We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful But Slow Service Needs Attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Taj Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Beautiful But Slow Service Needs Attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

As we arrived at the Taj Palace I couldn't stop saying "Wow". I am very well travelled but rarely does a hotel have this kind of impact right from the start.

We were upgraded to two Riadh suites which were enormous and abosolutely beautiful. Two points that could be improved - the extreme lack of lighting in the separate toilet made it hard to see anything. It was ridiculous. The toilets in the main building and the spa were just as bad. Black walls and poor lighting are not a good combination. The other point which nearly drove me to distraction was that the room above must have had wooden floors like ours. Very early every morning a child started playing, running and dropping things on the floor. At some point furniture also got moved and we could hear it all just above our heads! It woke me up every day apart from the last when I assume that the family above must have already left. I like a lie in when I am on holiday but I didn't get one.

The outdoor pool was magnificent and unheated. My crazy teenagers decided that they had to swim to the centre and back. Both came out with blue fingers and toes, though they claimed to have enjoyed the experience. Only one other crazy person ventured in to the pool over the five days that we were there. There is no pool scene. There were never more than 10 people around the pool. I assume that most people spend their days out touring, but we were there for a complete rest and enjoyed the wonderful peace and quiet. The indoor pool on the other hand was as warm as a bath and when the sun went in we all popped in there for a swim. The spa was in the same building and my husband and I both booked a massage which unfortunately impressed neither of us which was a shame as I was planning to have a massage every day.

The service in the restaurant at lunch time was beyond slow but amazingly on the last day when we told them that we were in a hurry to leave for the airport the service was incredibly fast. They can do it if they want to!

The staff were all very sweet and helpful though it would have been nice if they had contacted us after finding my son's wallet rather than waiting for him to find out that he had left it behind and call them. They initially quoted him a huge amount to have the wallet DHL'd home but luckily one of the staff was visiting a nearby city where we knew someone who could return the wallet to us and they were happy to drop it off there.

Location wise, if you want to spend lots of time in the Medina then you may be a little far out in this hotel, though they do provide a shuttle bus. We preferred a cab and the 20 minute journey into town didn't bother us.

Would I come back here again? It seems to be one of the most attractive luxury hotels from checking out the photos of the comparable hotels but if I come without kids I will probably opt for a Riadh in the centre of town. This place is a perfect escape from the city as long as you don't have anyone walking with shoes on in the room above when you are trying to sleep!

Room Tip: We had two suites in the Riadhs but I also visited a normal room and the biggest suite in the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mrs. Ilana,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Taj Palace Marrakech. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Taj Palace Marrakech, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mentioned and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    25
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
35
71
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've just come back from 8 days Trips to Marrakech (first time). Every thing went verry well. We picked from the airport & were really impressed with entry to the hotel. Were welcomed by iced tea in the hotel's magnificent beautiful lounge. I usually don't drink tea but this one I acceppted it away. Escorted to our room and WOW........beautifully decorated large room, walkin dressing room with big bathroom one side & seperate shower room the other side. All praise for the room. Coffee machine & a kettle for tea,
black coffee but my husband had to drink black tea. Iwe did'nt bother with milk for our rest of the stay. Indian restaurant at the hotel, food wz really tastey but not much choice. Swimming pool wz large but not open as cleaning in process. Managed to get time to pay a visit to the spa & it wz lovely. All in all ENJOYED THE STAY AT THE TAJ PALACE MARRAKECH. only down side wz, away from the city. finnally all was great and lovely. thank you very much Trek in Atlas .co.uk for your help and great service bokking you gaved us.we really want to com back and sty for longer time up oin the atlas mountains as we had spand enaugh time this holiday in Marrakech and we well never forget about it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Ms. Catherine,

Warm greetings from Taj Palace Marrakech, and thank you for sharing your lovely comments about your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the room and your visit to Morocco, and do hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Angela Mcguire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here during the new year holidays. The hotel is beautifully designed by Stuart Church and all aspects of it are in elegant proportion to each other. It is opulent and grand without being vulgar. I hope it is well maintained to have the desired impact.

