We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great p(a)lace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Taj Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Rijswijk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great p(a)lace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived late in the evening by our own car and as it is out of town it is a bit difficult to find. But the reception at the hotel made us forget this quickly. We stayed in one of the Riad rooms which are big and have all comfort one can wish. The downstairs rooms have a nice patio where one can relax and read. Staff is very friendly and pleasant. Although it is about 10 km out of Marrakesh there is a shuttle to the Jamaa el FNA square every two hours. It is a pity the shuttle only works till 6 pm. It would be an improvement if it would leave the square as late as 11 pm.
Good food in the restaurants and fine service as well.

This is a luxury hotel where you feel relaxed and welcome

The hotel has many fine details all over the place. To get to know the hotel and its many features better it would be nice if guests could get a short tour of the hotel with explications on the many artefacts.

Room Tip: I think the downstair RIAD rooms are good value as they have a nice covered patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest

We are pleased and honored you enjoyed your stay at Taj Palace Marrakech.
We are looking forward to welcome you for a new experience and would be pleased to organise a complete site inspection for you.

Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    29
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
84
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Taj Palace, Marrakesh is absolutely gorgeous! The entrance is grand and the interior design is stunning; every corridor that you walk down and room that you enter is so beautifully designed. We stayed in one of the riad rooms - it was lovely to have the additional courtyard. The bedrooms are so spacious and immaculately cleaned twice per day. Great little touches such as the Hermes toiletries and nightly pillow quotes!

The hotel is about 15 mins from the centre, taxis cost around 150 dirhams but being that little bit further out adds to the tranquillity of the hotel. The pool is stunning! The bar service around the pool was very slow but the hotel is quite new so I'm sure this will improve.

We ate at the at the Rumi restaurant - food was great. Breakfast was amazing and the chef could not be more accommodating from making us masala omelettes to freshly made Moroccan and French pancakes!

Last but not least, a big thank you to all staff at the Taj Palace who were exceptionally hospitable and certainly fulfilled the 5* rating that the hotel most deserves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech and that we were able to provide you with a great stay.
I am happy you enjoyed the location as well as the views, architecture.
We will share your kind feedback with our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon for another great experience at Taj Palace Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You cannot but be impressed as you drive up to the hotel, it does indeed look like a the raja's palace. However, the interior design does not quite work with Moroccan, Indian and American accents through out. We were initially not impressed and wanted to check out. The management staff; Abbi, Dino and Nizar could not do enough for us, puled out all the stops and in the end made our stay very very special indeed. The hotel is 20 mins from the centre and quite costly using cabs, but, the tranquillity and level of service here certainly make up for it. We were so impressed by the staff that we have booked a return trip and very much look forward to not only seeing the lovely staff but relaxing by the beautiful pool with a glass or two. Oh! and food is jolly good too. When the taj settles in and decides what it wants to be it will be Marrakech's finest.

Room Tip: Some of the riad rooms look a little worn considering its new. The grand salon is devine. Also if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor.
We are delighted and honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech and that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay.
We will share your kind feedback with our team.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you when you are back to Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

thrully the best palace in Morocco, excellent service, really relaxing and charming, a really well thought mixture between India and Morocco that makes it a real 1000 nights dream palace
definitly not to be missed and a great experience your are treated like a star from the entrance door to your check out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your kind review
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed a memorable stay at Taj Palace Marrakech. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Providing a high level service is one of our top priorities

We are looking forward receiving you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Taj Palace was our first and one of our best experiences in all of Morocco! As many other reviewers have said, from the moment you arrive, every little detail is attended to (including rose petals falling from the "sky" when we arrived- a bit over the top). This began with a lovely tea service while our attendant, Nizar, showed us the grounds. My boyfriend and I stayed in a large palace room for 3 nights (the room was larger than our Manhattan apartment!) Our room included a large terrace overlooking the pool, a dressing room, and every luxury you could imagine (Hermes beauty products and all), the photos online do not even do this property justice.

The ENTIRE staff of the hotel were very kind and accommodating- helping with dinner reservations, spa recommendations, as well as everything we needed during our stay at the hotel.

My only minor complaints are as follows: this location is not easy to find the first time around (we drove down from Casablanca) as the physical address in not on the website and it is a good 10-15 mintues from the city centre. Also, food/bar service around the pool area was VERY slow, I did gently bring this to the hotel's attention on our second day and things were immediately attended to. As the hotel is just recently opened, not all of the facilities were opened- we did have a great meal at the Indian/Asain restaurant and very much enjoyed the LAVISH breakfast spread every morning.

This was a great start to an amazing trip! It was wonderful to be able to escape from the "vibrant" city culture and retreat to this one-of-a-kind, true palace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

First, thank you for your kind review
we are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Taj Palace Marrakech even though you had to face some minor issues.
Kindly accept our sincere apologies and we wish you many happy returns
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon for a new great experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel and we wished it would have been longer.
Didnt want to leave!
You feel like its your own private palace when walking around the amazing hotel.
it was quiet when we were there but it seems like its an oasis as its another world.

The rooms are amazing and huge and the staff cannot do enough for you and very courteous.

I will definately return to the palace as i dont think i could stay anywhere else now in marrakesch.

The indian / japanese restaurant was excellent as was the Morroccan /european themed restaurant.

Overall an amazing experiance

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite in the Palace as there are only 17 rooms and the royal suite. try and go for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Johnny,

Tout d’abord nous vous remercions d’avoir choisi le Taj Palace Marrakech,
C’est avec plaisir que nous avons pris connaissance de votre commentaire et sommes très heureux d’apprendre que votre séjour à été a la hauteur de vos espérances.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir parmi nous de nouveau très prochainement pour une nouvelle expérience des plus mémorables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 lovely nights in the hotel. The entrance to the hotel is stunning. The rooms are enormous, the decor so vivid and stunning. We took endless photos of the architecture and design. The colours are stunning. Mantra was delicious Indian food. The head chef has created flavourful and authentic Indian dishes. Was delicious. Enjoyed the mint tea every evening! Was a real treat! Definitely would recommend this hotel to relax and enjoy its luxurious surroundings. Design and service is in the ranks of The Burj in Dubai (not as opulent as The Burj).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Taj Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Tout d’abord nous vous remercions d’avoir choisi le Taj Palace Marrakech,
C’est avec plaisir que nous avons pris connaissance de votre commentaire et sommes très heureux d’apprendre que votre séjour à été a la hauteur de vos espérances.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir parmi nous de nouveau très prochainement pour une nouvelle expérience des plus mémorables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Marrakech

Address: Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Taj Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Taj Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Jiva Grande Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens.Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean, Indian and Pan-Asian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the legendary Taj service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Jiva Grande Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The Jiva Grande Spa is a concept which brings together the wisdom and heritage of the Indian philosophy and wellness. The spa experience includes Indian therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, Ayurveda, yoga and meditation. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Taj Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.