We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite accommodation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Palace Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sahara Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Sahara Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Our favourite accommodation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Not inexpensive, but honestly the best accommodation we've ever had. To describe this hotel as clean and comfortable would be a huge understatement - it is just incredible - like having your own palace! My husband's health means he needs to rest a lot and mustn't get too much sun, so it was ideal to have somewhere so luxurious to just relax and lie in the shade on our own balcony overlooking the beautiful pool. 

The downside is that there a is a courtesy car in and out of town about four times daily, but the last one back to the hotel is 6pm, so if you go out for dinner after 6 you need to pay about twenty dirhams for a taxi back.  The hotel restaurants are expensive at around £40pp for dinner, so it would cost a lot to eat there every evening. We did have one evening meal in the hotel which was lovely, but other guests agreed that were the prices slightly reduced, like us, they'd have been happy to book a meal at the hotel every evening.  However, with such delicious and ample breakfasts we usually skipped lunch, so meals were less of an issue. 
 
The  hotel seemed very quiet for August which was lovely for us as we felt like the only guests! You could go all day and only see a handful of other people. We also liked that although it is luxurious it isn't stuffy in any way and the staff can't do enough to help you. They are absolutely wonderful, as other reviewers have said. 

Would also recommend checking out Trip Advisor to book an excursion with Faim D'epices (A Moroccan cookery day) which  was excellent fun and only around £50 pp. 

We had the most wonderful week in Marrakech and could happily have stayed in and around this beautiful hotel for a further week.

Thank you so much to all the staff of the Taj Palace for the most memorable holiday.  

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    34
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
97
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just left the Taj Palace and as my title says its a complicated review so please bear with me.

We were a little puzzled as to why there had been no recent reviews but went in with high hopes.

We stayed in town for three days and experienced all the hassle and bustle of town which was great but we were looking forward to a relax by the pool. On arrival we were stunned by the place, it is truly amazing and the pool was fantastic.

We ate by the pool but I was a little surprised that a coke was just about 6 pounds , it was poured out of a can and not a gold goblet so 12 pounds for two cokes was a little bit of a surprise.

The biggest surprise was there was no one there! Litterally we had the sun loungers to ourselves, the maximum we saw were about 10 other guests. The meant that the restaurants and bars in the evening were empty with no atmosphere so the majority took the bus into town. I think the hotel could do more to try and encourage people to stay by providing some events or dinners that encourage people to stay at the hotel.

The standard of food and service at the hotel was second to none and Adil , the concierge was excellent , as was everyone. They cannot do enough for you and everyone is brilliant.

The spa was a little soulless. We spoke to a couple of guests who thought that more effort could have been made . When we went there was no one there, no music in the background so just a little non atmospheric I am afraid.

Wifi is not great so beware if you need it for a couple of hours work!

The room was cleaned twice a day and we have no complaints at all, wonderful.

We had three sachets of nespresso and we used them and then had three more everyday with some extras. Beware because in check out that was 33 GBP ! Only first ones are free, to be fair this ws taken off my bill but be careful.

We enjoy having a good holiday and I do not want it to seem like we were penny pinching but I do object to paying over the odds for soft drinks. I understand alcohol is not freely available but soft drinks in a hot environment?

A great , great place but just not right at the moment. We were told this was their first season and it was their low time for occupancy but we did feel we had to leave the hotel in the evening to get some life.

When this place hits the map then we hope it will be the place it could be, it has everything just not people when we were there

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at a small boutique hotel nearby and decided to dine at the Taj Palace for my wife's birthday. Because of Ramadan two of the restaurants were closed but we were offered a poolside table which was great. The food was buffet style, ample options, well cooked, fresh and plentiful, the service was exceptional and the Indian live music and dancing made it a wonderful evening.
This hotel is stunning, no expense has been spared, the impressive driveway leads to a sumptuous reception area with a huge chandelier and the massive pool area is a central focal point.
Well worth a visit and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We did not stay at Taj (Big mistake but definitely next time) but ate there one evening! great staff and the junior chef(head chef was busy) prepared for us an excellent vegetarian meal even though they were nearly done with the dinner service! By the poolside it was very peaceful with some entertainment and relaxing atmosphere! Congratulations on providing a wonderful ambience to a lovely warm evening in Marrakech!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvedon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a wonderful few days at the Taj Palace.
When we arrived hot from the journey we were showered with rose petals as we walked up the entrance steps & given a cooling towel & cold drink in the huge reception room.
Our personal butler showed us around the hotel & gardens & finally into our stunning room with a huge balcony & amazing views! there was complimentary fruit, cool water, dates & wine in our room too.
The pool was huge & there were plenty of sun beds or canopy beds to choose from.
The service from staff was very attentive & they were all very knowledgeable & helpful. The pool staff bough round cold bottles of water & fruit drinks at regular intervals.
We had a very interesting guided tour/trip to the city, visiting Jardin Majorelle & the Medina + spent a bit of time 'pond watching' the frogs, water snake & terrapins in the Palace garden.
The food and drink was reasonably expensive at the hotel but the quality was good.
All in all a truly Amazing place to stay! if you get the chance don't take my word for it go & see for yourself :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for our wedding anniversary. Had a Fabulous time. The Taj Palace is stunningly beautiful. The pool area is huge and so peaceful. The staff just couldn't do enough for you. Can't believe this hotel isn't number one in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I cant tell you how much I loved this place. It is 5 star, but a proper five star. Stunning grounds, great pool, lovely decor, and huge (80 sq metre) room. The bed had a super king sized bed, we had a large patio to watch the sunset, and as other reviewers have said, separate dressing room, bathroom, wc with bidet, and wet room. Lovely bright marble and Indian/Moroccan themed interior.

There are some great touches which make the stay palatial. On arrival, there was a welcome drink whilst we checked in. When we got to the room, there was fruit and some wine waiting for us to welcome us. By the poolside, the chap brings you water when you arrive (and sometimes some complimentary fruit drink, depending on the time of day). The towels are on each sunbed, and the guy will run out and unfold it for you if he gets to you in time. All these things probably seem very small, but they do contribute to a great experience.

One great thing was that the room was cleaned twice a day. And I mean properly cleaned, with clothes folded and surfaces cleaned both times. Another really nice touch was that they filled out our departure cards for immigration, so that when we got to the airport, we could go straight to immigration (we saw lots of confused tourists who were turned away once they got to the front of the queue).

The key thing about the hotel is the service, though. You want a taxi in ten minutes? No problem. You want breakfast in the room? No problem. You want a restaurant or a Hammam recommendation in town? No problem. You want your martini dry and dirty? You guessed it - no problem. The general manager also checked with us that his staff were looking after us properly. Trust me, they were.

One tip I would give you all is this: when you are getting a taxi back from town, make sure you mention the area, which is Bab Atlas. We had one driver take us to the wrong place - apparently there are three "palace" hotels in Marrakech, and you want to be brought to the right one.

Even though I was only there for three nights, I genuinely feel like I have had a proper holiday. If you are thinking about it, just go!!

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are pretty similar, we were in 130 and we had a great view of the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sahara Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Palace Marrakech

Address: Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Palace Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Taj Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Taj Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Jiva Grande Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens.Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean, Indian and Pan-Asian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the legendary Taj service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Jiva Grande Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The Jiva Grande Spa is a concept which brings together the wisdom and heritage of the Indian philosophy and wellness. The spa experience includes Indian therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, Ayurveda, yoga and meditation. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sahara Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Palace Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.