We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for relaxing in the sunshine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Taj Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for relaxing in the sunshine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We needed a sunshine break, not too long a flight and picked the perfect place!. The staff could not have done more, even lit a log fire in our suite (we were upgraded!) every evening when the sun went down. Nothing was too much trouble. They have a great Hammam on site, even more spoiling! Trips could be arranged easily but we just wanted to chill out. We made the right choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Mrs. Dorothy,

Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent visit to Taj Palace Marrakech.

We are glad to hear that you found the hotel peaceful and that you enjoyed the suite upgrade, hammams and service.

We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing break in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    28
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
82
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Top class service with very friendly and helpful staff who weren't pretentious. You will be in awe of the amazing hotel..don't want to give it all away but all was perfect. Breakfasts also good and plentiful. Angela was very helpful and helped arrange our transfer from the Medina to the hotel when we arrived.

The only tiny negatives were that the hotel is 25mins by car from the Medina. The hotel shuttles stop at 5pm, and so it would be great if the hotel would add 1 or 2 evening shuttles for guests wanting to go into town. Also, we used the spa which was great, but staff don't speak much English, and so more info about the treatments in the leaflet would have been helpful.

Don't hesitate to book! It is a touch pricey but well worth it..we also managed to get a good Valentines day deal, so worth looking out for such offers..

Room Tip: Palace room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Taj Palace Marrakech on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, especially the service from our friendly team, who I am proud to say are our greatest asset.

Thank you for your comments about our Spa and shuttle services. We are currently investigating extending our shuttle timings (particularly for the summer months), so stay tuned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having spent three hectic days in the Medina, my wife I spent three nights at the Taj Palace at the start of February with the aim of relaxing and enjoying some other excursions on offer.

To begin with, the property is very quiet; often it felt as if we were the only guests in the whole place! Personally we preferred this, but those looking for more noise and life may prefer another location. Having said that, for the majority of our stay we were looked after wonderfully, from the moment we arrived right through to the time we had to leave. Special mention must go the wonderful lady that checked us in and gave is a tour of the property, the absolutely fantastic concierge (apologies for not remembering the names as I type this) as well as the friendly Front Desk Manager Dilprit.

We stayed in a room in the main palace, overlooking the palace gardens and with the Atlas Mountains in the distance! The room was beautifully decorated and a lovely terrace to enjoy the sunshine during the day. It did get quite cold in the evenings (expected at that time of year) and thus we did need to ask for a heater to heat the room as the internal system wasn't great.

Having said that, there are a few things to be aware of. This property has only been open for a year and at times it does feel as if they are still learning how best to proceed. Dining is currently limited (2 restaurants for dinner, both at which we ate but if we had stayed any longer would have been repetitive) and the spa, which we used both for massages and a hammam, is adequate yet still lacking a full array of options. Also, please be aware that communication can be a little difficult at times if one doesn't speak Arabic of French (nothing wrong with that in general of course, it's just that if looking to attract a more international clientele, the level of English spoken might be improved a tad.

The one complaint is that, during our second evening there, the property was hosting a LHW dinner. Whilst there is nothing wrong with this, as paying guests we were extremely disappointed at the lack of attention paid to us (nobody around when looking to eat in the evening, wrong items brought to our room and, having asked for the correct item for the second time, nobody bothering to come at all). This was when the hotel was empty so I dread to think what it would be like should occupancy be greater. That evening we very much felt like an inconvenience rather than actual paying guests, which is not what one would expect from the Taj Group. I have stayed at their other fantastic palaces in Jaipur and Udaipur and I feel this property still has a way to go before it can reach those levels.

Room Tip: Fantastic property but still some issues which need to be ironed out. Not comparable to other Taj Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest reflection about your recent stay with us at Taj Palace Marrakech.

It is true... our Taj properties in India do set very high benchmarks... ones that we constantly endeavour to meet and exceed. Your valuable comments assist us in achieving this goal as we continuously strive to grow and improve in order to remain a competitive leader in the market.

