We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalinka Lotus

Save Saved
You added Riad Kalinka Lotus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Kalinka Lotus
25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friend Anastasia and I, visited Marrakesh in December 2013 for 5 days. Our stay in the Riad Kalinka Lotus was one of the most amazing experiences we had in Morocco! The riad is close by to Jemna-El-Fna and I would propose to visit it during the summer so you can enjoy a dive in the small swimming pool and a late drink in the terrace, it is very romantic. The riad was beautifully decorated with modern furniture and eastern vibe and is far more impressive than the pictures in the site. Our room was more than spacious and the first day it was exceptionally decorated with rose petals on the bed! Moreover, our last night we were transferred to the junior suit without any charge!
The highlight of the riad however, despite its comforts and ambient, was its stuff! Latifa was the cook and cleaner there, she is a very nice lady, she made us every day a tasty breakfast and always greeted us with a smile. Abdellatif was the best host ever, he made us feel like home! He was extremely helpful with all the things that came up, from picking us up from the airport and drawing us map to the city to making us every day fresh mint tea and cooking for us traditional Moroccan dishes! He is a great professional, he is enthusiastic about his work and his country and depicts a perfect image of the Moroccan people.
I am glad to say we made a friend in Morocco! I highly recommend your stay in the riad!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Based on our tremendous experience the first time in this riad, we decided to book again for another week during our next vacation. As expected, Abdellatif the host and the riad were fabulous and made our stay extremely wonderful. Abdellatif made us dinner (tangine!) even when our flight into Marrakech arrived after 11 pm at night. He also put us in touch with a trekking agency for us to climb Mt Toubkal, and kept checking back with us before we arrived if our coordination with that trekking agency was going well. I will stay with Abdellatif and his riad 100% on our next visits, and can unequivocally recommend him and his riad. Furthermore, after our return from the trek, we were unable to stay at his place for 2 nights (my mistake). Abdellatif ensured we had another great riad to stay at. I didn't even ask where this place was. I just left it all to Abdellatif. Again, the other riad was spectacular, and even closer to Djemma El Fna.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our stay at the Riad was fantastic. Abdellatif and the staff were fantastic hosts and went well above and beyond to make us feel at home - they were especially good with all the young children. The Riad looked even better than in the photos and was perfect for our group of 6 adults and 3 young children. The location is in a quiet and safe part of the Medina a 15min walk from the main square.

We ate at the Riad almost every night and the home cooked meals were great - the whole group enjoyed every meal! Abdellatif also organised several very good excursions for us and got a baby sitter at very short notice one evening. Overall it was a wonderful stay for all of us!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Kalinka Lotus for our 5 night break in Marrakech. This Riad is a wonderfully restored example and is decorated to a high standard throughout – we had originally booked the Junior suite, but on arrival Abdellatif upgraded us to the Deluxe Suite for no extra charge. The room was spacious with a large bathroom and was very comfortable.


Abdellatif arranges airport transfers to the Riad and I thoroughly recommend this service as the Medina is a maze of tiny streets which can be very confusing to new arrivals.
Despite the busy city just outside the front door, the Riad is incredibly quiet and a relaxing place to stay after a long day of exploring. There are large communal areas on the ground floor by the pool as well as a fantastic roof terrace – perfect for relaxing in the sun.

The main highlight of this Riad is the staff – Abdellatif was very welcoming and offered plenty of advice on places to visit (with his hand drawn map you can easily explore the city without getting lost!). He also arranged a day trip to the Atlas Mountains with his private driver, Ismail. This was very well priced and allowed us to explore outside of the City.

Latifa made us breakfast each morning, cooked a delicious Moroccan dinner one evening (which could have fed 6 people!) and kept the Riad clean each day. She brought mint tea and coffee while we were relaxing in the Riad and made us feel very comfortable.

Overall, we had a perfect 5 day stay in Marrakech and this Riad was the main reason for that – it feels far more comfortable and relaxed than a hotel while giving an authentic Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had an awesome stay. We are a family of four and our host was Abdellatif. I say "host", because he was helpful in every way. The ambience of this riad was splendid, and my kids looked forward to coming back to this riad at the end of the day touring Marrakech. Only 30 minutes by foot to the center of the square and souks. The beds were very comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious. The service was phenomenal. We had dinner twice at the riad, and both times, they were superb. It was so nice to come back to the riad and have our own private dinner. Abdellatif was able to organize a private desert Sahara trip for us that was very competitive price-wise, and turned out to also be outstanding. There were absolutely no negatives or downsides to our stay. Abdellatif even called the driver as we were driving to the airport and we met up with him just outside of the medina to say our goodbyes. The whole time and place felt like home. It really doesn't get better than that. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ended up staying in Kalinka Lotus for 4 nights. We booked the smallest room, but before we arrived we were already upgraded to a junior suite, because the Riad was empty and the manager Abdellatif "could spare the room". Great service.

The room was great and the other rooms also looked very good. The Riad has been renovated recently and is decorated elegantly. It is in a traditional Moroccon style but doesn't have the over the top decorations you see in some Riads. The common areas were very comfortable and spacious. The roof terrace is amazing and is a great place to enjoy the tasty breakfast the Riad serves every morning.

The best thing about the Riad was the staff. The manager Abdellatif was a great host and he made sure you were always comfortable. Truly 5 star service. At the end of our trip my girlfriend became ill and we decide not to fly at the last minute. We called Abdellatif to ask him to pick us up again at the airport to stay another night in the rias. Within 30 minutes his driver Ismail was there and brought us back. The cleaning lady and cook even prepared a special tea for my girlfriend's upset stomach. And Abdellatif cooked a tajine for us himself that evening.

The only negative point I can think of was that the cleaning was sloppy on 1 or 2 occasions. But that was solved immediately after we mentioned it.

All in all one of the best hotel experiences we ever had. A big recommendation for anyone staying in Marrakech.

Room Tip: The junior suite has a window next to a mosque, but if you can't stand that, you shouldn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chur, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We (10 female students from Switzerland) have chosen the Riad Kalinka Lotus as our accommodation for a study trip to Marrakech and we never regreded our choice. For us, it was not just an accommodation, it was like a cozy home abroad. We were spoilt by Abdellatif and his lovely staff and they made our whole stay unforgettable.
The whole Riad is lovely decorated and clean and during leisure time, we enjoyed the roof terrace and the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kalinka Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalinka Lotus

Address: 25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina, close to the Jamaa elfna, souks, Riad Kalinka Lotus welcomes you. with easy access by vehicle, carriage, Riad has five rooms and suites equipped with bathroom, breakfast included, pool, terrace lounge, bar, living room tv and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Kalinka Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalinka Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.