We had some room and service issues but management was determined to ensure we did not remain dissatisfied. The management effort was genuine and sincere which was refreshing.

I have to mention a couple of people that were very helpful over and above what was expected. I hope their attitude serves as an example to rest. These were Adil at concierge, and Mezan at the restaurants.
I would also definitely recommend the Hammam experience here. The staff were skilful and helpful.

One thing, which I hope something can be done about it, was that the kitchen and food smell floods the main corridors during the day which is not pleasant or classy.

Overall a great relaxing place that I would come back to, as management seems determined to make it better.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Public Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Farhan,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at Taj Palace Marrakech.

We are delighted that your family enjoyed your New Year's break, and I will pass along your words of appreciation to Adil, Mezan and the Spa team. Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback; we will certainly endeavour to improve upon the points you mentioned.

Wishing you a happy New Year, and hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a superb hotel but as other comments state , dinner expensive,no coffee shop,and the hotel was empty apart from 2/3 other parties. We were also upgraded to a suite in the main building I think due to the numerous other rooms being shut down and the room was lovely, and the staff could not be faulted.

Room Tip: Try for the suite upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Dave,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Palace Marrakech, and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are so happy to hear that you appreciated our lovely staff and the upgrade to the suite. The fireplaces in the suites are simply devine in these cool winter months! I am sorry that we somehow did not show you our Bombay Club, from where we serve lunch, drinks, tea and coffee, etc. through out the day.

On behalf of the entire team, we wish you a Happy New Year, and look forward tko welcoming you back to Taj Palace Marrakech.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed for a 5 night stay here. We were upgraded to a suite which was beautiful. Breakfast was very good..just ask for what you want. The dinners available in November when we stayed were limited and expensive, but very good. No coffee shop open or even a light bite menu at lunch that we could find.. The staff were very attentive, but didn't have too much to do, which was a shame..It was a 25-30 mins ride into town by shuttle 4 times per day which was great. Good luck to the Taj and many thanks for the upgrade...you have fabulous rooms and pool and surrounds

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Taj Palace Marrakech!

We are glad that you enjoyed the suite upgrade and found our staff to be helpful and attentive. Our Bombay Club is open throughout the day serving drinks, lunch, tea and coffee, etc. in the veranda and gardens. Perhaps we did not advise you of this location, for which I truly apologize.

We wish you a happy and prosperous New Year 2014, and hope that we may welcome you back to Taj Palace Marrakech again.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located outside Marrakech, approximately 20 minutes from the city center.

We arrived at night, and the entrance lighted was impressive.

After a smooth and friendly check in, we were escorted to a beautiful suite in one of the outdoor pavillon.
The room was well decorated, however the bathroom lacks of privacy.

The Indian restaurant was very good, the food tasty and not too spicy, the service perfect !

Overall a good experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to note your impressions of Taj Palace Marrakech.

I am pleased that you appreciated the arrival experience, your suite and the food and service in our Mantra restaurant. Thank you for your feedback about privacy in the bathroom: due to your remarks, we are currently working to improve this point.

We hope to welcome you back to Taj Palace Marrakech again soon.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here in August. The hotel was barely occupied. Whilst most staff are friendly, they could not get the basics right. Room cleanliness was not great, breakfast was always an issue being vegetarian and service could be slow. The concierge Adil was fantastic. We would go again but hopefully when they are a little more 'together' with their services.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Ms. Kam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us at Taj Palace Marrakech in August.

I will share your praise about Adil, our Concierge with him, and I am sure he will most appreciative that you enjoyed and recognized his efforts. Thank you also for your comments about our rooms, service and breakfast. You will be pleased to know that we are working to improve and extend our vegetarian options, and hope that you might return in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at angela.mcguire@tajhotels.com if you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Marrakech

Address: Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Taj Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Taj Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Jiva Grande Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens.Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean, Indian and Pan-Asian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the legendary Taj service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Jiva Grande Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The Jiva Grande Spa is a concept which brings together the wisdom and heritage of the Indian philosophy and wellness. The spa experience includes Indian therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, Ayurveda, yoga and meditation. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Taj Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.