We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disapointed !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Taj Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very disapointed !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Writing this review from the taj, room 235. Problems since we arrived :
mini bar not working, called twice for repair but still not working (hot drinks when u wake up at night).

The price of alcool drinks are not in the mini bar menu (is it free ?)

Toilets not working, making noise all night

no Bed in our room terrace (other delux rooms have one)

In room breakfast ordered yesterday night, arrived 30 minutes late, cold harira (moroccan soup), lime juice with no sugar, industrial jam (whereas advertised as home made), missing ordered items (had to call in room dining to get it).

No Jiva spa (signature spa of taj hotels)

I shall complete this review after leaving the hotel with pictures.

We are very disapointed, taj should really take appropriate actions to "save" this hotel.

Regards



  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us at Taj Palace Marrakech, and we do hope you enjoyed your friend's wedding whilst you were in house.

Your comments are invaluable, as they help us to achieve our objectives of meeting and exceeding your expectations. We apologize that we were unable to deliver in some areas during this visit, but do hope that you may return in the future

If you would like to discuss your comments in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me at angela.mcguire@tajhotels.com

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    29
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
84
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed mid September, the hotel was empty, employees went on strike twice during our stay (3 nights) which also explain by itself the difficult relationship between employers/employees. While Moroccans are fantastic people and in the best hotels love to give the best they can with a smile, we notice the hotel was managed by Indians and Occidentals which could explain some of this. In-room food was a deception but dinner at the Asian restaurant excellent. The other restaurant was closed so could not try it. Breakfast was below average, probably in line with a 3 stars hotel in Paris. On the day we arrived, it was impossible to use the kids pool as it was very very dirty. Even the main pool (which is huge and beautiful) suffers from the formation of seaweeds at few places in the middle (on the floor). They have pergolas around the pool but half are broken and the other half so dirty that at the end you cannot use them. Ponds were so dirty with green seaweeds that it looks like no one clean it for ages. Positive points : rooms are amazing as well as the complex and the lobby. The hotel is 30-40 minutes out of town but they offer a free shuttle (and the driver we had was very very nice). This hotel is or will probably be a money loosing hotel in coming quarters or years unless they find a new shareholder and management. My guess is that in the meantime they will be working with Asian travel agencies to try fill the hotel with big group of people. Try instead the Mosaic Palais Aziza or the Palais Namaskar or Four seasons or even the Mamounia.

Room Tip: Room 15 in main building. Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Jean-Phillipe B.,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us at Taj Palace Marrakech.

We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve our services and facilities in order to better meet and exceed your expectations. We do apologize for the shortcomings your family experienced during this stay, and have since taken necessary steps with the departments involved to improve our offerings.

If you would like to discuss your comments in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me at angela.mcguire@tajhotels.com

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is pure luxury, the rooms are gorgeous, the foyer is breath taking when you first walk in and staff couldn't do enough for you. Don't think of spending any left over money at the airport as the duty free shops don't except them.
It was hot in August but was quiet so very nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The grounds of the property are something to see: wide open spaces, centered by an enormous pool, crowned by the main domed building -- all very evocative of the temples and gardens of India, particularly the Taj Mahal. (We were in India just last week).

We were initially concerned that the hotel was not in the heart of the city and were opting for a up scale Riad, but we were SO glad we stayed here. This was a most welcome respite after a long day in the bustle and cramped city. It was just such a great relief to get back and relax in that open expanse and the gigantic pool.

But the real treat here are the amazing rooms -- like a fantasy. My girlfriend and I travel a lot and both agreed that this is surely one of the best suites we have ever inhabited, if not the best. (The designer somehow got it just right: colorful, opulent, but never kitschy or over the top. Spacious and lux without ever feeling formal, stuffy or inaccessible -- just very, very comfortable. Its everything -- the woods, arched doorways, flowing colored cloth, four-poster beds -- it all magically comes together and just feels right.) It was a joy just staying put in the room. In fact, we opted to have dinner in our room more than once, on our balcony overlooking the palm groves at sunset. We felt like royalty. We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Splurge for a suite with four poster beds, elegant living room and dual balconies. Its like a dream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have never been lucky enough to stay in such a beautiful and opulent hotel as this one! On arrival I was amazed even on our approach along the long driveway. We were greeted on the front steps with a shower of petals and then taken into the beautiful lounge area where we were given a welcome drink of Moroccan iced tea.

I stayed at the hotel with my Mum and she had booked a twin room for us. (We live a long way from one another so this was to be a lovely relaxing time for us to spend quality time together.) After waiting for a while we were told that the holiday company we had booked with had not requested this so we had been allocated a double room. We were also told that there were no more twin rooms available as they had all been booked out for a company event. Very disappointing at this point but we agreed to see the room intended for us. Mum had even emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to check this but she had not received a reply just to mention.

On the walk to the room we were amazed at the surroundings - the pool was stunning and our rooms was situated in a riad style building with beautiful walkways through pools and fountains. When we entered the room we were stunned at the opulence and size of it and the bed was huge! We immediately agreed that we were happy to share the bed as the hotel had offered to bring in another bed for us but we felt it would have spoilt the room. There was a dressing area, huge bathroom and also a separate shower and toilet. Also there was a lovely terrace with views out to the beautiful surroundings.

We had a lovely four days at the hotel which was very quiet. Nice for us as we sometimes had the pool area nearly to ourselves! As the hotel is about 30 mins from the centre of Marrakech there is no where near to go out to nearby. We found the hotel prices for drinks and food particularly expensive. The restaurants and bar were extremely quiet in the evenings unfortunately as guests chose to go out probably because of the this and also for some life and atmosphere. There is a hotel free shuttle service during the daytime so it's easy to go out and taxis are approx 200 dirhams each way to the centre of town so it's possible to go out in the evenings.

