We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menzah - great pool side restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Taj Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Menzah - great pool side restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We did not stay at Taj (Big mistake but definitely next time) but ate there one evening! great staff and the junior chef(head chef was busy) prepared for us an excellent vegetarian meal even though they were nearly done with the dinner service! By the poolside it was very peaceful with some entertainment and relaxing atmosphere! Congratulations on providing a wonderful ambience to a lovely warm evening in Marrakech!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    27
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
35
73
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelvedon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a wonderful few days at the Taj Palace.
When we arrived hot from the journey we were showered with rose petals as we walked up the entrance steps & given a cooling towel & cold drink in the huge reception room.
Our personal butler showed us around the hotel & gardens & finally into our stunning room with a huge balcony & amazing views! there was complimentary fruit, cool water, dates & wine in our room too.
The pool was huge & there were plenty of sun beds or canopy beds to choose from.
The service from staff was very attentive & they were all very knowledgeable & helpful. The pool staff bough round cold bottles of water & fruit drinks at regular intervals.
We had a very interesting guided tour/trip to the city, visiting Jardin Majorelle & the Medina + spent a bit of time 'pond watching' the frogs, water snake & terrapins in the Palace garden.
The food and drink was reasonably expensive at the hotel but the quality was good.
All in all a truly Amazing place to stay! if you get the chance don't take my word for it go & see for yourself :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for our wedding anniversary. Had a Fabulous time. The Taj Palace is stunningly beautiful. The pool area is huge and so peaceful. The staff just couldn't do enough for you. Can't believe this hotel isn't number one in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I cant tell you how much I loved this place. It is 5 star, but a proper five star. Stunning grounds, great pool, lovely decor, and huge (80 sq metre) room. The bed had a super king sized bed, we had a large patio to watch the sunset, and as other reviewers have said, separate dressing room, bathroom, wc with bidet, and wet room. Lovely bright marble and Indian/Moroccan themed interior.

There are some great touches which make the stay palatial. On arrival, there was a welcome drink whilst we checked in. When we got to the room, there was fruit and some wine waiting for us to welcome us. By the poolside, the chap brings you water when you arrive (and sometimes some complimentary fruit drink, depending on the time of day). The towels are on each sunbed, and the guy will run out and unfold it for you if he gets to you in time. All these things probably seem very small, but they do contribute to a great experience.

One great thing was that the room was cleaned twice a day. And I mean properly cleaned, with clothes folded and surfaces cleaned both times. Another really nice touch was that they filled out our departure cards for immigration, so that when we got to the airport, we could go straight to immigration (we saw lots of confused tourists who were turned away once they got to the front of the queue).

The key thing about the hotel is the service, though. You want a taxi in ten minutes? No problem. You want breakfast in the room? No problem. You want a restaurant or a Hammam recommendation in town? No problem. You want your martini dry and dirty? You guessed it - no problem. The general manager also checked with us that his staff were looking after us properly. Trust me, they were.

One tip I would give you all is this: when you are getting a taxi back from town, make sure you mention the area, which is Bab Atlas. We had one driver take us to the wrong place - apparently there are three "palace" hotels in Marrakech, and you want to be brought to the right one.

Even though I was only there for three nights, I genuinely feel like I have had a proper holiday. If you are thinking about it, just go!!

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are pretty similar, we were in 130 and we had a great view of the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This really is an amazing hotel. As you check in rose petals fall from “the sky”, and a nice bracelet is giving (our girls liked it a lot) We stayed in this palatial hotel in July (4-11). As there was 4 of us, we had connecting Riad rooms and everything other Tripadvisor contributors wrote is true: rooms are amazing, huge, silent. cool and comfortable.
We where on a half board option ( 40 euro per person per day) and to be honest, we could have done without that.
Ramadan was beginning during our stay and I felt a little bit uncomfortable to drink (temperature was very high) and eat during the day knowing that the people who work there could not do that until sundown. They did not matter at all, it was only my own feeling/emotion.

The employees are so nice, helpful, friendly and kind, it is really unbelievable. Thank you all for heaving a very nice holiday!

So Tripadvisor readers: do not hesitate: book it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

From the second we turned onto the stretching drive of the Taj Palace, I was in heaven and I stayed there until I left. The palace is stunning from the outside and enchanting from the inside. Any expectations I had were exceeded by far.
the food was very nice, Rooms are so comfirtable

We stayed in a garden Riad room, which was lovely . A beautiful bed and decorations, with a spacious changing area that leads onto a bathroom with bath, double sink and dressing table, and shower are very hot and toilet on the other side,
so nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was almost tempted NOT to write a review, in order to prevent the Taj Palace from becoming too popular, but that wouldn't be fair on the hotel and wonderful staff!!!!

We stayed here for 1 week in a room in the Palace, which was huge with a bathroom, toilet, dressing room and bedroom. The rooms really are beautiful. If you like your bedroom to be cool at night during the summer months, the hotel has electric fans if you need them to help supplement the air conditioning as the units aren't the standard ones you get - the vents are actually built into the ceiling, which is quite high.

We upgraded to half board from bed and breakfast before we travelled which suited us, although we ate out in town on our last evening at Maison MK. Most mornings we tucked into poached eggs and fruit, and on the half board package, this included a 3-course meal during the evening with a bottle of water in either of the two restaurants. On the full board package, this also includes food from the pool bar at lunch time (selected items on the menu, others at a supplement). The food in all of the restaurants really is excellent (we loved the curries) and on our penultimate night we were really fortunate to be invited to attend the hotel's F'Tor, an event prior to Ramadan, which was a fantastic buffet with hotel (and external) guests alike and we had an amazing night. The food and drink prices aren't cheap, but they are what you would expect at any 5 star hotel.

There is no entertainment at night (which didn't bother us at all) nor is there anywhere else to go outside of the hotel within walking distance (shops or restaurants), unless you go into town which we did twice - once on an arranged trip and then by ourselves by taking the last shuttle bus and then caught a taxi back. For those wanting a 'full on' holiday with bags of activities all day, there are probably other options, but we wanted to go and chill somewhere quiet for a week and totally relax and we certainly did just that!

We didn't really experience any major problems in town, apart from the taxi driver suddenly trying to double the agreed rate around 5 minutes from the hotel! We got him to drop us off at the main gate, knowing full well that there would be a super-keen security guard waiting to welcome us back!!

What made our holiday though, was the people. The staff as well as other guests. Other reviewers have already commented on the superb team here, so I won't labour the point, but we were so impressed by how much the staff really did care about the guests. Nothing was too much trouble. I don't think I have ever received such impressive customer service from the outset, to leaving the hotel.

We had a brilliant time and will be sure to return as we loved Marrakech in general, although next time we may combine our stay with a night or two in a riad in town for something a bit different, but then head straight over to the Taj for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Marrakech

Address: Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Taj Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Taj Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Jiva Grande Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens.Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean, Indian and Pan-Asian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the legendary Taj service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Jiva Grande Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The Jiva Grande Spa is a concept which brings together the wisdom and heritage of the Indian philosophy and wellness. The spa experience includes Indian therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, Ayurveda, yoga and meditation. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Taj Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.