We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Akal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Akal

Save Saved
You added Dar Akal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Official Site
and 1 more site!
Dar Akal
32 Derb Lalla Azzouna, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #35 of 1,032 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dar Akal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was our first visit to Marrakech, said met us at the taxi and was so helpful, any thing we needed he sorted, he helped us plan our 3 days perfectly as there is a lot to do it can be quite daunting! The food in the riad was very good and reasonable and the rooms were great. Said also showed us how to get to the square , suggested restaurants and places to avoid!! Said you were the perfect manager and a real asset to the dar Akal ! we will definitely return sometime soon thank you again said! Xx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
44
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I recently returned from a three night stay at Dar Akal, my second visit to the riad. The service and hospitality was again second to none and I was also very lucky with the weather. I was able to have breakfast on the roof terrace each day in the sunshine, and some lovely lunches there too. Thanks again to Said, Nezha and Hana for helping to make it a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had a lovely 3 nights stay at the Dar Akal and will definitely return.

Riad is right in the middle of the medina, close proximity to the souks and central market place. Staff of the riad is very friendly: cook, cleaner, manager Said. They will probably do anything you ask them. We felt right at home, very welcoming atmosphere. The riad is so picturesque, wonderful decorated.

First night we went out to the market and had a meal at food stall 32. Highly recommended! We also normally don’t do these kind of food stalls, but it worked out very well, very tasteful and no stomach aches afterwards.
For the second night the cook prepared an excellent tahin meal. We went with her in the morning to the market to buy the ingredients, I loved it! Slow cooked food, yummy, delicious.
The breakfasts are fabulous, with tea, fresh orange juice, coffee, sweet breads, pancakes, yoghurts. Served on the roof terrace, what a nice way to start the day.

I had a haman washing and massage. The washing was a bit too rough for my very fair skin, but I felt so clean afterwards! Next time I will ask the lady for a ‘soft’ approach. Massage was a good sports massage, not the ‘barely touch’ kind of a massage, but a good workout for myself and the massage therapist. So I started the New Year feeling fresh and reborn thanks to this lovely stay at Dar Akal.

Room Tip: For sleep quality 4 out of 5 because the mattrasses might be a bit too tough for some. For swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbroek, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

In December 2013 we stayed for two nights with our three kids in the Riad Dar Akal. Although it is probably not the typical place to be for the kids, we had a great time nonetheless. This was especially thanks to the extreme hospitality, great food and flexibility of the management (i.e. Said). Rooms and facilities are excellent and the breakfast on the roof is a great way to start the day. The location of the Riad is also great, as it is in the old Medina, less than 5 minutes walk - great walk! - from the markets. In short, great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsberg am Lech, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a great stay in Dar Akal. It was so familiar and Said is an excellent manager and also a good fellow :-) of the Riad. We liked the breakfast on the top of the roof with a great view and atmosphere! I'm sure we will come back and we can recommend Dar Akal!!
Tina & Ronny from germany

Room Tip: all rooms are comfortable and very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Dar Akal Riad is a great place to stay. The staff is extremely kind and efficient. Nice facilities and good service, including transfer from airport and support to activities in the city or nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed 5 days in the Riad. The location in the Medina is perfect for the sightseeing of the souks and other places. Allthough in the cener it is extremly quite and gives one a perfect view over the city when you are on top of the roof. The interior design is modern and luxurious giving the Riad a different touch. What makes this Riad different to others is the extraordinary service from Said and his team. ...Thomas

Room Tip: Take the Suite with the 2 sleeping rooms. The old Ceiling is really worth seeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Akal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Akal

Address: 32 Derb Lalla Azzouna, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,032 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the end of a quiet alley, close to the souks and Ben Youssef Medersa, only a few minutes walk from the famous Jemaa El Fna, Dar Akal welcomes you.Dar Akal is an old 18C Riad carefully restored and renovated by renowned architect Christophe Simeon and his skilled Moroccan craftsmen, using traditional techniques.The Riad has 4 bedrooms and 1 suite arranged around a patio with trees and a central fountain.After a busy day in the medina, or returning from the Atlas Mountains, the desert or from Essaouira, you can relax in the relative coolness of the patio, on the first floor in the menzeh (traditionally the best room, used for entertaining special guests) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Dar Akal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Akal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.