We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Palace Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sahara Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Sahara Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This really is an amazing hotel. As you check in rose petals fall from “the sky”, and a nice bracelet is giving (our girls liked it a lot) We stayed in this palatial hotel in July (4-11). As there was 4 of us, we had connecting Riad rooms and everything other Tripadvisor contributors wrote is true: rooms are amazing, huge, silent. cool and comfortable.
We where on a half board option ( 40 euro per person per day) and to be honest, we could have done without that.
Ramadan was beginning during our stay and I felt a little bit uncomfortable to drink (temperature was very high) and eat during the day knowing that the people who work there could not do that until sundown. They did not matter at all, it was only my own feeling/emotion.

The employees are so nice, helpful, friendly and kind, it is really unbelievable. Thank you all for heaving a very nice holiday!

So Tripadvisor readers: do not hesitate: book it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    34
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
97
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

From the second we turned onto the stretching drive of the Taj Palace, I was in heaven and I stayed there until I left. The palace is stunning from the outside and enchanting from the inside. Any expectations I had were exceeded by far.
the food was very nice, Rooms are so comfirtable

We stayed in a garden Riad room, which was lovely . A beautiful bed and decorations, with a spacious changing area that leads onto a bathroom with bath, double sink and dressing table, and shower are very hot and toilet on the other side,
so nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was almost tempted NOT to write a review, in order to prevent the Taj Palace from becoming too popular, but that wouldn't be fair on the hotel and wonderful staff!!!!

We stayed here for 1 week in a room in the Palace, which was huge with a bathroom, toilet, dressing room and bedroom. The rooms really are beautiful. If you like your bedroom to be cool at night during the summer months, the hotel has electric fans if you need them to help supplement the air conditioning as the units aren't the standard ones you get - the vents are actually built into the ceiling, which is quite high.

We upgraded to half board from bed and breakfast before we travelled which suited us, although we ate out in town on our last evening at Maison MK. Most mornings we tucked into poached eggs and fruit, and on the half board package, this included a 3-course meal during the evening with a bottle of water in either of the two restaurants. On the full board package, this also includes food from the pool bar at lunch time (selected items on the menu, others at a supplement). The food in all of the restaurants really is excellent (we loved the curries) and on our penultimate night we were really fortunate to be invited to attend the hotel's F'Tor, an event prior to Ramadan, which was a fantastic buffet with hotel (and external) guests alike and we had an amazing night. The food and drink prices aren't cheap, but they are what you would expect at any 5 star hotel.

There is no entertainment at night (which didn't bother us at all) nor is there anywhere else to go outside of the hotel within walking distance (shops or restaurants), unless you go into town which we did twice - once on an arranged trip and then by ourselves by taking the last shuttle bus and then caught a taxi back. For those wanting a 'full on' holiday with bags of activities all day, there are probably other options, but we wanted to go and chill somewhere quiet for a week and totally relax and we certainly did just that!

We didn't really experience any major problems in town, apart from the taxi driver suddenly trying to double the agreed rate around 5 minutes from the hotel! We got him to drop us off at the main gate, knowing full well that there would be a super-keen security guard waiting to welcome us back!!

What made our holiday though, was the people. The staff as well as other guests. Other reviewers have already commented on the superb team here, so I won't labour the point, but we were so impressed by how much the staff really did care about the guests. Nothing was too much trouble. I don't think I have ever received such impressive customer service from the outset, to leaving the hotel.

We had a brilliant time and will be sure to return as we loved Marrakech in general, although next time we may combine our stay with a night or two in a riad in town for something a bit different, but then head straight over to the Taj for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the second we turned onto the stretching drive of the Taj Palace, I was in heaven and I stayed there until I left. The palace is stunning from the outside and enchanting from the inside. Any expectations I had were exceeded by far.

We stayed in a garden Riad room, which was gorgeous. A beautiful bed and decor, with a spacious changing area that leads onto a bathroom with bath, double sink and dressing table, and shower and toilet on the other side. On the ground floor, our room led onto a terrace with an enormous sofa and chairs. The room was kept immaculate and clean everyday and there was always a little treat waiting when we returned.

The staff at the Taj Palace made the real difference to our stay. They went above and beyond to help us with any questions we had or help we needed, as well as their attentive service during meal times, or even just by the pool by bringing a bottle of water, or a cool damp cloth for refreshment. Every single member of staff was friendly and greeted you as you walked by.
Everything was done to impeccable standards and with a smile.

