We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalinka Lotus

Save Saved
You added Riad Kalinka Lotus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Kalinka Lotus
25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Abdel was the perfect host for our stay and in fact made our stay. Staying in a riad gives you a really genuine Morrocan experience. He kindly upgraded us when we arrived and provided us with the best tea in the city. The Riad is about a 15 minute walk from the medina, this is fine once you get used to it - a bit of a culture shock the first couple of times but a great experience and there was always a warm welcome when you get back to the riad which was lovely. Read about what and what not to do when Marrakech, our research beforehand was invaluable. Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The room smelled of damp, it was spacious though. I had to ask for the keys for them to give me them which i thought was a bit weird, but i guess is just the culture. Wifi didn't work in my room. Breakfast was not that nice and the orange juice was carton juice, not natural (considering the orange is so cheap over there!!). The swimming pool doesn’t work. The staff was friendly though and the manager had a good conversational English.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leewarden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a wonderfull stay in Riad Kalinka Lotus with Abdel. He was a great host, very friendly and willing to make our holiday a special one. He was not just a host in his Riad but also he adviced us about several things and organised some of our trips to the Atlas mountain and to the coast, with an excellent, german and english speaking driver (Samir) and a good car. The Riad is a very quiet place, which was cleaned by Souad in a very friendly and loving way. We could share our thoughts and values in life, had fun, talked and drinked together, so in the end we said goodbye as friends. Very recommendable!!!! Just 15 minutes walking from the square Djemaa el Fna and the souks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friend Anastasia and I, visited Marrakesh in December 2013 for 5 days. Our stay in the Riad Kalinka Lotus was one of the most amazing experiences we had in Morocco! The riad is close by to Jemna-El-Fna and I would propose to visit it during the summer so you can enjoy a dive in the small swimming pool and a late drink in the terrace, it is very romantic. The riad was beautifully decorated with modern furniture and eastern vibe and is far more impressive than the pictures in the site. Our room was more than spacious and the first day it was exceptionally decorated with rose petals on the bed! Moreover, our last night we were transferred to the junior suit without any charge!
The highlight of the riad however, despite its comforts and ambient, was its stuff! Latifa was the cook and cleaner there, she is a very nice lady, she made us every day a tasty breakfast and always greeted us with a smile. Abdellatif was the best host ever, he made us feel like home! He was extremely helpful with all the things that came up, from picking us up from the airport and drawing us map to the city to making us every day fresh mint tea and cooking for us traditional Moroccan dishes! He is a great professional, he is enthusiastic about his work and his country and depicts a perfect image of the Moroccan people.
I am glad to say we made a friend in Morocco! I highly recommend your stay in the riad!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Based on our tremendous experience the first time in this riad, we decided to book again for another week during our next vacation. As expected, Abdellatif the host and the riad were fabulous and made our stay extremely wonderful. Abdellatif made us dinner (tangine!) even when our flight into Marrakech arrived after 11 pm at night. He also put us in touch with a trekking agency for us to climb Mt Toubkal, and kept checking back with us before we arrived if our coordination with that trekking agency was going well. I will stay with Abdellatif and his riad 100% on our next visits, and can unequivocally recommend him and his riad. Furthermore, after our return from the trek, we were unable to stay at his place for 2 nights (my mistake). Abdellatif ensured we had another great riad to stay at. I didn't even ask where this place was. I just left it all to Abdellatif. Again, the other riad was spectacular, and even closer to Djemma El Fna.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our stay at the Riad was fantastic. Abdellatif and the staff were fantastic hosts and went well above and beyond to make us feel at home - they were especially good with all the young children. The Riad looked even better than in the photos and was perfect for our group of 6 adults and 3 young children. The location is in a quiet and safe part of the Medina a 15min walk from the main square.

We ate at the Riad almost every night and the home cooked meals were great - the whole group enjoyed every meal! Abdellatif also organised several very good excursions for us and got a baby sitter at very short notice one evening. Overall it was a wonderful stay for all of us!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Kalinka Lotus for our 5 night break in Marrakech. This Riad is a wonderfully restored example and is decorated to a high standard throughout – we had originally booked the Junior suite, but on arrival Abdellatif upgraded us to the Deluxe Suite for no extra charge. The room was spacious with a large bathroom and was very comfortable.


Abdellatif arranges airport transfers to the Riad and I thoroughly recommend this service as the Medina is a maze of tiny streets which can be very confusing to new arrivals.
Despite the busy city just outside the front door, the Riad is incredibly quiet and a relaxing place to stay after a long day of exploring. There are large communal areas on the ground floor by the pool as well as a fantastic roof terrace – perfect for relaxing in the sun.

The main highlight of this Riad is the staff – Abdellatif was very welcoming and offered plenty of advice on places to visit (with his hand drawn map you can easily explore the city without getting lost!). He also arranged a day trip to the Atlas Mountains with his private driver, Ismail. This was very well priced and allowed us to explore outside of the City.

Latifa made us breakfast each morning, cooked a delicious Moroccan dinner one evening (which could have fed 6 people!) and kept the Riad clean each day. She brought mint tea and coffee while we were relaxing in the Riad and made us feel very comfortable.

Overall, we had a perfect 5 day stay in Marrakech and this Riad was the main reason for that – it feels far more comfortable and relaxed than a hotel while giving an authentic Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kalinka Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalinka Lotus

Address: 25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina, close to the Jamaa elfna, souks, Riad Kalinka Lotus welcomes you. with easy access by vehicle, carriage, Riad has five rooms and suites equipped with bathroom, breakfast included, pool, terrace lounge, bar, living room tv and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riad Kalinka Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalinka Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.