I will be sure to pass along your words of appreciation to Dilpreet and all the Front Office and Concierge team. Please do not hesitate to contact me at angela.mcguire@tajhotels.com if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail.

We do hope to serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

From the moment we arrived I loved the personal attention. Secured entrance, valet parking, rose petals were thrown at you, check inn comfortably in the lounge sipping a mint tea. Room was shown (very nice indeed) although slight odour in the bathroom. Before making any comment our mayordome allready checked and prepared an other room "where we could be more at ease" as he noticed a slight dissapointment on our faces...(really??) We were delighted. As it was valentines day, half a bottle of Laurent Perrier was served with chocolate. We had a hammam experience in the HUGE hammam that was very warm. Dinner was very nice, Breakfast in the room was delicious. Check out was easy and "maccarons" were given to us. Even a minor thing as have been charged for a couple of glasses of champagne (that we didn't take) was rectified very gently and professionally. Valet parking and bye bye back to real life. Even half a hour later we were still in a dream...
We experienced a very professional and attentive and smiling staff paying attention to every little detail. We hope they can keep things that way.
For those who compare the Taj in Morocco with those in India. Be aware and conscient that getting professional and efficient staff is very very difficult in Morocco and almost every hotel or restaurant (even the good ones) have to deal with lack of attention or "savoir faire".

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you review about your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled that your Valentines Day was memorable, and that you found Taj Palace Marrakech to be the ideal place to celebrate!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A stunning hotel! The decor and layout is truly breathtaking. Amazing indian food in the restaurant.. Only a few minor moans, as with most hotels of this standard, the drinks where extremely expensive as was the mini bar and the noise from the rooms above could give riverdance a run for it's money at times. Overall a must visit place!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us at Taj Palace Marrakech.

We are glad you liked the design of the property and the Indian cuisine. Thank you also for expressing your constructive criticism, as this helps us to improve our services in order to better meet our guests expectations.

We do hope to welcome you back to Taj Palace Marrakech in the future.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I spent 5 nights at the Taj Palce with my partner and we celebrated her Birthday whilst there. All in all we had an absolutely fantastic experience at this wonderful hotel and would highly recommend it to anyobe else. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel genuinely welcomed by all of the staff and were greeted with Mint Tea, a Tour of the Hotel and an upgrade to a fabuously spacious and gorgeous Atlas Suite.

We ate in the Indian Mantra Restaurant the first night and the food was delicious, the service was amazing and we really enjoyed this experience. This set the tone for all of the meals which we had whilst staying at the Taj.

Breakfasts were a truely wonderful experience where we were guided to our seats by Mazem and his team and continually topped up with coffee, fresh orange juice fresh knives, forks and napkins. The Morroccan breakfast was highly recommended by Mazem and lived up to its expectations.

The entire Hotel is immaculately clean and sells absolutely gorgeous. Fresh flowers are in abundance throughout the corridors, rooms and reception areas and the actual builing has a really fragrant smell about it.

The pool area is amazing, the sun loungers smart, comfortable and come provided with fresh towels. The pool bar staff serve you with water as soon as you arrive at the pool and are always on hand to bring you coffee or fresh fruit cocktails.

The indoor pool in the spa is free to use and is like swimming in a large warm bath. Once again the loungers, robes and towels are provided and the staff serve you with mint tea upon arrival.

The suite we were upgraded to was spacious, well decorated, extremely clean and had a coffee machine provided which is topped up each day free of charge. The suite had 2 large flat screen televisions with a wide array of channels to choose from and a large log fire which the staff will light for you every eveing if you ask them to.

The bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom and balcony area once again were huge, comfortable and spotlessly clean.

On 1 particular night when it was my Partners Birthday we returned to find the following. The log fire lit, candles lit all around the room, swans made out of towels, rose petals scattered around the bath and bed. They also provided a birthday cake which was and all in all the staff had made a really big effort.

