Danke Julien for the hospitality, I am the way, the Thai with the aunt;-)

Room Tip: I can not say it's just wonderful. Julien and his team are fantastic and I feel really good in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

El Youssefi is a beautifully restored riad with trees two stories high.

Julien is a warm and wonderful host and answered our million questions.

We stayed in the first floor room. It was clean and offered comfort for our stay in Marrakech.

Breakfast was great with lots of fruit and home made crepes and bread.

We can't wait to come back!!

The location is perfect once we familiarized ourselves with where we were-not right in the crazy middle but a pleasant walk to the souks.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Julien and his team were very welcoming and did everything they could to answer our questions and wishes. The Riad is well located and very peaceful. However, be aware that the Nacre bedroom, on the ground floor, is smaller than expected and can be a bit noisy, as it's right next to the breakfast room, but all you need is quiet guests and you'll be fine. The swimming pool is actually a small basin but really refreshing after walking all day long under the heat of Marrakech! We haven't tried to have dinner there but it's a good reason for us to go back. We really enjoyed our stay in Marrakech and recommend Riad El Youssoufi to anyone who would like to visit this beautiful city!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs (all except for Nacre) may be less noisy and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This completely renovated original Marrakesh home is a wonderful place to get a full Morrocan experience. It's location on the edge of the Medina, the crowded old city, satisfied my desire to wander in the narrow allyways of this famous area, with little chance of actually getting lost. Once within the heavy studded door the sounds and bustle of the city fell away, replaced by quiet light jazz and the splash of a fountain. The courtyard, open to the sky, lets in light and air, while the thick stone walls hold out the noise and heat. The interior is beautifully and tastefully decorated in an authentic Morrocan fashion, simple and elegant.

Julien, proprietor of the house, is the consummate host. He always welcomed us in his perfect English when we entered, asking about our day, constantly ready with advice and suggestions for places to go and things to see. Relaxed and informal, he was concerned with our wealfare and worked to make our stay satisfying.

I find it hard to imagine another lodging that could have been anywhere near as satisying.

(Note there is no fitness center or spa, but the review form does not allow "not applicable".)

Room Tip: Each room is unique, and they all open onto the central courtyard. Stairs are narrow and steep, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Echoing previous comments Riad El Youssouffi is in the ideal location (depending on your purpose of visiting Marrakech). It is firmly within the heart of Medina for those looking to absorb the true Marrakech, yet is not directly by the rather intense and tiring souks. As with the vast majority of Riads, the immediate surroundings may appear slightly daunting to the first time visitor; however, El Youssouffi is located in a safe and friendly partly of town.

The Riad itself is a centre of calm amongst the frenetic chaos of the city. Rooms are simply decorated, but with real character and charm. Most importantly everything is kept clean, the beds are comfy and the rooms are almost silent at night.

Thank you Julian and your team for your hospitality and advice; an enjoyable and eye opening experience was had. If I may make a suggestion; why not stock up on more of a variety of good quality (and reasonably priced) wine for your future guests to enjoy. Your roof top terrace is the ideal place to glug it, and you don’t have much competition!

Thanks Again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Riad is located in a perfect location, walk distance from every point of interest. Also, it is really clean and comfortable. After 3 days, I cannot make any bad comment about this place. Julien and the rest of the staff were very kind. The breakfast was delicious. Definitly, I would recommend this place if you want to stay in Marrakech alone, with your couple or family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Youssoufi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Youssoufi

Address: 188 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukkala | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad el YoussoufiIn one of the most beautiful districts of the historic Medina district Bab Doukkala Riad el Youssoufi stands in a peaceful and magic surrounding near the prestigious Palais du Pacha-Dar el Glaoui. It njoys an ideal location, easily accessible by car. 5 minutes from Jemaa el Fna, and the souks, our riad is a perfect point of departure for visiting the Medina or walking in the town.Superbly restored with full respect Morrocan tradition using zelliges and tadelakt. Crossing a luxuriant patio, with banana and orange trees a superb jasmine and a pool with a fountain, you come to the spacious open lounge-dining-room: lunches and dinners are served and in winter, breakfast.The comfortable lounge which opens into the patio and the pool will be lovely and relaxing places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Youssoufi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Youssoufi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.