We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Youssoufi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Youssoufi to your Saves list
Riad El Youssoufi
188 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukkala | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #60 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Julien and his team were very welcoming and did everything they could to answer our questions and wishes. The Riad is well located and very peaceful. However, be aware that the Nacre bedroom, on the ground floor, is smaller than expected and can be a bit noisy, as it's right next to the breakfast room, but all you need is quiet guests and you'll be fine. The swimming pool is actually a small basin but really refreshing after walking all day long under the heat of Marrakech! We haven't tried to have dinner there but it's a good reason for us to go back. We really enjoyed our stay in Marrakech and recommend Riad El Youssoufi to anyone who would like to visit this beautiful city!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs (all except for Nacre) may be less noisy and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
87
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This completely renovated original Marrakesh home is a wonderful place to get a full Morrocan experience. It's location on the edge of the Medina, the crowded old city, satisfied my desire to wander in the narrow allyways of this famous area, with little chance of actually getting lost. Once within the heavy studded door the sounds and bustle of the city fell away, replaced by quiet light jazz and the splash of a fountain. The courtyard, open to the sky, lets in light and air, while the thick stone walls hold out the noise and heat. The interior is beautifully and tastefully decorated in an authentic Morrocan fashion, simple and elegant.

Julien, proprietor of the house, is the consummate host. He always welcomed us in his perfect English when we entered, asking about our day, constantly ready with advice and suggestions for places to go and things to see. Relaxed and informal, he was concerned with our wealfare and worked to make our stay satisfying.

I find it hard to imagine another lodging that could have been anywhere near as satisying.

(Note there is no fitness center or spa, but the review form does not allow "not applicable".)

Room Tip: Each room is unique, and they all open onto the central courtyard. Stairs are narrow and steep, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Echoing previous comments Riad El Youssouffi is in the ideal location (depending on your purpose of visiting Marrakech). It is firmly within the heart of Medina for those looking to absorb the true Marrakech, yet is not directly by the rather intense and tiring souks. As with the vast majority of Riads, the immediate surroundings may appear slightly daunting to the first time visitor; however, El Youssouffi is located in a safe and friendly partly of town.

The Riad itself is a centre of calm amongst the frenetic chaos of the city. Rooms are simply decorated, but with real character and charm. Most importantly everything is kept clean, the beds are comfy and the rooms are almost silent at night.

Thank you Julian and your team for your hospitality and advice; an enjoyable and eye opening experience was had. If I may make a suggestion; why not stock up on more of a variety of good quality (and reasonably priced) wine for your future guests to enjoy. Your roof top terrace is the ideal place to glug it, and you don’t have much competition!

Thanks Again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Riad is located in a perfect location, walk distance from every point of interest. Also, it is really clean and comfortable. After 3 days, I cannot make any bad comment about this place. Julien and the rest of the staff were very kind. The breakfast was delicious. Definitly, I would recommend this place if you want to stay in Marrakech alone, with your couple or family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights. Julian the owner was very attentive and nice. The first night he called heritage spa and made a reservation for me. The hammam was just around the corner and turned out to be a real treat. The riad is some 15 min. Walk from the squre but situated in a safe quiet area. Julian was always ready to chat, which was nice for i was travelling alone. The only small minus is that breakfast starts at 8.30. I would have liked to wake up early and start exploring. Breakfast itself was lovely, though. When I went to the desert tour, pick up was at 8.30, so they left some bread and fruit for me. Paying by credit card was no problem. thank you for Julian and i hope i can come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was an excellent opportunity to stay at a riad in Marrakech's Medina. Like most similar places, it's not easy to find and doesn't look promising from the outside, but it offers quiet and extremely comfortable place to relax and have a good sleep. Unlike the usually faceless chain hotels and budget hotels, the riad had a lot of character and the helpful staff will make sure you have an enjoyable stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: The single room I stayed in was on the ground floor and may lack the privacy of the rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Riad has been restored and maintains it's authenticity, really beautiful, great roof space for sitting on comfortable sofa's and having an end of day glass of wine, before settig off for dinner at Jeema El Fna.

Julien the manager, goes out of his way to ensure that you are welcomed to the Riad, and that have enough information to ensure you make the most of your visit to Marrakesh.

Each of of the 5 double rooms are individual, spacious and
comfortable.

The Riad is a 15 minute walk to Jeema EL Fna (the main square) where you can enjoy the vibrant atmosphere of this city.

We had a lovely visit to the Jardin Majorelle, the beautiful gardens frequented by the late Yves St Lorraint.

Room Tip: You certainly know that you are not in Europe when the 'call to prayer' is broadcast on loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#34 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#19 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Tayib
Riad Dar Tayib
#91 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chafia
Riad Chafia
#38 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Youssoufi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Youssoufi

Address: 188 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukkala | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad el YoussoufiIn one of the most beautiful districts of the historic Medina district Bab Doukkala Riad el Youssoufi stands in a peaceful and magic surrounding near the prestigious Palais du Pacha-Dar el Glaoui. It njoys an ideal location, easily accessible by car. 5 minutes from Jemaa el Fna, and the souks, our riad is a perfect point of departure for visiting the Medina or walking in the town.Superbly restored with full respect Morrocan tradition using zelliges and tadelakt. Crossing a luxuriant patio, with banana and orange trees a superb jasmine and a pool with a fountain, you come to the spacious open lounge-dining-room: lunches and dinners are served and in winter, breakfast.The comfortable lounge which opens into the patio and the pool will be lovely and relaxing places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Riad El Youssoufi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Youssoufi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.