We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee de la Palmeraie

Musee de la Palmeraie
Route de Fes, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 610 408 096
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 61 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Rugby
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Right out in the sticks by what I think was a national forest for palm trees. It's a small modern art exhibit with other pieces set in a garden. The art wasn't that special, but the garden was fabulous. It is only small, but we were the only ones there and we said we imagined it was like Eden would have been like! There are tortoises everywhere and the pond is teeming with noisy frogs. It cost 40DH each to get in and we would have loved to have brought a book and stayed all morning. The only downside is that it is so far off the beaten track that you either need a car or negotiate with your taxi driver to wait for you. Ours was happy to and we spent well over an hour wandering around and sitting in the sunshine. On the way back we went through the Palm forest where there are small groups of camels which you can ride or have your photo taken with. We had a couple of pictures with a baby camel and gave the owner 5DH which I have no idea if it was an appropriate amount. So if you don't fancy seeing camels, don't take up the offer of the detour around the palms!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely couple of hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quiet little gallery - we were the only people there, and had the place to ourselves. The employee we spoke to was obviously very proud of the place, and no wonder. Several wee nooks and crannies where you could sit with a book quite happily for an hour or two in the garden, and large selection of modern art with Moroccan /Islamic influences. At the time we were there, the 6 tortoises were getting themselves set for hibernation, but the bullfrogs were gearing up for the mating season in the pond they share with the terrapins. Well worth the 40 Drms entry fee.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Was a great bolt hole from the Rain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stumbled across this whilst walking in the rain and yes sometimes the unexpected turn out to be the most memorable as this was.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Exquisite location and artworks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a wonderful addition to the cultural life of Marrakech. Just outside of the city, it is an oasis of calm. The gallery is set in exquisite gardens, each with a particular character, and dotted with outdoor sculptures. The gallery itself is extensive - the owner is committed to supporting and showing the work of new young Moroccan artists as well as very established ones, and the works are stunning. We were especially glad to see many works by female artists. The staff are young, friendly and well-informed. Don't miss this place - it's a lovely experience all round.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had an opportunity to visit the Musee de la Palmeraie this year and found it a real gem. The setting is very tranquile, the artwork thought provoking. All in all a real must.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Palmeraie also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Musee de la Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee de la Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.