We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy home abroad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalinka Lotus

Save Saved
You added Riad Kalinka Lotus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Kalinka Lotus
25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chur, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A cozy home abroad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We (10 female students from Switzerland) have chosen the Riad Kalinka Lotus as our accommodation for a study trip to Marrakech and we never regreded our choice. For us, it was not just an accommodation, it was like a cozy home abroad. We were spoilt by Abdellatif and his lovely staff and they made our whole stay unforgettable.
The whole Riad is lovely decorated and clean and during leisure time, we enjoyed the roof terrace and the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned to England after the best holiday we have ever had!!! Everything on our holiday was fantastic and The Riad Kalinka Lotus was no exception. A original riad, beautifully furnished, comfortable, spacious and bright. We arrived as clients and left as friends although we were only there for two nights. Abdellatif, the owner, is the perfect host, it felt as if he had welcomed us into his home. The riad is spotlessly clean and has a fantastic roof terrace. Breakfast is great with no real specified time, so very relaxing. It's very well situated for the souks and the famous Jemma El Fna and with the hand drawn map from Abdellatif it's impossible to get lost....honest. Abdellatif also has a wicked sense of humour, a great find in a foriegn land. Thanks Abdellatif, WE SHALL RETURN!!!!! Incha Alla

Room Tip: No need. They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Location

Location of the riad is ideal and very easy to find. It is in a reasonalbly quiet and very safe area with local shops and a pharmacy nearby. The walk to Jemaa El Fnaa is very straightforward and simple without having to walk through small awkward or unsafe alleys unlike many other riads in Marrakech.

The Riad

The riad itself is very beautifully decorated and warm with a lounge on both the ground and first floor. The riad also has a very spacious terrace. It is extremely clean and pleasant.

We were at ease leaving our belongings in the riad and Abdullatif also provided us with a safe even though we felt we did not need it.

There are showers in every room, although hot water was not always available or the water temperature would drop after a couple of minutes. I mentioned this to Abdullatif and he eventually made amends. Abdullatif was always concerned about our comfort and did his best to make our stay in Marrakech a pleasure.

Food

Sameera was an excellent and very helpful cook who, along with Hind, always took food upto the terrace for us to have breakfast in the beautiful sunshine.

The Manager Abdullatif

Abdullatif was very welcoming and helpful and provided us with more than what we had paid for or anticipated. He was more a friend than a manager of the riad and was always willing to help out in any way he could. Reliable and trustworthy, you can depend on him to give you good advice.

Sameera and Hind

Sameera and Hind were always helpful and polite. Both had a very calm and respectful approach. They cleaned all the rooms after we went out for the day and we did not need to worry about our belongings. When we returned everything would be spotless clean.

Transport

Abdullatif had arranged with his friend Ismail, a taxi driver, to take us to Ourika Valley and other places. Ismail was extremely friendly, good natured and patient. He doesn't speak English but we were able to communicate with him in Arabic. You can ask Abdullatif to explain to him in advance if you wish. Ismail is definitely an added bonus to Riad Kalinka Lotus.

Overall the riad, its location, food, service and transport is excellent and I would definitely recommend the riad without the slightest hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Absolutely loved the riad and the service was first rate. The riad was clean, quiet, and beautifully furnished with loads of traditional details that really made it feel lush. Abdellatif was a perfect host. He arranged transport, booked a gorgeous traditional restaurant, provided a hand-draw map as well as a city map and brochure. He also answered all our daft questions and always assisted us in any way he could. Samera was in charge of housekeeping and meals, and she was a star. Our rooms were always tidied and the breakfasts were gorgeous. The evening meal on arrival and the impromptu lunch on the last day were fantastic. The Riad Kalinka Lotus really made our short break perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When as 4 ladies we arrived at the Riad quite late in the evening we were a little apprehensive as it seemed to be in a very run down back alley but as soon as we entered the Riad and were welcomed by Abdellatif and Sammera were immediately at ease and felt very safe. The Riad is beautifully furnished and each room we went into there were gasps of.... Oh isn't this beautiful , I want one !!! If only we had enough room to pack all we wanted to buy. Abdellatif organised trips for us, booked restaurants , organised transport ,drew maps so we could find our way , told us where was safe to go for 4 women and answered any questions we had. He couldn't have been more helpful or kind,he even shared his cigarettes with my friend who claims she doesn't smoke !! In daylight the location was fine and the narrow streets were interesting not intimidating and certainly very safe even late at night. The people in the adjoining buildings were friendly especially the beautiful children . Samerra was the icing on the cake we were thoroughly spoilt , nothing was too much trouble and always with an amazing smile. Each morning she made breakfast for us which we ate by the inside pool , relaxed and planned our day . We sunbathed on the amazing terrace and Sammera made sure we had confortable sunbeds complete with hats etc . even water and snacks were brought up for us even though we didn't request them. I have stayed in many different standards of hotels but have to say the bed I had in the Riad was probably the most comfortable ever. Sammera rushed off to the market on our last day to buy fresh produce to make us a meal even though it was very short notice and what she prepared was delicious . We all agreed we should have taken more meals in the Riad if this was what you could expect .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stunning Riad with modern amenities, 5 gorgeous en suite rooms with two traditional living rooms. Very comfortable and clean. Great location for privacy and peace. Excellent staff who are more than happy to help.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice traditional decor, clean and quiet. Our host Abdellatif and staff Samurra were very friendly and most helpful. Continental breakfast included. By booking ahead, you can enjoy a delicious traditional Moroccan meal in residence however the proportion was a bit short. Further away from the square than we expected - 20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kalinka Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalinka Lotus

Address: 25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina, close to the Jamaa elfna, souks, Riad Kalinka Lotus welcomes you. with easy access by vehicle, carriage, Riad has five rooms and suites equipped with bathroom, breakfast included, pool, terrace lounge, bar, living room tv and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riad Kalinka Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalinka Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.