We found that we received some fantastic service when we arrived but this seemed to pale after the first day or two. The pool area seemed to have some particular service problems where we were made to feel rather an inconvenience when ordering drinks on one or two occasions. Considering how expensive drinks were you would think the staff would have been trained to actually go round and ask guests if they wanted them every now and again. I believe there was a problem one day when the pool staff actually went on strike! The pool bar only opens until 4.30pm which is strange as guests including us would be making the most of the wonderful weather and wanted to stay by the pool until later. A couple we met had a problem ordering drinks and ended up having to wait at least an hour and a half before anyone came to take their order despite a small complaint in between. A bit shocking considering how quiet it was and the staff seemed hardly rushed off their feet!

On the last day I was sleeping on a sunbed by the pool just before all this happened and found myself being rudely awakened by the pool attendant rudely slamming the backs of the unused sunbeds all around the pool and right next to me. It made me feel like we weren't wanted there and it rather soured an otherwise lovely stay. Not the kind of thing you would expect in a 5* hotel!

On a positive note we ate in one of the hotel restaurants 'Mantra' on the last evening and whilst expensive I can honestly say we had one of the best curries we've ever had - absolutely delicious! The service was great too so I would definitely recommend even if you only eat in for one evening of your stay. Food is served at the pool bar during the day time but it's a shame the hotel don't have a slightly cheaper option for those guests wanting a more relaxed eating experience in the evenings. At least the hotel would then be making money even from the less affluent guests like ourselves.

Overall I would recommend this beautiful hotel as it was an amazing experience to stay in. I would not normally complain but would hope the hotel will take note of my comments. I appreciate the hotel has only recently opened this year so will have teething problems. I would definitely recommend it to friends for the experience of staying in such a wonderful palace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Not inexpensive, but honestly the best accommodation we've ever had. To describe this hotel as clean and comfortable would be a huge understatement - it is just incredible - like having your own palace! My husband's health means he needs to rest a lot and mustn't get too much sun, so it was ideal to have somewhere so luxurious to just relax and lie in the shade on our own balcony overlooking the beautiful pool. 

The downside is that there a is a courtesy car in and out of town about four times daily, but the last one back to the hotel is 6pm, so if you go out for dinner after 6 you need to pay about twenty dirhams for a taxi back.  The hotel restaurants are expensive at around £40pp for dinner, so it would cost a lot to eat there every evening. We did have one evening meal in the hotel which was lovely, but other guests agreed that were the prices slightly reduced, like us, they'd have been happy to book a meal at the hotel every evening.  However, with such delicious and ample breakfasts we usually skipped lunch, so meals were less of an issue. 
 
The  hotel seemed very quiet for August which was lovely for us as we felt like the only guests! You could go all day and only see a handful of other people. We also liked that although it is luxurious it isn't stuffy in any way and the staff can't do enough to help you. They are absolutely wonderful, as other reviewers have said. 

Would also recommend checking out Trip Advisor to book an excursion with Faim D'epices (A Moroccan cookery day) which  was excellent fun and only around £50 pp. 

We had the most wonderful week in Marrakech and could happily have stayed in and around this beautiful hotel for a further week.

Thank you so much to all the staff of the Taj Palace for the most memorable holiday.  

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just left the Taj Palace and as my title says its a complicated review so please bear with me.

We were a little puzzled as to why there had been no recent reviews but went in with high hopes.

We stayed in town for three days and experienced all the hassle and bustle of town which was great but we were looking forward to a relax by the pool. On arrival we were stunned by the place, it is truly amazing and the pool was fantastic.

We ate by the pool but I was a little surprised that a coke was just about 6 pounds , it was poured out of a can and not a gold goblet so 12 pounds for two cokes was a little bit of a surprise.

The biggest surprise was there was no one there! Litterally we had the sun loungers to ourselves, the maximum we saw were about 10 other guests. The meant that the restaurants and bars in the evening were empty with no atmosphere so the majority took the bus into town. I think the hotel could do more to try and encourage people to stay by providing some events or dinners that encourage people to stay at the hotel.

The standard of food and service at the hotel was second to none and Adil , the concierge was excellent , as was everyone. They cannot do enough for you and everyone is brilliant.

The spa was a little soulless. We spoke to a couple of guests who thought that more effort could have been made . When we went there was no one there, no music in the background so just a little non atmospheric I am afraid.

Wifi is not great so beware if you need it for a couple of hours work!

The room was cleaned twice a day and we have no complaints at all, wonderful.

We had three sachets of nespresso and we used them and then had three more everyday with some extras. Beware because in check out that was 33 GBP ! Only first ones are free, to be fair this ws taken off my bill but be careful.

We enjoy having a good holiday and I do not want it to seem like we were penny pinching but I do object to paying over the odds for soft drinks. I understand alcohol is not freely available but soft drinks in a hot environment?

A great , great place but just not right at the moment. We were told this was their first season and it was their low time for occupancy but we did feel we had to leave the hotel in the evening to get some life.

When this place hits the map then we hope it will be the place it could be, it has everything just not people when we were there

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Marrakech

Address: Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Taj Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Taj Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Jiva Grande Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens.Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean, Indian and Pan-Asian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the legendary Taj service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Jiva Grande Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The Jiva Grande Spa is a concept which brings together the wisdom and heritage of the Indian philosophy and wellness. The spa experience includes Indian therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, Ayurveda, yoga and meditation. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Taj Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.