Whilst I was there I lost a bookmark by the pool when a gust of wind came. The bookmark was entirely worthless, but held a sentimental value to me. When they saw I was looking for something, two members of staff came over and a number of them began looking for it for me despite the likelihood that it had been blown fairly far away!

The breakfast was delicious and had a variety of fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries and a cooked breakfast.

The complimentary shuttle service to the City was an excellent surprise, reliable and comfortable.

I cannot praise the Taj Palace enough. This was a birthday celebration for me, and it was a memorable and magical experience. All I can say is, if you are going to Marrakech, you should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had our wedding at the Taj Palace Marrakech and it was a dream come true.
We started planning our wedding back in January and had the wedding here in June this year (we are currently on our honeymoon and have wasted no time in writing this review as there is so much to say!).

We honestly can not express our gratitude to all the members of staff here at the Taj - their service, patience and willingness to help in every matter to do with our wedding really blew my husband and I away.

Our wedding was definitely not an easy event to cater for either, we had a full 3 day Indian wedding with 5 events and we occupied the whole hotel with our guests who had travelled from all over the world to be with us. The food was incredible for all 3 days (all our guests also confirmed this), the service exceeded all our expectations (especially as we knew it would be a tough few days which involved a lot of late nights for many members of staff) and the general manner of those who worked here was always highly hospitable, kind, caring and very sweet. My husband, myself and many of our guests felt more like family rather than regular guests after spending our time here.

To be completely transparent, we only had one issue which was the air conditioning that did not work in some of the rooms and event locations but I have to stress this was purely a technical issue. As this problem occurred during the wedding and there were a few frustrated guests (due to the very hot weather and mentioned technical issue) we can only say how proud and happy we were to hear that the Taj handled the situation with integrity and a willingness to compensate not just the guests that were directly affected but our entire wedding party.

In short it is safe to say we could not have wished for a better location to have our wedding nor could we have wished for better people to have shared it with - these being not just being our guests but also the members of staff at the Taj. They really all deserve praise for all their efforts during this time and they all contributed to making our days very special for us. Nothing was ever impossible and every request we had, regardless of whether they were big or small, was carried out with care and effort beyond the call of duty.

We would really like to thank Mr Dino (General Manager) and all his staff for his approach towards ourselves, family, guests and our event as well as Karim/Angela/ Abdul Rahman and their team, Kamil and his team, Hamza and his team for their dedication to running our events very smoothly. Also we would like to specially thank Nizar (guest relations) and Salma (reservations) who not only contributed to the success of our wedding but definitely for their support to us personally - they really have become great friends to us.

Without a doubt we will be back again to visit this incredibly beautiful hotel and we are very confident that they will welcome us back with open arms!
Thanks again to everyone at the Taj for making our wedding so special and giving us the days we will never forget.

All our love, Jay & Sherina x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Palace Marrakech a couple of weeks ago.I have to say it is a beautiful hotel. We stayed in a luxury suite, it was spotlessly clean, opulently furnished and a very comfy four poster bed. The bathrooms were beautiful with stacks of towels, Hermes toiletries,bath robes, slippers and a wonderful deep tub, plus a huge walk in shower. There was also a separate dressing room. Turn down service leave you gorgeous Moroccan cakes, wine, water and fresh fruit. The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough to make us comfortable, they are polite, helpful and make you feel at home. The decor although opulent is a bit of a mix..Indian/Moroccan, but beautiful just the same. I would highly recommend Taj Palace, and i am planning on returning one day soon..

Room Tip: Stay in the palace it's self..it is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I also stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June 2013 and cannot say enough about the attentive staff and stunning decor, opulent and tasteful all at the same time. I am sorry that an earlier reviewer felt it necessary to highlight a minor maintenance issue which occurred in the breakfast room. This was of no inconvenience to anybody except the staff and we were touched to receive a hand written apology and box of pretty confectionaries from the hotel manager which were delivered to our room the same day. This was representative of the personal service received throughout our stay at this beautiful hotel and I have no hesitation in awarding it the highest rating. Thank you Taj staff for a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
We are delighted and honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech and that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay. I am happy you enjoyed the location as well as the service. We will share your kind feedback with our team
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you when you are back to Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sahara Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Palace Marrakech

Address: Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Palace Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Taj Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Taj Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Jiva Grande Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens.Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean, Indian and Pan-Asian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the legendary Taj service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Jiva Grande Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The Jiva Grande Spa is a concept which brings together the wisdom and heritage of the Indian philosophy and wellness. The spa experience includes Indian therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, Ayurveda, yoga and meditation. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sahara Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Palace Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.