We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad with intimate atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaca Badra

Save Saved
You added Riad Abaca Badra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Abaca Badra
203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely riad with intimate atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed staying in Riad Abaca Badra very much. Our only regret was that we could not have stayed longer!

This is a newly renovated, small but nice riad near to the square in Marrakech. Location is great. From the riad, we could walk to the square through some clearly recognizable main roads, without the need to be afraid of losing ourselves in the medina.

Best of all, Dominique and Gilles are great hosts who always show friendliness and warmth! When we arrived at the riad, they welcomed us with mint tea and snack, and chatted with us like old friends. Our room was ready, and we were so glad to find out that it was so lovely! It was small but cosy. The pot of roses, the plate of fruits, the rose petals on our bed...... everything could show the thoughtfulness and gentleness of our hosts.

The only drawback was that the mattress was a bit too soft for us. Sleep quality could be improved if the mattress was harder.

Overall, we were much pleased with the intimate and relaxing atmosphere in this little riad. And we are already looking forward to come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
122
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The first two days of our trip to Morocco, we stayed in Riad Abaca Badra with my husband. I had chosen this riad after reading all the positive reviews in tripadvisor. They are so true. The riad is charming, lovely and clean. The location is great. But more than all of this, it is about Dominique and Gilles... They are really incredible hosts, warm, helpful and very considerate. They greeted us with a very warm welcome, served us the best mint tea we drank in Morocco, provided us everything we needed, (even medicine and thermometer when my husband got sick) and answered everything we asked... We left Marrakesh to go to Essaouira and then to the desert. On our last night we came back to Marrakesh, and ofcourse went to Abaca Badra. It was like being at home. Dominique and Gilles had saved the same room for us, decorated our bed and our towels with rose leaves. The next morning our train to Casablanca was very early. When we woke up, it was a very nice surprise to find our breakfast ready, our transfer organized, Dominique and Gilles at the door waving hands to us, at six thirty in the morning. It is our pleasure to recommend Abaca Badra... Esra&Vedat

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed a total of 5 nights in this riad in March 2013. Its number one quality is the outstanding service provided by Dominique and Gilles (and their staff). At all times warm, cheerful and available, they went over and above the call of duty to meet every need and answer every question we had, greatly contributing to our overall enjoyment of our stay in Marrakech.

They provided lots of good advice, for example, and restaurant recommendations, and lent us guide books, maps, and even an umbrella one rainy evening! (Oh, and some medicine too when one of us found herself feeling slightly sick one morning - that saved our day!)

One of the things we also appreciated was the fact that they didn't impose hours for serving breakfast and that they served a different local specialty every day, which were a delight to discover. We also had a chance to try a three-course dinner they prepared - it was excellent! And the mint tea they served from Day 1 to our last day was the best we ever had in the city.

It was also extremely appreciable that they generously provided filtered water (we filled up a big water bottle every morning to bring along on our tour of the city).

The rooms were lovely, spacious and clean; the riad, enchanting - an overall comforting haven of peace amidst this bustling city.

Once more, we can't emphasize it enough - Dominique and Gilles are truly remarkable hosts! We recommend.

Nicole & Ben

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The riad is great, but what really makes this place are the owners!
When we make it back to Marocco, we know exactly where to stay. This is the place to stay in Marrakech! Groetjes en kusjes vanuit Brugge (Lieselot et stefaan)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We originally planned to stay here for one night but liked the place so much we booked in again when we came back to Marrakech.

Our hosts Gilles and Dominique were really friendly and had lovely homemade treats for us - it helped that my travelling companion spoke French though!

It's about 10 minutes walk (direct) to the main square, but much more fun to get lost and wonder around. It's also conveniently close to the main bus station to get out and about in Morocco.

Lovely rooms, fantastically decorated and a rooftop terrace to die for with tables, sun loungers and a covered seating area.

Would definitely recommend this place to others!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We discovered the Riad by chance walking by the Medina in need of an extra night in Marrakech, and we were delighted! Very friendly and helpful hosts, impeccable room, charming patio, very centrally located, for a very competitive price. And since we needed to leave for the Airport early in the morning, we even got breakfast served at 3.30 am - we did not expect so much! - and a reliable lift to the airport arranged for us. We are very grateful to the hosts for the treat, the local tips and the good atmosphere. Strongly recommended for better planners than we are!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked this Riad originally for 5 nights on a friend's recommendation no problem by e-mail. The owners Dominique and Gilles, a French couple, arranged a very inexpensive pick-up for us from the airport. The Riad is located very conveniently in a quiet side alley from a very busy and happening part of the Medina, very picturesque and local indeed.

Once arrived, Gilles greeted us with Moroccan tea and cookies making us feel right at home. That night, we ate a fantastic home cooked dinner at the Riad made by a superb Moroccan cook, who exclusively works for Gilles & Dominique. The food was incredible and included starters, made course, wine, dessert, etc! The dinner was free for us because we booked a 5-night stay, otherwise it would have been for pay at a reasonable price.

The Riad only has 4 guest rooms, so the atmosphere is very intimate and relaxed. The owners both live in a room on the base floor. The rooms are great and come with shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, towels, fruit basket etc. Wifi internet is available in the entire house. A really nice rooftop deck makes for a great spot for sunbathing, reading, or enjoying a small whirlpool in the midst of the Medina.

But by far the best about this Riad are the owners themselves. Gilles made breakfast consisting of home made bread, cake, Moroccon pancakes, eggs, tea, coffee, juice and jams every morning at whatever time we would request - no matter if 4am or 12pm! Gilles and Dominique booked restaurants for us - even though we made them go through the trouble of cancelling them later on several times!! - showed us what places to see; Gilles even bought some Moroccan tea for us on our departure day because we ran out of time to do so by ourselves!

We also left the Riad to go to Essaouira by the coast. While in Essaouira, we decided to extend our seaside stay from 1 to 2 nights on very short notice, and even this was no problem for Gilles & Dominique. In fact, because they had been so incredibly nice and helpful to us the entire time, we wanted to pay for the one night we cancelled on them on short notice (during high season!), but Gilles refused to let us pay for it! When we managed to at least tipp a generous amount extra, he put the money in the jar for his staff (cleaning lady, cook, drivers, etc.).

Overall, our stay in this Riad was absolutely amazing! Unfortunately, we did not speak French well, but Gilles & Dominique compensated for it, so we could converse in basic English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Abaca Badra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaca Badra

Address: 203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Abaca Badra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abaca Badra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.