We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not imagine a better Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaca Badra

Save Saved
You added Riad Abaca Badra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Abaca Badra
203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rural England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Could not imagine a better Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Marrakech at Abaca Badra.

What a friendly and welcoming riad!

Gilles, the owner, organised our transfer from the airport and welcomed us with some mint tea (moroccan whisky!!) and a smile, plus lots of recommendations and dos and don'ts. Since we had never visited Marrakech before, but had heard a range of stories from other visitors, this was helpful and made us feel more confident to go out and explore the city.

The riad's location is ideal: close enough to the square to be near the action, but accessible without going through narrow streets too late at night. Gilles or Dominique are always there to welcome you in or help you out. In fact, it feels more like staying with a family friend.

We stayed in the famed "dark ground floor room" but apart from maybe the lack of sound proofing, it was a lovely little room. To be honest, we were only in our room to sleep anyway! Note to young couples: there is no bathroom door - only a curtain!

Like everything else in the riad, breakfast was thoughtful and adapted to each individual. You could eat at any time you liked, which was a definite bonus.

The only negative was that the call to prayer was VERY loud during the night, but this is to be expected when visiting Muslim countries.

All in all, a lovely property, not too hard to find, made special by attentive and caring owners. I would recommend it to anyone, especially those looking for a tranquil haven from which to escape the hustle and bustle of the medina.

We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
122
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from, in effect, two stays there. (4 nights, then 3 in the mountains, then back for our last night.) Gilles and Dominique really made us feel at home. The rooms are nice- arranged around a central courtyard as is the case in nice Arab town-houses. There is a roof terrace, which is not overlooked, and plenty of space in other parts of the house to sit in, outside of one's room. It is in the old city and yet quiet, as there isn't much traffic. Everything of interest is no more than 10 minutes or so away on foot. There are lots of little shops in the immediate vicinity if you need toothpaste or anything else you have forgotten.
We had two meals there, done by one of the staff, and they were the nicest of any we ate in the Medina.
Gilles is a hero! He not only sorted us out with a hire car for our trip to Essouira, but drove us himself out of the city gate, and when we came back, collected us so we didn't have the difficulty of trying to drive through the narrow streets to the Riad. That's SERVICE!
Just remember, please, that Riads are, indeed, converted town houses so please don't go there expecting to be in a Holiday Inn or Four Seasons: they are not those sort of places. You will also hear the call to prayer, which is a bit intrusive, but in a Muslim country you will hear it everywhere.
When we return to Marrakech, we will not be looking for anywhere else to stay.

One Tip- there are Riads with a similar name, so make sure you have the spelling correct, or, like me, you might start off at the wrong Riad!

Room Tip: All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Awesome place and very frielndly and funny staff. Relaxing atmosphere and great rooms with a fantastic breakfast. Just when the streets of Marrakesh tire you out, you have a relaxing place like this one to retreat to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Riad Abaca Badra is a great place to stay. It is located on a quiet street less than ten minutes walk from Jama el Fnaa, which is ideal. The riad is elegant and traditional, with spacious, comfortable rooms; it is also clean and very secure. The hosts Gilles and Dominique are welcoming and helpful, and always happy to provide Moroccan mint tea and sweets by way of refreshment. The breakfast (provided at whatever hour you want) includes cactus honey, freshly pressed orange juice and french coffee. Abaca Badra succeeds in combining the intimacy and authenticity of a proper riad with a very high and personal standard of service. If you are going to stay in Marakesh I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from four lovely nights at Riad Abaca Badra. The riad is quite small and so feels very personal. We were very wonderfully looked after by Gilles who was always available with advice or a recommendation for dinner. He provided a delicious breakfast every morning at any time we chose, so we were able to sleep late, and he also provided mint tea and little Morrocan gateaux (my favourite) whenever requested.

I really loved our room (a suite on the upper floor). It had an excellent hot shower, plenty of space, and was cleaned every day. On our first day the bed was sprinkled with petals, and there were fresh flowers in a vase. What a treat!

Finally, the location of the riad was excellent, within an easy walk of the main square but in a slightly quieter area.

The roof terrace is lovely and comes with sunbeds, towels and sunhats provided. The only slight disappointment for me was that the hot tub was not working, but I know that they are trying to get it fixed.

To conclude, Gilles consistently went the 'extra mile' to make sure we had a good stay, including accompanying me to the patesserie to buy gateaux at locals' prices, and so thanks to him and the comfort of the riad we really did have the most relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The cheapest room (on the ground floor) looked a little dark - I would recommend paying the little e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

cactus honey, self made jam and fresh croissants as well as typical moroccan bread for breakfast - the french owners really try their best to make you feel welcome and take care of all the small details.

We arrived at 7 o'clock in the morning in Marrakech after getting of a nightbus having no reservation and just knocked at the door of the riad trying to find a place for a night. The owner welcomed us very friendly, even though it was so early and let us settle down in all tranquility. After a short nap it was time to get something to eat and the owner recommend a wonderful seafood restaurant in the new part of town.
if you have any sorts of questions or request, don't hesitate to ask them, they always offer really friendly and great advice, they know where to go to a good Hammam, lunch, dinner and can also offer you a bottle of wine from their fridge.
In the morning, before we checked out, they even heated up the rooftop yacuzzi for us (which you need to ask for well in advance, because it heats up extremly slow).

I would stay here anytime again and can only recommend this place!

The only doubt I would have about is that it is not really soundproof, but most of the guesthouses/hostels/riads I have been to in Marrakech aren't. This however was not any issue for us, since we were the only guests at the time, so I don't know what it's like when the place is full.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for just over a week and had such a lovely time.

Gilles and Dominique are so welcoming and really go out of their way to make you feel at home. They can provide detailed advice on Marrakesh itself and possible trips to the local area.

The riad itself is very pretty and the room in which we stayed was spacious and comfortable. The location is very central, within easy walking distance to all the key sites but still very quiet. The breakfast was always generous and tasty, plus we had all the moroccan mint tea we could drink!

Riad Abaca Badra is brilliant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fez room, on the first floor which was large, comfortable with an excellent en suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Abaca Badra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaca Badra

Address: 203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Abaca Badra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abaca Badra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.