We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaca Badra

Save Saved
You added Riad Abaca Badra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Abaca Badra
203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you're looking for a riad in central Marrakech look no further! The riad itself is a beautiful, peaceful haven and the rooms are spacious, traditionally designed, extremely clean, air conditioned and the large beds very comfortable. However what sets this apart from other hotels is the charm and hospitality of proprietors Gilles and Dominique who make you feel like one of the family - nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent and the best we ate during our 1 week stay and the added touches such as chilled, filtered water and beautiful toiletries make this the perfect place for a tranquil and relaxing break. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
130
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a fantastic short stay at the Riad in late July with my wife and daughter, we booked two rooms which were both decorated in typical morrocan style and best of all with good air-conditioning (40 plus degrees outside). The riad is located on a reasonably quiet street within the medina yet only a 10 minute walk to El Fna square, where everything happens in the evening. Nice roof terrace with sun beds, and seating (lovely place to sit with a bottle of wine to unwind after returning from a days sightseeing), good breakfast at whatever time you request, and an evening meal if you don't fancy going out. What makes this place really stand out from the crowd are the hosts Giles and Dominique, who go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. At breakfast one morning we asked if there was a small pool nearby for an afternoon dip just to escape the heat in between sightseeing, before we knew it Giles was on the internet looking and Dominique had shot out the door to go and inspect a pool at a nearby riad and to ask if we could use it - which we could - perfect. Many thanks Giles and Dominique for making our stay in Marrakech such a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Amazing.. everything. The ambiance, the owners.. the city. Of all the Riads that we stayed in.. this one was the best. The owners are so kind and the Riad is beautiful. The roof terrace is wonderful and provides a cool and relaxed area. The Riad is located in the center.. but still provides a quite place to have a good night. I really really really recommend this riad.. it felt like a home in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The stay at the Riad was really perfect. It was my first stay in a Riad and also in Marrakech and I didn't know what to expect? I loved the personal attention and care. I felt really at home and they were very helpfull explaining things about Marrakech and what to do. The breakfast was perfect. Dominique arranged also a nice Hamam treatment nearby. So it was the perfect getaway in the busy hot city of Marrakech.

Room Tip: I think it is better to get a room in the upper floor(s). You have a bit more privacy during breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my girlfriend found this riad trhough tripadvisor, and we figured we couldn't go wrong with all these great reviews. And we we're right! From the moment we arrived till the moment we left, it was an amazing place! Gilles and Dominique are the nicest people you'll ever meet, and they really go above and beyond for you. Gilles arranged a rental car for us, and whenever we had questions about the city or anything they took the time for us.

The place itself is really charming, with nice big rooms. Our room had a goodworking air conditioner, really happy with that since it was 40+ degrees Celcius outside in june.
The roofterrace is great place to chill at the end of a busy day and the shower/tub is great for a cooldown! Breakfasts were great (and a lot!) and the first-day-meal they offered us was lovely! The free tea and the waterfountain (filtered) we're an huge assett, we didn't have to buy any bottles of water for the room.

Another big plus: it's quiet. When the door closes behind you when entering the riad, you'll hear nothing... which, after in a crowdy city like Marrakech, is a huge plus!

We will definitely go back to this riad whenever we go back to Marrakech, you can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: We stayed in room Fez, which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Riad very much. We spent there 2 nights. The location of Riad is great - close to all attractions of the city. The hosts are increadible - thank you Dominique and Gilles for a wonderful stay! They are also very helpful and engaged. Riad is not a 5* resort but atmosphere is something difficult to describe - you really feel like home!! We were given also a small gift from Dominique.
Breakfasts are fine, wifi is in the whole Riad, it is very secure and clean place. I think it is the best place we stayed in Morocco.
Should you visit Marrakech, you must stay there!!

Room Tip: all of them are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have stayed with Gilles&Dominique during our short visit to Marrakesh in July 2013. It is really hard to add to all great reviews of this place, but we still feel that the kind of hospitality we've received from our beautiful hosts needs to be noted. The place is located on quiet street not far from all main attractions. We highly recommend to stay with Gilles&Dominique to anyone travelling to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Abaca Badra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaca Badra

Address: 203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Abaca Badra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abaca Badra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.