We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art and gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee de la Palmeraie

Musee de la Palmeraie
Route de Fes | Dar Tounsi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 610 408 096
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Art and gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Invited to an art exhibition at the Musee de la Palmeraie at sunset. Great space and good exhibition of sculpture and paintings set in lovely gardens. The cactus garden well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was ok but you can tell the lack of professionalism and confusion.Lack of basic knowledge.People were nice,treated like mules by management.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Right out in the sticks by what I think was a national forest for palm trees. It's a small modern art exhibit with other pieces set in a garden. The art wasn't that special, but the garden was fabulous. It is only small, but we were the only ones there and we said we imagined it was like Eden would have been like! There are tortoises everywhere and the pond is teeming with noisy frogs. It cost 40DH each to get in and we would have loved to have brought a book and stayed all morning. The only downside is that it is so far off the beaten track that you either need a car or negotiate with your taxi driver to wait for you. Ours was happy to and we spent well over an hour wandering around and sitting in the sunshine. On the way back we went through the Palm forest where there are small groups of camels which you can ride or have your photo taken with. We had a couple of pictures with a baby camel and gave the owner 5DH which I have no idea if it was an appropriate amount. So if you don't fancy seeing camels, don't take up the offer of the detour around the palms!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely couple of hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quiet little gallery - we were the only people there, and had the place to ourselves. The employee we spoke to was obviously very proud of the place, and no wonder. Several wee nooks and crannies where you could sit with a book quite happily for an hour or two in the garden, and large selection of modern art with Moroccan /Islamic influences. At the time we were there, the 6 tortoises were getting themselves set for hibernation, but the bullfrogs were gearing up for the mating season in the pond they share with the terrapins. Well worth the 40 Drms entry fee.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Was a great bolt hole from the Rain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stumbled across this whilst walking in the rain and yes sometimes the unexpected turn out to be the most memorable as this was.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Palmeraie also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Musee de la Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee de la Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.