We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same as Paul's of London” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie Paul

Patisserie Paul
Rue Allal Ben Ahmed | Gueliz., Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #430 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Same as Paul's of London”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Regardless of whether it is a blatant copy of Pauls in London or not - this place does a great coffee and a great crépe!!! Service was immediate, very friendly, prices in line with Tourism.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    5
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for dessert but not for a meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to Paul because it had been recommended by some friends, but I was rather disappointed with it, all-in-all.
The menu is somewhat limited to begin with, and when we tried to order the waiter told us that most of the dishes listed were not available. I don't know why he didn't explain that at the beginning when he gave us the menus.
The food was fine. The waiter was very friendly but a little slow with bringing the food, the check, etc., and it's inconvenient that they don't accept credit cards.
I would go back for the pastries but it was a mistake to go for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the setting. Terrible service followed by poor and overpriced food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Gueliz after seeing reviews for two restaurants on TA, the first Cafe Mado and the other L'annexe. Unfortunately neither was open so after a few minutes walk we came across Paul. From the outside it looked like a nice a peaceful setting however the staff spoke little or no English and my French is quite poor.

We attempted to order a salmon and beef stroganoff but what arrived was a poorly cooked steak
and dry salmon, we were less than impressed.

We were barely half way through dinner when the staff started to clear the tables of cutlery and table clothes. We thought they could have waited until we'd finished.

We think the owner was sat at one of the tables so you would expect an excellent service, sadly this was not to be.

The cost for some bread, two mains and two diet cokes was £30 which is a lot in Marrakech.

I would suggest a trip to Jemma el Fna to food stall 117 to see Jamie Oliver. Very good food, great value for money and funny people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped after a long walk from the gardens which are up ths road. The menu of the day was good value, for 3 courses. Excellent coffee and dessert, choc mousse cake was great. No wine but that is not a problem. They don't take credit card which is a, shame given the higher prices but there is an atm nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely cafe/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

An oasis in a desert of mediocrity. Lovely food, including fillet steak and chips! Fabulous display of bread and cakes. Only drawback was they have no alcohol license, despite there being beer and wine on the menu. We had one evening meal there, but were dissappointed on the drinks front. A must visit place for breakfast, lunch, or afternoon tea!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Paul also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Patisserie Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patisserie Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.