We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Akal

Save Saved
You added Dar Akal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Akal
32 Derb Lalla Azzouna, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #36 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
rodez france
2 reviews
“A jewel in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

An absolute jewel. 2 minutes and your in the medina. Extremely helpful staff always a smile on their faces, ready with info. Clean and tastefully decorated a really wonderful place to be in and everything works showers taps air contionning. A lovely breakfast up on the roof terrase amongst pots of bougainvillier, honeysuckle and overlooking the rooftops. If you want to eat at the riad after a long day visiting no problem the cook is excellent, tagine, couscous, kefta. If your Lucky enough to meet the owners you'll understand, they are absolutely charming, consequently it reflects on the riad. If your looking for a confortable and charming place to stay I highly recommend Dar Akal. Martha and Bernard

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
44
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful three night stay at Dar Akal - a peaceful oasis in the heart of the busy medina and the best riad I have had the pleasure of staying at. It is beautifully decorated in a traditional style and the amazing staff take the experience to the next level. I recommend the transfer service from the airport which the riad offers; it is the best way to start your trip. The Manager, Said, will meet your taxi and guide you through the medina to the riad, he offers great advice on making the most of your stay, and is on hand to answer any questions or to have a chat with – always with a smile. Nezha and Sophia also looked after me well and were lovely. Nezha cooks beautiful food, from the breakfasts to the tagines, and you will not go hungry. I definitely recommend dining at the riad in the evening – there is no better restaurant than the roof terrace! The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated from the ground floor right up to the roof. The riad also features some excellent Moroccan photographs which I love! All in all, an amazing trip and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We are a Belgian family with two children of 11 and 12 years old and stayed a few days in Riad Dar Akal in Marrakech. The fact that the Riad was well hidden in a small alley in the Medina made it already very exciting for the kids. The central location made it the ideal location to explore the souks and the Jamaa el Fna square although the riad itself was a very quiet, beautiful and relaxing place. We stayed in the spacy suite “La Douiria” that with the a lounge and two bedrooms made it a perfect sleeping for the whole family. We, and especially the kids enjoyed very much the swimming pool on the roof terrace which was big enough to decently cool off during the hot August afternoons. The extensive breakfast on the sunny terrace made a perfect start for the day. Also the hamman in the hotel was an enjoyable experience for the whole family. Said was very helpful by helping us to find our way in Marrakech and to look for transport (including arranging taxis and buying bus tickets).

Definitely recommended when traveling with kids (also without!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I totally enjoyed staying here, and felt like I was staying at a friend's house.

Newly and tastefully restored the small riad has a plunge pool to cool off in, on the roof. It is a very beautiful building with spacious rooms and lovely cooling central courtyard.

It is around 10 to 15 minutes interesting walk from the main square.

Great breakfast and friendly accommodating staff. I would stay again in an heart beat. A wonderful base from which to explore a magical city.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room - it is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marseille
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We are a Danish/French couple with 2 children who stayed at Dar Akal for 3 days which made our stay very very pleasant. It has a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere and the architecture brings out the culture of Marrakech in refined sober way. We were in the suite which is very suitable for a family with 2 children as it has 2 rooms and a living-room in between. We also appreciated that the rooms have air-condition. After walking in the Medina is was a blessing to come back to the riad and take a swim in the pool at the roof. The service is in top and the food delicious. Very central location. We highly recommend Dar Akal and thank Siad for his kindness and good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilamoura
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very enjoyable trip to Marrakesh was largely due to the fantastic experience at Riad Dar Akal. In the action-packed Medina, but hidden away down a residential alley, the Riad is central to everything you want to do in the city. It is beautifully renovated with modern materials and conveniences, while retaining the charm and beauty of Moroccan design. Nice seating areas are positioned for relaxation on each of the three levels. The roof terrace is the laid-out on different levels for enjoying al fresco meals, lounging in the sun or taking a dip in the pool.

It must be noted, that while the hotel itself is beautiful and comfortable, it is truly the small staff, managed by Brahim, that raises the experience to a higher level. Meal service is attentive and delicious. Every request is met. Brahim goes out of his way to suggest and organize transportation, restaurants and activities that best fit both your lifestyle and expectations, ensuring a delightful trip to Marrakesh.

Hope to return to Dar Akal very soon....

Room Tip: 3 or more in your group? Awesome suite consisting of two bedrooms off a large central lounge with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed as a family and had an extraordinary holiday - not least because of the level of service that was beyond whatever you could reasonably expect from the manager Brahim.This was true of all the staff at the riad. The intensity of the experience was added to by the position of the hotel, located down a winding alleyway not reachable by car. Our taxi journey from the airport terminated at the nearest road and we were met by really helpful people who put the baggage in a makeshift wheel barrow. The children climbed on top and had great fun being pushed for the last part of the trip. We thoroughly recommend the riad, close to the main square - a great place. It is beautifully restored with lots of original details and one of the most stunning buildings we have ever stayed in. The roof terrace is a lovely place to rest and enjoy the views over the city. The food was excellent and vegetarian/vegan options were no exception. Generally in Morocco if you have small children don't expect the food to come "on time" so healthy snacks to fill in are really useful to bring with you though Brahim was really sweet about finding an early breakfast for our smallest child.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Akal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Akal

Address: 32 Derb Lalla Azzouna, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the end of a quiet alley, close to the souks and Ben Youssef Medersa, only a few minutes walk from the famous Jemaa El Fna, Dar Akal welcomes you.Dar Akal is an old 18C Riad carefully restored and renovated by renowned architect Christophe Simeon and his skilled Moroccan craftsmen, using traditional techniques.The Riad has 4 bedrooms and 1 suite arranged around a patio with trees and a central fountain.After a busy day in the medina, or returning from the Atlas Mountains, the desert or from Essaouira, you can relax in the relative coolness of the patio, on the first floor in the menzeh (traditionally the best room, used for entertaining special guests) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Dar Akal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Akal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.