We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable and perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RoughTours Private Day Tours

RoughTours Private Day Tours
Borj Hamra, Mhamid 9, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 617-203378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 529 Activities in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether you are a traveller on an epic journey, looking for a short getaway, or dreaming of a life changing adventure, the new tours offerings were designed to fulfill your unique personal travel dreams and make each journey a memorable experience. The RoughTours Company has a team of certified and experienced guides and drivers who will ensure your comfort, safety and enjoyment as you travel to your chosen Moroccan destinations. They are passionate about sharing their culture, heritage and history; the traveller can be assured of a visual discovery and narrative education of what makes Morocco legendary. The integrity of the team and the value of the services provided by RoughTours Company is guided in principle by a travel philosophy based on professionalism, and a commitment to engage the traveller in a unique cultural immersion.
Val d'Or, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable and perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was a little nervous about booking a guide in Morocco through the internet. Now, I feel extremely fortunate - it was a great privilege to travel with Youssef Boughrara of Rough Tours. Youssef not only took care of all details with professionalism and sensitivity, but he was a non-stop source of good humour, information, fun, and delightful surprises. He made my family’s trip very special.

Youssef and his team are well organized, well equipped and flexible enough to customize any kind of trip in Morocco. Not only is the traveling far from “rough” – it is very congenial. Youssef could charm anyone from families with children to the crankiest of old camels with his good-natured hospitality.

Thank you for a great trip Youssef

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Tour of our Lives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I went to Morocco and used Rough Tours and thanks to them we had the best trip of our lives. The took us to Merzouga and the surrounding areas and went out of their way to ensure we had a fantastic time. The Sahara Desert was amazing! Mohammed (Moha) was friendly, warm, and professional. The trip was so good, we plan to go back next year with our kids and would use any other tour company; Rough Tours is the best, if you use them you can't go wrong!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Top-rate day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked Rough Tours for a one-day trip to Essaouira from Marrakech. From the beginning I had great confidence as Youssef was extremely responsive (even with the time differences) and very accommodating and kind. We weren't disappointed on the morning of our trip when Hassan and (a different) Youssef the driver showed up. Hassan is an energetic and incredibly sweet person who truly seems to love his job. And with a degree in Literature, we had conversations I didn't expect to be having with our Moroccan guide--who knew we'd be talking about Ibsen's A Doll's House??? Both Hassan and Youssef were very relaxed and accommodating to whatever we wanted. I should note that this is less a "tour" than a "drive"--once in Essaouira you are just dropped off with an agreement to meet later, and then you explore on your own. This was perfectly fine for us but I note it only because some people might want more of a guided tour around town. In any case, I certainly recommend everything about Rough Tours, and ask for Hassan by name--you will be so happy to meet him!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youssef B, Manager at RoughTours Private Day Tours, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your day trip experience to Essaouira with Rough Tours guides Hassan & driver Youssef. We are pleased that you had enjoyed their company and the flexibility of the trip. Our tours are typically designed to allow the travellers opportunities to be fully engaged in their travel experiences in a relaxed pace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing can be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are looking for a non-ordinary and exciting moment in Morocco, I believe Rough Tours is your best choice.

Guided by one of their professional and friendly guides, Youssef Bani, my boyfriend and I enjoyed our wonderful and memorable time in Morocco. We experienced our very first time exciting but safe off-the-road driving though the high, middle and low Atlas, we visited the true nomads and had a great tea time with them and we even enjoyed a stunning sunset on a sand dune with ONLY us! All of these exceeded our expectation and it is very good to have a funny guide who is also a photography enthusiast - most of the time we stopped impromptu just for amazing pictures!

The most impressing thing is - Youssef never persuaded or brought us to buy anythings in any specified souvenir shops. Instead he advised us where to get the product(s) with the best price possible. They really treated their clients as friends, and that's how they stand out from the rest!

Good job Rough Tours and Youssef!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youssef B, Manager at RoughTours Private Day Tours, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We value the feedback and thank you for your kind comments on your recent travels with Rough Tours guide Youssef Bani. It pleases us that you had a wonderful and memorable time. Having a funny guide and one that shares a common interest such as photography can certainly make a trip more engaging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Its no problem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The one thing you hear non stop with the fun people at Rough Tours is its no problem over and over. They mean it too. We went over Christmas 2012 and had a great time. They took care of everything for a great price and we had no worries. If you want to change something or see something different just ask. Its no problem. The people are as friendly as can be and they make everything honestly as easy as can be on you for your vacation. I highly recommend them for family, friends, whatever they will accomodate whatever needs you have.

Have fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RoughTours Private Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to RoughTours Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RoughTours Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.