We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaca Badra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Abaca Badra to your Saves list
Riad Abaca Badra
203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved Riad Albaca Badra and it was perfect for our first visit to Marrakech. The hospitality is exceptional. Gilles and Dominique are really friendly and the perfect hosts.

Our room was beautiful and furnished in typical Moroccan fashion. It was very comfortable and the roof terrace is a lovely place to get away from the hustle and bustle and relax with a book.

The Riad itself is in an excellent location - very close to the souks and Jemaa el Fnaa. Gilles will arrange a transfer from the airport for you and I would definitely recommend this because it is not expensive and the Riad will be hard to find on your first visit.

We had a fabulous stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
200
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Giving the Riad Abaca Badra highly deserved full marks in this review worries me. Why? Because next time we, or the family and friends to whom we will certainly recommend it, try to make a reservation they will surely be fully booked.

There are not sufficient superlatives to describe the friendly, kind, willing and attentive treatment we received from Gilles and Dominique during the five days we stayed at their Riad.
From the warm reception upon arrival to the affectionate farewells, we felt we were staying with friends. The Riad itself is centrally but quietly located near many of the sights of Marrakech. It is stylish, comfortable and extremely clean a quiet haven in the bustling city. Everything worked well; powerful warm showers, excellent air-conditioning, a welcome jacuzzi on the sun trap roof-terrace.

Gilles arranged our pick up at the airport and from that moment our stay was perfect, thanks mainly to him and Dominique. Even when we became hopelessly lost on our first morning there, we rang them, in desperation, and Dominique was there, ten minutes later, to pick us up and guide us “home”.
Every time we returned, tired and thirsty, from our sightseeing, Gilles and Dominique were there with a cold drink and a friendly smile. We ate twice at the Riad; the food was very good value and delicious.
The warmth and willingness with which Gilles and Dominque treated us made us feel more like houseguests than paying customers. They honestly could not do enough for us and it would be safe to say that, without them, and the home from home they provided, our stay in Marrakech would not have been nearly as enjoyable.

I really don’t know how they manage to make all of their guests feel as special but they certainly do, as evidenced by the guest book which was filled with glowing praise and thanks. It must be so tiring explaining, guiding, making small talk with new faces over and over again but we never felt that it was difficult for them. They and their Riad are absolutely charming and I do not hesitate to give them the highest recommendation.

Sometimes when I read such effusive reviews I am worried that the hotel will not live up to my expectations. But if you receive the same service we did you will not be disappointed!

When we return to Marrakech it will definitely be to the Abaca Badra – if they’re not booked up years in advance!

Room Tip: We were in the rooms on the first floor with the little atrium lounge between us, which, as two coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic experience with Gilles and Dominique!! They thought of everything! They easily set up a last minute hamamm and massage appointment for us. The food was superb! Our stay was of such value because of the heart they put in their business. We highly recommend you book with them while visiting Marrakesh. We went during Ramandan, so restaurants were close for lunch. The owners invited us to share lunch with them, without charging us a dime. They are wonderful people and very professional too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a magical stay in the Abaca Badra in later July for a surprise birthday present for my partner. Even though I'd read on TA about Giles and Dominique's legendary hospitality, I got a nice taste before even arriving.

I casually asked if they could do anything special for a birthday and was pleasantly surprised as they prepared a special menu, created by their chef, based around our tastes and threw in a birthday cake - all for the regular menu price. The meal was absolutely exquisite and enormous too and a great start to our weekend.

Giles and Dominique are down to earth and exceptionally friendly. They helped us feel instantly welcome and gave us great tips to make the most out of our stay - make sure you organise your transfer (v. reasonable) through them too as it takes a while to find your way around the medina without getting hopelessly lost.

The Riad itself is calm (except when there's the call to prayer - but that just adds to the experience and can't be escaped in any case !) and airy offering excellent value for money with a pleasant roof terrace and nicely decorated bedrooms.

Next time I go back, I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Abaca Badra is very well located inside the Medina. It was close to the Souks and to ATM (always important since you can't use credit cards for anything). Gilles was very helpful with advice about where to go, how to bargain, and what to expect. The mint tea available anytime was a great hit with the kids. The place itself was quite nice, both the common areas and the rooms. We had a great time and would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This Riad is fantastic- excellent location and lovely helpful owners!
The rooms are beautifully decorated , the breakfast superb and a wonderfil roof terrace!
Only about 10 minutes walk to rhe main square- and you won't get lost!!
Cannot recommend the Riad more!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you're looking for a riad in central Marrakech look no further! The riad itself is a beautiful, peaceful haven and the rooms are spacious, traditionally designed, extremely clean, air conditioned and the large beds very comfortable. However what sets this apart from other hotels is the charm and hospitality of proprietors Gilles and Dominique who make you feel like one of the family - nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent and the best we ate during our 1 week stay and the added touches such as chilled, filtered water and beautiful toiletries make this the perfect place for a tranquil and relaxing break. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Abaca Badra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaca Badra

Address: 203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Abaca Badra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abaca Badra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.