We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incomparable service, lovely riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaca Badra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Abaca Badra to your Saves list
Riad Abaca Badra
203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Incomparable service, lovely riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed a total of 5 nights in this riad in March 2013. Its number one quality is the outstanding service provided by Dominique and Gilles (and their staff). At all times warm, cheerful and available, they went over and above the call of duty to meet every need and answer every question we had, greatly contributing to our overall enjoyment of our stay in Marrakech.

They provided lots of good advice, for example, and restaurant recommendations, and lent us guide books, maps, and even an umbrella one rainy evening! (Oh, and some medicine too when one of us found herself feeling slightly sick one morning - that saved our day!)

One of the things we also appreciated was the fact that they didn't impose hours for serving breakfast and that they served a different local specialty every day, which were a delight to discover. We also had a chance to try a three-course dinner they prepared - it was excellent! And the mint tea they served from Day 1 to our last day was the best we ever had in the city.

It was also extremely appreciable that they generously provided filtered water (we filled up a big water bottle every morning to bring along on our tour of the city).

The rooms were lovely, spacious and clean; the riad, enchanting - an overall comforting haven of peace amidst this bustling city.

Once more, we can't emphasize it enough - Dominique and Gilles are truly remarkable hosts! We recommend.

Nicole & Ben

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
201
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The riad is great, but what really makes this place are the owners!
When we make it back to Marocco, we know exactly where to stay. This is the place to stay in Marrakech! Groetjes en kusjes vanuit Brugge (Lieselot et stefaan)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We originally planned to stay here for one night but liked the place so much we booked in again when we came back to Marrakech.

Our hosts Gilles and Dominique were really friendly and had lovely homemade treats for us - it helped that my travelling companion spoke French though!

It's about 10 minutes walk (direct) to the main square, but much more fun to get lost and wonder around. It's also conveniently close to the main bus station to get out and about in Morocco.

Lovely rooms, fantastically decorated and a rooftop terrace to die for with tables, sun loungers and a covered seating area.

Would definitely recommend this place to others!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We discovered the Riad by chance walking by the Medina in need of an extra night in Marrakech, and we were delighted! Very friendly and helpful hosts, impeccable room, charming patio, very centrally located, for a very competitive price. And since we needed to leave for the Airport early in the morning, we even got breakfast served at 3.30 am - we did not expect so much! - and a reliable lift to the airport arranged for us. We are very grateful to the hosts for the treat, the local tips and the good atmosphere. Strongly recommended for better planners than we are!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked this Riad originally for 5 nights on a friend's recommendation no problem by e-mail. The owners Dominique and Gilles, a French couple, arranged a very inexpensive pick-up for us from the airport. The Riad is located very conveniently in a quiet side alley from a very busy and happening part of the Medina, very picturesque and local indeed.

Once arrived, Gilles greeted us with Moroccan tea and cookies making us feel right at home. That night, we ate a fantastic home cooked dinner at the Riad made by a superb Moroccan cook, who exclusively works for Gilles & Dominique. The food was incredible and included starters, made course, wine, dessert, etc! The dinner was free for us because we booked a 5-night stay, otherwise it would have been for pay at a reasonable price.

The Riad only has 4 guest rooms, so the atmosphere is very intimate and relaxed. The owners both live in a room on the base floor. The rooms are great and come with shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, towels, fruit basket etc. Wifi internet is available in the entire house. A really nice rooftop deck makes for a great spot for sunbathing, reading, or enjoying a small whirlpool in the midst of the Medina.

But by far the best about this Riad are the owners themselves. Gilles made breakfast consisting of home made bread, cake, Moroccon pancakes, eggs, tea, coffee, juice and jams every morning at whatever time we would request - no matter if 4am or 12pm! Gilles and Dominique booked restaurants for us - even though we made them go through the trouble of cancelling them later on several times!! - showed us what places to see; Gilles even bought some Moroccan tea for us on our departure day because we ran out of time to do so by ourselves!

We also left the Riad to go to Essaouira by the coast. While in Essaouira, we decided to extend our seaside stay from 1 to 2 nights on very short notice, and even this was no problem for Gilles & Dominique. In fact, because they had been so incredibly nice and helpful to us the entire time, we wanted to pay for the one night we cancelled on them on short notice (during high season!), but Gilles refused to let us pay for it! When we managed to at least tipp a generous amount extra, he put the money in the jar for his staff (cleaning lady, cook, drivers, etc.).

Overall, our stay in this Riad was absolutely amazing! Unfortunately, we did not speak French well, but Gilles & Dominique compensated for it, so we could converse in basic English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We only spent one night at Riad Abaca Badra but the experience was simply amazing.
The riad is very well located (some 10 minutes walking from the Djemaa El Fna's square) and the premises are extraordinary: spacious, clean and superb rooms, great terrace, magical athmosphere and exceptional patio.
We have been spoiled by the hosts (Gilles and Dominique) with a great breakfast, an unforgettable maroccan dinner and a constant assistance and support. The perfect oasis after several hours of walking in the busy Marrakech. Do not miss it!

Room Tip: For an extra cost, select the suite rooms and try their typical maroccan dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Marrakech at Abaca Badra.

What a friendly and welcoming riad!

Gilles, the owner, organised our transfer from the airport and welcomed us with some mint tea (moroccan whisky!!) and a smile, plus lots of recommendations and dos and don'ts. Since we had never visited Marrakech before, but had heard a range of stories from other visitors, this was helpful and made us feel more confident to go out and explore the city.

The riad's location is ideal: close enough to the square to be near the action, but accessible without going through narrow streets too late at night. Gilles or Dominique are always there to welcome you in or help you out. In fact, it feels more like staying with a family friend.

We stayed in the famed "dark ground floor room" but apart from maybe the lack of sound proofing, it was a lovely little room. To be honest, we were only in our room to sleep anyway! Note to young couples: there is no bathroom door - only a curtain!

Like everything else in the riad, breakfast was thoughtful and adapted to each individual. You could eat at any time you liked, which was a definite bonus.

The only negative was that the call to prayer was VERY loud during the night, but this is to be expected when visiting Muslim countries.

All in all, a lovely property, not too hard to find, made special by attentive and caring owners. I would recommend it to anyone, especially those looking for a tranquil haven from which to escape the hustle and bustle of the medina.

We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#2 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Abaca Badra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaca Badra

Address: 203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abaca Badra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.