We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RoughTours Private Day Tours

RoughTours Private Day Tours
Borj Hamra, Mhamid 9, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 617-203378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 454 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Whether you are a traveller on an epic journey, looking for a short getaway, or dreaming of a life changing adventure, the new tours offerings were designed to fulfill your unique personal travel dreams and make each journey a memorable experience. The RoughTours Company has a team of certified and experienced guides and drivers who will ensure your comfort, safety and enjoyment as you travel to your chosen Moroccan destinations. They are passionate about sharing their culture, heritage and history; the traveller can be assured of a visual discovery and narrative education of what makes Morocco legendary. The integrity of the team and the value of the services provided by RoughTours Company is guided in principle by a travel philosophy based on professionalism, and a commitment to engage the traveller in a unique cultural immersion.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I can't say enough about Youseff, Moha, Driss and Ismail. I loved that our trip was intimate - it's just your party and the driver and tour guide. It caters to your wishes - I asked for Berber pizza and Driss called ahead and it was waiting for us at a restaurant. And you really enjoy the ride and your own pace - they stopped when we asked. The boys have a genuine love for their country and it is contagious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“100% Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Amazing! Absolutely Fantastic! We (our family of four, two adults and two teenage girls) are pretty seasoned travelers and can very highly recommend Youssef Boughrara and Rough Tours for anyone wanting to visit Morocco. Youssef was a stellar guide: his English (as well as French, Arabic, Berber etc.) is excellent and we saw far, far more than we ever could have on our own. This is a man who always had a kind word and a gracious manner for anyone with whom he was speaking. He was able to delight and humor the teenage contingent and at the same time effortlessly teach us about Moroccan and Islamic culture and history. It was like traveling with a friend: there was no pressure, plans were flexible and laughter abundant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Trip to Ride Camels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a great time riding camels in Merzouga. A one hour tour in the Sahara Desert was just perfect for riding and still not being saddle sore the next day. March was a great time of year--not too hot at all. Our guide was great to talk with and have tea, of course!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Desert experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Recently went on a desert tour. There was a fair amount of driving involved as many of our destinations were deep in the Moroccan desert. Nevertheless, the SUV provided was spacious and comfortable and our guide Adi was entertaining and knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We did 2 day trips, the first one to Essaouira. Any questions we had were answered with relaxed confidence and a sense of humour. The harbour was wonderful and we felt we were transported back in time. After a very good "fish lunch" the four of us headed back. I could go on in great detail, but suffice to say that this trip is well worth doing. A completely different Morocco.
The second trip was to the Ourika Valley. On the way we encountered a tree full of goats (!) and stopped off at a Berber family's house. Very very interesting and touching how they look after each other. Finished off with tea, freshly baked bread, butter and honey and pleasant conversation. Only to be toped by our guide Hasnouni who seemed to have all the answers. Onwards to the Atlas mountains and a little walk to higher regions. Unfortunately the rains had not materialized this year, so it was not as green as usual, but still impressive. I'll keep the next chapter short: I slipped, broke my ankle, Hasnoini piggy backed(!!) me down in very difficult conditions, Youssef, the driver, did a "Michael Schuhmacher" and took us to hospital. They stayed with us, translated when necessary, got me even a prescription and even came back later that evening to see if everything was ok. Wow! Without them it would have been a nightmare. So as you can see, I was more than very well looked after. They treat you as an individual and not just a number. One regret is that I didn't do the a longer tour, but there is always next time!
So if you want interesting, exciting, different and fun then go with them!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RoughTours Private Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to RoughTours Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RoughTours Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.