We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful,tranquil hotel First class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Palace Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sahara Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Sahara Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
london
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful,tranquil hotel First class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It's A wow all the way from the drive way up to the Taj Palace- with the Atlas mountains in the background i'ts breath taking.We where greeted with Petals thrown over us and mint tea and a gift.How wonderful after our very disappointing stay at Mamounia
The rooms are beautiful bright and tasteful The Service was excellent they couldn't do enough to please us.We made a small complaint about the service one lunchtime as they were very busy and after that they so wanted to please us that they offered us the Royal suit for 2 nights.
OMG I don't know how I could stay anywhere else after staying there it was incredible lush and so tasteful,such magnificent views,we have been so spoilt we will not forget this wonderful hotel. Also The beautiful pool was like swimming in a lake.
Thank you Taj Palace we will back !!

Room Tip: You must go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Claudia,
Thank you for sharing your nice feedback with us.
It's an honor to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Taj Palace Marrakech.
Providing a high level service is one of our top priorities.
We are looking forward receiving you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    34
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
97
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having travelled to Marrakech twice yearly since since the early 1970's, and stayed in every major 5* hotel in the city (often as a reapeat customer) I have great pleasure in writing such a glowing review for the Taj Palace Hotel. It is exceptional in every way, from the brilliant young French General Manager Yves Wenker, to the pool staff & chambermaids, a culture of excelllence and pride is bred throughout all of the hotels operations.

My wife and I stayed in one of the Junior Suites and having done so likewise in both La Mamounia & The Royal Mansour, I can say that this a cut above the rest. Not only does the hotels infrastrucutre and ammenities exceed those of a standard 5* hotel and those of its competitors, but the service is second to none. The hotel is more like a private Middle Eastern Palace than a Hotel and we we were certainly made to fell like the private guests of a Royal Family.

The hotel's backdrop of the Atlas Mountains and its location right in the heart of the Golden Triangle of the Palmeraie cannot be beaten. It is just a 15 minutes to the Medina, and 20 minutes to the airport. The food is incredible and I highly recommend the spa which is surely the largest and most exclusive in Morocco. The avaergae room size (even of a standard room) is 85 sq.m. and the balconies are huge, complete with sofas and relaxing chairs.

Very well done indeed! I shall be back and will be recommending this highly in the travel supplement of our newspaper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Atlas Mountains - incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your gratifying review via Trip Advisor.
We are honored to know that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay at Taj Palace Marrakech and looking forward to welcoming you soon for a new and unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Taj Palace is amazing. The beauty of this hotel and grounds is truly extraordinary. The quality of every detail is impressive , whether it is the beautiful chandelier in the entrance , the stunning pool, or the luxurious rooms. The staff was very warm and they seemed to anticipate my every need. The food in the restaurant and the breakfast was absolutely delicious, in fact, the best food we had in Morroco.When you take a great hotel like this and set it at the foot of the Atlas mountains you have the recipe for a remarkable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review,
We are delighted and honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech and that we were able to provide you with memorable stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future for another great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel Counsellors, West Sussex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had just one night at The Taj Palace after a heavenly 4 nights in a peaceful Kasbah in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains.
You could not get two different properties. Both amazing for different reasons.
The Taj is truy a Palace, and the only word is Awesome.
Imbecible service, from the orientation by our personal butler Nazir, and every departmental manager that greeted us during our visit. All staff were excellent.
Food - well the Mantra restaurant offers Japenese and Indian Cuisine. As we only had one night here we opted for the Indian and were not disappointed. The waiting staff explained all dishes and they were gorgeous.
The pool area is lovely and the same depth all around. There were two smaller seperate pools for kids, but there were not any there during our visit.
There are Palace rooms and Riad Rooms (set in 4 Riad building around the pool and near to the Spa (not open at time of writing).
We had a Palace Room with a pool and Atlas view (503) which was also imense. 80sq metres which was the entrance and cloak area (with Nespresso machine) then an opulent bedroom with massive bed, silks and beautiful wooden floors, the terrace has a kingsize daybed, a couple of armchairs and a fgreat view.
Then there is a bathroom with double sinks, dressing table and a seperate dressing room, and a seperate WC and sep showeroom.
Spoilt for space in the lead in rooms!
There are also some suites which I didnt see, and the Royal Suite takes up the 2nd floor of the Palace.
Not for the fainthearted cost wise though, but as you would expect for this calibre of property.

