We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay for a girlie short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalinka Lotus

Save Saved
You added Riad Kalinka Lotus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Kalinka Lotus
25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay for a girlie short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Absolutely loved the riad and the service was first rate. The riad was clean, quiet, and beautifully furnished with loads of traditional details that really made it feel lush. Abdellatif was a perfect host. He arranged transport, booked a gorgeous traditional restaurant, provided a hand-draw map as well as a city map and brochure. He also answered all our daft questions and always assisted us in any way he could. Samera was in charge of housekeeping and meals, and she was a star. Our rooms were always tidied and the breakfasts were gorgeous. The evening meal on arrival and the impromptu lunch on the last day were fantastic. The Riad Kalinka Lotus really made our short break perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When as 4 ladies we arrived at the Riad quite late in the evening we were a little apprehensive as it seemed to be in a very run down back alley but as soon as we entered the Riad and were welcomed by Abdellatif and Sammera were immediately at ease and felt very safe. The Riad is beautifully furnished and each room we went into there were gasps of.... Oh isn't this beautiful , I want one !!! If only we had enough room to pack all we wanted to buy. Abdellatif organised trips for us, booked restaurants , organised transport ,drew maps so we could find our way , told us where was safe to go for 4 women and answered any questions we had. He couldn't have been more helpful or kind,he even shared his cigarettes with my friend who claims she doesn't smoke !! In daylight the location was fine and the narrow streets were interesting not intimidating and certainly very safe even late at night. The people in the adjoining buildings were friendly especially the beautiful children . Samerra was the icing on the cake we were thoroughly spoilt , nothing was too much trouble and always with an amazing smile. Each morning she made breakfast for us which we ate by the inside pool , relaxed and planned our day . We sunbathed on the amazing terrace and Sammera made sure we had confortable sunbeds complete with hats etc . even water and snacks were brought up for us even though we didn't request them. I have stayed in many different standards of hotels but have to say the bed I had in the Riad was probably the most comfortable ever. Sammera rushed off to the market on our last day to buy fresh produce to make us a meal even though it was very short notice and what she prepared was delicious . We all agreed we should have taken more meals in the Riad if this was what you could expect .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stunning Riad with modern amenities, 5 gorgeous en suite rooms with two traditional living rooms. Very comfortable and clean. Great location for privacy and peace. Excellent staff who are more than happy to help.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice traditional decor, clean and quiet. Our host Abdellatif and staff Samurra were very friendly and most helpful. Continental breakfast included. By booking ahead, you can enjoy a delicious traditional Moroccan meal in residence however the proportion was a bit short. Further away from the square than we expected - 20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Very clean at all times, beautiful setting on third floor, best to enjoy on sun bed on hot afternoons! ... Near the main markets and town centres, shops all near by, everything was convenient. Definitely recommended at all times!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Had booked this for the family and we were greeted with snacks and teas. We stayed for 7 days. The breakfast was awesome. Not just a Moroccan breakfast but eggs and croissants etc. we were very well looked after and the parking right in front of the door was ideal. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My first time in morocco was made especially pleasant by staying in this Riad. The riad is very tastefully decorated and is very easy on the eye. An open roof allows residents to gaze at the stars during the night. With generously sized en suite rooms in each bedroom there was no morning rush to use the bathroom. The whole riad can be hired or maybe some rooms at a time.

The staff are amazing. Very pleasant, warm hearted and family like. They try their utmost best to ensure visitors have the best possible stay.

The riad is well located. Within walking distance from medina square, and anybody willing to go further out of town can catch a taxi from the nearby taxi stand. Another good thing about the location is that it is in and amongst a typical Moroccan locality giving the Riad a real sense of traditionalism.

I would recommend this riad to anybody and everybody and can say without any hesitation that nobody will be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kalinka Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalinka Lotus

Address: 25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina, close to the Jamaa elfna, souks, Riad Kalinka Lotus welcomes you. with easy access by vehicle, carriage, Riad has five rooms and suites equipped with bathroom, breakfast included, pool, terrace lounge, bar, living room tv and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Kalinka Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalinka Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.