We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Palace Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sahara Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Sahara Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago and cannot recommend it highly enough, it is beautiful and tranquil and the staff are absolutely charming. The driveway up to the hotel is spectacular and the interior and grounds more than match your expectations.

Our Riad room was gorgeous, really spacious with a wonderful terrace and a superb bathroom and separate shower room, the staff kept the room immaculate and such was the attention to detail we always had little treats to come back to when we returned to it.

The hotel concierge service is excellent and the Complimentary shuttle service to the City is comfortable and reliable.

It was my birthday during our stay and the hotel made sure it was a day I will always remember, it was altogether a very memorable trip, beautiful surroundings and impeccable service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Google Translation
Cher(e) Client(e)

Nos sincères remerciements pour avoir prit le temps d’écrire un commentaire aussi élogieux sur le Taj Palace Marrakech.
Nous espérons vous recevoir très prochainement et vous faire vivre une expérience tout aussi mémorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    34
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
97
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

To begin with I will say that this is a jaw-dropping, breathtaking, gorgeous hotel. It is like a mini Taj Mahal, crammed with treasures and beauty. For example The lobby is groced with a 40m high venetian chandelier, under a bejewelled, domed ceiling. The pool is a mammoth 40m x 40m, practically an inland sea with a temple island in the middle. The rooms, even the standard ones, are also beautiful and huge, a fusion of Moroccan and Indian design done with such taste. Even more amazingly we had the place almost to ourselves - bookings must be slow in June - so our whole stay felt like we had crept into a deserted palace, a mirage in the desert.

Churlishly though, I do feel the need to mention one or two drawbacks. Nothing terrible but points you should know if you are thinking of staying here. First it is quite a long way out of Marrakesh, around 10 miles. There is a shuttle bus into the city but only four times a day. Otherwise it is a 200 dirham (around £16.50) taxi, which can get expensive. If you want the full-on Marrakesh Riad experience, this hotel is not for you. Second, this is a new hotel so there are still some snagging issues. One morning at breakfast a radiator exploded, showering the room with black water. And the service is friendliness itself but slightly haphazard. We booked an early taxi one morning only to find it didn't come. Finally the food is decent, but not as spectacular as the surroundings - apart from the prices. We had considerably better in the town for a lot less.

Overall this is an awesome hotel, but if I had the choice I would give it four and a half stars rather than the full complement.

Room Tip: Noth facing rooms are cooler in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor.
We are delighted and honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech.
Thank you very much for your comment . We have reviewed your points and will make the necessary changes to continuously improve the overall guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a new experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Taj Palace for a wedding anniversary weekend. Despite the fact that we stayed in the 'cheaper' Riad garden rooms we were not disappointed - having stayed in some plush hotels around the world this hotel was exceptional - plush , opulent , luxurious , it made our experiences in Dubai look downmarket ! Our room had a wonderful balcony with a huge daybed, luxurious bathroom , dressing area and the most comfortable suite. The pool was one of the biggest we have ever seen, good choice of restaurants and a fantastic cocktail bar with a pool table. Breakfast was a little limited and service sometimes a little slow but the exceptional hotel, friendly staff and location more than made up for what appeared to be some teething problems with staff training. Nine of this detracted from our weekend at all. Complimentary shuttles into Marrakech were great although it was hard to tear yourself away from this truly moroccan palace.

Room Tip: The garden rooms in the Riad are esceptional, quiet, luxurious, opulent, romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us.
We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed our resort we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
We are looking forward to welcome you at Taj Palace Marrakech for a new and great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle england
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 300, on the first floor of one of the four Riads. This was a standard room, and comprised a terrace with chairs and a day bed, a lobby, a very large bedroom and a dressing room, shower room, toilet and a large bathroom. All very nicely done in a Morrocoan/Indian style. We had a Moroccan Hammam in the spa, and tried all the restaurants. The Pan Asian one was excellent. There is a free shuttle bus, several times a day to the city, as this hotel is a long way out. The swimming pool is HUGE, 40m x 40m, and it is very refreshing on a hot day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,

Nous vous remercions tout d’abord d’avoir choisi le Taj Palace Marrakech pour votre séjour.
Nous sommes ravis de lire que ces moments passés parmi nous ont été de ceux qui comptent. Sachez que vos chaleureux commentaires concernant notre établissement ont été partagés avec l’ensemble des personnes ayant contribué au succès de votre séjour, et que chacun en fut sincèrement touché.

Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir très prochainement au Taj Palace Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived late in the evening by our own car and as it is out of town it is a bit difficult to find. But the reception at the hotel made us forget this quickly. We stayed in one of the Riad rooms which are big and have all comfort one can wish. The downstairs rooms have a nice patio where one can relax and read. Staff is very friendly and pleasant. Although it is about 10 km out of Marrakesh there is a shuttle to the Jamaa el FNA square every two hours. It is a pity the shuttle only works till 6 pm. It would be an improvement if it would leave the square as late as 11 pm.
Good food in the restaurants and fine service as well.

This is a luxury hotel where you feel relaxed and welcome

The hotel has many fine details all over the place. To get to know the hotel and its many features better it would be nice if guests could get a short tour of the hotel with explications on the many artefacts.

Room Tip: I think the downstair RIAD rooms are good value as they have a nice covered patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest

We are pleased and honored you enjoyed your stay at Taj Palace Marrakech.
We are looking forward to welcome you for a new experience and would be pleased to organise a complete site inspection for you.

Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Taj Palace, Marrakesh is absolutely gorgeous! The entrance is grand and the interior design is stunning; every corridor that you walk down and room that you enter is so beautifully designed. We stayed in one of the riad rooms - it was lovely to have the additional courtyard. The bedrooms are so spacious and immaculately cleaned twice per day. Great little touches such as the Hermes toiletries and nightly pillow quotes!

The hotel is about 15 mins from the centre, taxis cost around 150 dirhams but being that little bit further out adds to the tranquillity of the hotel. The pool is stunning! The bar service around the pool was very slow but the hotel is quite new so I'm sure this will improve.

We ate at the at the Rumi restaurant - food was great. Breakfast was amazing and the chef could not be more accommodating from making us masala omelettes to freshly made Moroccan and French pancakes!

Last but not least, a big thank you to all staff at the Taj Palace who were exceptionally hospitable and certainly fulfilled the 5* rating that the hotel most deserves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech and that we were able to provide you with a great stay.
I am happy you enjoyed the location as well as the views, architecture.
We will share your kind feedback with our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon for another great experience at Taj Palace Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You cannot but be impressed as you drive up to the hotel, it does indeed look like a the raja's palace. However, the interior design does not quite work with Moroccan, Indian and American accents through out. We were initially not impressed and wanted to check out. The management staff; Abbi, Dino and Nizar could not do enough for us, puled out all the stops and in the end made our stay very very special indeed. The hotel is 20 mins from the centre and quite costly using cabs, but, the tranquillity and level of service here certainly make up for it. We were so impressed by the staff that we have booked a return trip and very much look forward to not only seeing the lovely staff but relaxing by the beautiful pool with a glass or two. Oh! and food is jolly good too. When the taj settles in and decides what it wants to be it will be Marrakech's finest.

Room Tip: Some of the riad rooms look a little worn considering its new. The grand salon is devine. Also if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor.
We are delighted and honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech and that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay.
We will share your kind feedback with our team.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you when you are back to Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sahara Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Palace Marrakech

Address: Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Palace Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Taj Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Taj Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Jiva Grande Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens.Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean, Indian and Pan-Asian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the legendary Taj service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Jiva Grande Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The Jiva Grande Spa is a concept which brings together the wisdom and heritage of the Indian philosophy and wellness. The spa experience includes Indian therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, Ayurveda, yoga and meditation. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sahara Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Palace Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.