Room Tip: Palace rooms are lovely, Atlas View is great. Cannot comment on the Riad Rooms as I didnt see thm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Barbara,
Thank you very much for your nice review,
We would be delighted to welcoming you in the future at Ttaj Palace Marrakech for a new unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakesh, Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My parents and I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful palace. We left the busy city streets for a luxurious, private , relaxing safe-haven. The employees went above and beyond to accomodate my every request and more. The welcome and the check- in is a truly unique experience that I have never seen in any other hotel previously. The asian restaurant is authentic with a fine service and chic atmosphere. The property itself is magnificent filled with rich -traditional colors. I enjoyed the Taj experience from beginning till end. We will definitely return for a relaxing, pampered, extravagant getaway!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d'avoir partagé votre belle expérience au Taj Palace Marrakech.
Vos remarques élogieuses sont d'une grande motivation pour l'ensemble de l'équipe.
Nous espérons vous recevoir très prochainement pour vous faire vivre une nouvelle expérience tout aussi exceptionnelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

hotel exceeded all expectations in every area . The welcome we received was incredible , our room was , to say the least , amazing. We ate in various restaurants , all top notch , breakfast was fantastic, We had a few drinks at the Bombay bar , a very special place , great ambience and very chilled. The grounds of this hotel are well worth taking the time to view , the huge pool area is relaxing and classy.
This hotel has definitely set the standard for all future hotel visits. Well done to all at the Taj Palace Marrakech, we loved our stay .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions tout dabord d'avoir choisis le Taj Palace Marrakech pour votre séjour,
Nous sommes ravis de lire que les moments passés parmis nous ont été de ceux qui comptent.
sachez que vos chaleureux commentaires concernant la décoration et la qualité de service ont été partagés avec les personnes ayant contribué au succés de votre séjour.
En esperant vous revoir trés bientot pour une nouvelle et unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough. We were greeted upon arrival by attentive staff, taken for a tour of the hotel and grounds by a very friendly Rena who worked the front desk, then seated in the stunning lounge for a traditional Moroccan tea & shown to our room within the hour. We arrived before the standard check in time but our room was ready and we were able to go straight up to relax after our early hours departure from the UK . The room was absolutely stunning, we were located in the main Palace building and looked out onto the pool area with the Atlas mountains on the horizon. A truly stunning and tranquil space. The food and service were absolutely out of this world and both my husband and I said it was like being on honeymoon, the personal touches the friendliness of the staff just left us feeling so overwhelmed. We met the next day with General Manager Yves who welcomed us, the whole team were just so welcoming and a real asset to the Taj group. The hotel at the time of out stay was on a soft opening, so very quiet, but just what we needed;leaving 2 children at home and our fast paced jobs it was just superb and so relaxing. The grounds and pool area are beautiful and the riad buldings gorgeous. I am already thinking about our return. We love you Taj Palace. Mr & Mrs Smith xxx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Smith,
Thank you very much for sharing your nice feedback via trip advisor
We are honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech and that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay.
We will share your kind comment with our team.
Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you for another beautiful experience at Taj Palace Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sahara Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Palace Marrakech

Address: Bp 12440 | P.O Box 12440 Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Palace Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Taj Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Taj Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Jiva Grande Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens.Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean, Indian and Pan-Asian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the legendary Taj service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Jiva Grande Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The Jiva Grande Spa is a concept which brings together the wisdom and heritage of the Indian philosophy and wellness. The spa experience includes Indian therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, Ayurveda, yoga and meditation. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sahara Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Palace Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.