We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent cosy small personal family run riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaca Badra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Abaca Badra to your Saves list
Riad Abaca Badra
203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€44 (EUR)
Ranked #3 of 1,136 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent cosy small personal family run riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

cactus honey, self made jam and fresh croissants as well as typical moroccan bread for breakfast - the french owners really try their best to make you feel welcome and take care of all the small details.

We arrived at 7 o'clock in the morning in Marrakech after getting of a nightbus having no reservation and just knocked at the door of the riad trying to find a place for a night. The owner welcomed us very friendly, even though it was so early and let us settle down in all tranquility. After a short nap it was time to get something to eat and the owner recommend a wonderful seafood restaurant in the new part of town.
if you have any sorts of questions or request, don't hesitate to ask them, they always offer really friendly and great advice, they know where to go to a good Hammam, lunch, dinner and can also offer you a bottle of wine from their fridge.
In the morning, before we checked out, they even heated up the rooftop yacuzzi for us (which you need to ask for well in advance, because it heats up extremly slow).

I would stay here anytime again and can only recommend this place!

The only doubt I would have about is that it is not really soundproof, but most of the guesthouses/hostels/riads I have been to in Marrakech aren't. This however was not any issue for us, since we were the only guests at the time, so I don't know what it's like when the place is full.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
202
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for just over a week and had such a lovely time.

Gilles and Dominique are so welcoming and really go out of their way to make you feel at home. They can provide detailed advice on Marrakesh itself and possible trips to the local area.

The riad itself is very pretty and the room in which we stayed was spacious and comfortable. The location is very central, within easy walking distance to all the key sites but still very quiet. The breakfast was always generous and tasty, plus we had all the moroccan mint tea we could drink!

Riad Abaca Badra is brilliant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fez room, on the first floor which was large, comfortable with an excellent en suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Me and my boyfriend only stayed her for one night, but we really loved this place. Gilles and Dominique is the nicest couple and they really did the best to make us feel welcome. They doesnt speak that much english, but it was not a big problem - they can explain the most important stuff for you. Gilles recomended a restaurant called Tiznit, on Jama el Fnaa, and it really had the best chicken tajine in the city. We went there twice, its a must! As we went straight to the mountains after our stay, Gilles took care of our luggage and transported it to our next riad. For free! Before we decided to go to the mountains we had actually booked the riad for two nights, but Gilles took care of it and we only had to pay for one night. Really excellent service! The breakfast is very good, and they give you water for free. The riad is also close to everything, but at the same time situated in a quiet street. A very nice experience!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Zagora, it was very nice with a big bathroom. It is situated on the second floor, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praestoe, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Riad Abaca Badre is a wonderful place to stay. It has great rooms with beautiful mosaics and very friendly hosts, who will do their very best to make your stay unforgettable. Its an advantage to speak French or else you will just have a good laught about the small language difficullities :-) Situated only a 10 minutes walk from the big central marketplace, Riad Abaca Badre is outstanding and worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a great experience in this Riad. We were welcomed with some tea and sat down with the two lovely french owners and other guests. The Riad looked great and everything worked fine, at the rooftop they had a jacuzi, which we didn't used but it is possible. In Morocco it is not possible to drink tap water but at this Riad they have a tap where you can fill your bottle with drinking water so that is great when you leave the Riad in the morning to visit the city of Marrakesh, the Jemaa el-Fnaa square is about a 10 minute walk. The breakfast is good with coffee/tea, orange juice, different kind of bread, delicious cactus honey, sweet figs and strawberry jam. They even got up at 6 in the morning to make breakfast for us. Although their English is not very good and my french not so good it was still possible to talk to them and ask for good things to visit in the city and asking for good restaurants. They made a reservation for us at Le Chat Qui Rit which is a great french restaurant and reasonable priced.

This is a great place to stay when you are in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#7 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#5 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Abaca Badra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaca Badra

Address: 203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,136 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abaca Badra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.