The Taj is located a bit outside Marrakech itself but a free shuttle mini bus takes you into Marrakech itself 3 or 4 times a day. The last time is 1700 and you'll have to get a taxi back which will generally cost you 200 dirham which is roughly about £15.

All in all we had an amazing time at the Taj Palace. We were absolutley spoiled by the staff from Angela McGuire the Guest Relations Manager through to Hassan the Receptionist and Mazem who ran the breakfast and Pool areas. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all of them were extremely polite, helpful and courteous.

I'd highly recommend staying at the Taj Palace. Its definitely an amazing place to look at at and stay in. The smiles and courtesy of the staff really adds to your experience and you'll always remember stsying there.

Room Tip: Atlas view rooms have an amazing view over the pool are and of the Atlas Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Paul,

Thank for your glowing feedback of your recent visit to Taj Palace Marrakech!

We are delighted that your special occasion was memorable, and I will be sure to pass along your lovely comments to the teams.

We hope to welcome you back for many years to come!

Best regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

As we arrived at the Taj Palace I couldn't stop saying "Wow". I am very well travelled but rarely does a hotel have this kind of impact right from the start.

We were upgraded to two Riadh suites which were enormous and abosolutely beautiful. Two points that could be improved - the extreme lack of lighting in the separate toilet made it hard to see anything. It was ridiculous. The toilets in the main building and the spa were just as bad. Black walls and poor lighting are not a good combination. The other point which nearly drove me to distraction was that the room above must have had wooden floors like ours. Very early every morning a child started playing, running and dropping things on the floor. At some point furniture also got moved and we could hear it all just above our heads! It woke me up every day apart from the last when I assume that the family above must have already left. I like a lie in when I am on holiday but I didn't get one.

The outdoor pool was magnificent and unheated. My crazy teenagers decided that they had to swim to the centre and back. Both came out with blue fingers and toes, though they claimed to have enjoyed the experience. Only one other crazy person ventured in to the pool over the five days that we were there. There is no pool scene. There were never more than 10 people around the pool. I assume that most people spend their days out touring, but we were there for a complete rest and enjoyed the wonderful peace and quiet. The indoor pool on the other hand was as warm as a bath and when the sun went in we all popped in there for a swim. The spa was in the same building and my husband and I both booked a massage which unfortunately impressed neither of us which was a shame as I was planning to have a massage every day.

The service in the restaurant at lunch time was beyond slow but amazingly on the last day when we told them that we were in a hurry to leave for the airport the service was incredibly fast. They can do it if they want to!

The staff were all very sweet and helpful though it would have been nice if they had contacted us after finding my son's wallet rather than waiting for him to find out that he had left it behind and call them. They initially quoted him a huge amount to have the wallet DHL'd home but luckily one of the staff was visiting a nearby city where we knew someone who could return the wallet to us and they were happy to drop it off there.

Location wise, if you want to spend lots of time in the Medina then you may be a little far out in this hotel, though they do provide a shuttle bus. We preferred a cab and the 20 minute journey into town didn't bother us.

Would I come back here again? It seems to be one of the most attractive luxury hotels from checking out the photos of the comparable hotels but if I come without kids I will probably opt for a Riadh in the centre of town. This place is a perfect escape from the city as long as you don't have anyone walking with shoes on in the room above when you are trying to sleep!

Room Tip: We had two suites in the Riadhs but I also visited a normal room and the biggest suite in the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mrs. Ilana,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Taj Palace Marrakech. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Taj Palace Marrakech, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mentioned and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Marrakech

Address: Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Taj Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Taj Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Jiva Grande Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens.Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean, Indian and Pan-Asian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the legendary Taj service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Jiva Grande Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The Jiva Grande Spa is a concept which brings together the wisdom and heritage of the Indian philosophy and wellness. The spa experience includes Indian therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, Ayurveda, yoga and meditation. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Taj Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.